We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
550
131
32
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
550
131
32
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary glass of wine honesty bar no lift premier sea view on arrival mini bar top floor breakfast was excellent dvd player dressing gowns small hotel walk into town full english warm welcome little touches short break flights of stairs
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife booked this through late rooms.com. It's always a risk booking this way but not in this case. Ashley (sorry if it's the wrong spelling) greeted us on entrance and was a star from the start. Gave us our room key and showed us in. Made sure all was well and then offered the complimentary drinks. The room was well presented and offered a double, single and sofa bed. The boys loved it. En suite to the side was a good use of limited space. Bath/shower combined, hand basin and WC. Plenty of clothes storage space. Free wifi, Freeview Tv and separate DVD player. Also has small mini fridge in the room with various wines/beers/pop. Stayed two nights (went too quick) breakfast was a joy. Various options - boys went for cereal and bacon sandwiches, we had full breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly re book The Mansion Hotel, 5 star plus. Look forward to seeing "Ash" again.

Date of stay: August 2014
2  Thank bazzaboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had never been to Scarborough, so having done a bit of very last minute research on a suitable place to stay, we chose the Mansion House having seen the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. On arrival, we received a warm welcome and were offered a glass of wine or juice and nibbles - what a nice touch. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good choice of light refreshments and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. As it was only a one night stay, we didn’t feel the need to opt for a sea view room, so chose a standard room, which didn’t have the best view outside the window, but our room was literally only a base, as we wanted to make the most of our brief stay in Scarborough and the beautiful weather. There was a really good choice at breakfast and the full English is highly recommended, as it was very tasty and stayed nice and hot right to the last mouthful. If we ever return to Scarborough for a longer stay, we will definitely choose the Mansion House and will upgrade to a Sea View room. It is located on the cliff top away from the main hustle and bustle, so not only will you get plenty of exercise walking down to the town/beach front, you will also get a good night’s sleep. There was good access to free parking directly outside the hotel, but ensure you are in the zone that is not time restricted. We would highly recommend the Mansion House and wish the owners continued success with their business as they appear to have customer service as a top priority.

Room tip: For longer stays, we would recommend a sea view room, as the bay at Scarborough is beautiful, especially when the weather is great.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Watty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful relaxed experience. We booked day before, last minute. com. Staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent and you had a huge choice with a personal service. Only problem was seagulls were a bit noisy first thing! But you are at the seaside for goodness sake. When we go again will choose sea view rooms. It's really 5 star ******

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidT9402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

If you are still reading this and havent booked then STOP and BOOK NOW. Stayed for 3 nights with family and it is superb. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms excellent. Location very good as not too near all the hustle and bustle of town. Choice and quality of breakfast very good. Would happily have stayed longer and will return and would have no hesitation recommending it to others. Quite simply brilliant.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and also for sharing your review for other potential guests. Given we are a very small property all the staff work very hard to ensure all our guests receive the best possible service. We have a return rate of currently over 80% so we are very pleased that all your family enjoyed their stay and perhaps we will be able to welcome you back in the not to distant future. Once again from myself and all the staff at the Mansion house Scarborough thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A lovely hotel on the seafront of South Shore. A great welcome (glass of wine or fruit juice). Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Furniture and equipment in very good order. An honesty bar is available which is a very nice touch. Standard Single rooms (mine was room 6) are very small but if all you want is a bed for the night that's fine. The shower is excellent. There is a good choice of breakfast. We will definitely stay here again and indeed have already booked for next year.

Room tip: Room 5 on the 1st floor is spacious and has a sea view. Rooms on the top floor mean a lot of steps so you need to be reasonably fit to book one of those.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BabaLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews