We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USUAL HIGH STANDARD...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #16 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“USUAL HIGH STANDARD...”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Made our annual one night visit to see friends in Scarborough and once again stayed at the Mansion House. Although we were on a flying visit everything was spot on and we were well looked after throughout. Nice to see the noisy fridge has gone from room 11 - a big improvement. Will be back again next year all going well.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    117
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
339
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again it is a very welcoming friendly bed and breakfast which presents a very standard with great accommodation and breakfast. The rooms are well furnished to a very high standard with free wi fi throughout the house. My only small criticism would be that it is difficult to dry the towels in a small bathroom with no heating. There are several TV channels available but no news channel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We've just had our second wonderful break at the Mansion House,& can't wait to return again !
As before the room was spotless & very comfortable. The breakfast was brilliant,with something for even the fussiest eater given such a huge choice.
This is a real gem of a place. Many thanks to all who make it so good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for very much for taking the time to write a review and for you kind comments. All the staff at the Mansion House Scarborough really look forward to receiving returning guests and we now have a very high returning rate. Helen who is in charge of the Breakfast Service built a new menu for which we have won an Enjoy England Breakfast Award. So I am very pleased that you confirmed what a lot of guests have already reported that breakfast is very good and there are lots of choices. On behalf of all the staff thank you once again for choosing us and with our new website coming on stream this weekend you will see that we have a new luxury apartment available that you may be interested in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days it was excellent. Stayed in room no 1 comfy beds and breakfast really . Great location for Scarborough and Whitby. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, one of the best I have stayed in.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you birth for your very kind comments and for choosing to stay with us at the Mansion House Scarborough. Room 1 is a lovely room and yet again we were full over New Year with many returning guests. May I on behalf of all the staff wish you both a Happy New Year and if you come back to this lovely part of the coast you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome from Andrew on our return, being the 4th visit to the Mansion House on a 2 night escape before Christmas.

We had originally booked Room 22, although enquired over an upgrade on arrival and we can honestly say Room 5 is wonderful! Spectacular views over the bay and being on the first floor there's a lot less stairs too.

Breakfast (as always) was exceptional, staff very courteous and we're already looking forward to returning again in Spring 2014.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you both for choosing the Mansion House Scarborough once again. Even though we are only a small establishment we always try very hard to meet the expectations of our much valued guests. Thank you for your very kind comments concerning our staff and I am acutely aware of their hard work and conscientious approach. May I on behalf of all the staff at the Mansion House wish you both a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back to Scarborough on you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Return visit to Mansion House for a couple of pre-christmas shopping days. Welcome as warm and friendly as ever. Room 11 excellent views over the South Bay of Scarborough. Plenty of choice at breakfast with warm food served on hot plates-which is a welcome bonus. Had a guided tour of the new two bed roomed self catering apartment-decorated and facilities of a very high standard-ideal for families. Nice little touches in breakfast room-place names with welcome back for returning visitors-watch for deals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and also for staying at the Mansion House Scarborough once again. We have a very high guest return rate and the staff work hard to ensure guests satisfaction. The new self contained apartment connected the the Mansion House is almost ready and we have taken a few bookings already. We thank you once again for your review and look forward to being able to welcome you both back to Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay! The room was on the top floor and the stairs were abit of a pain but this can't be helped. The room was very homely and had everything we needed and the staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful.
Overall would recommend this hotel but request a room on the lower floors if stairs aren't your thing. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashspencer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing