We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #13 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit but the first time we had stayed in the apartment. It was perfect for our needs. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Everything is of the highest quality and the owners have thoughtfully furnished the place as well as all the extra touches inc binoculars to enjoy the fantastic views. They were even champagnne flutes as well as regular wine glasses.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krusty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at Mansion House - our first time to Scarborough - we were so pleased we booked this hotel, it is lovely, has so much charm. The staff are all friendly, helpful and very hardworking. Our family room was on the top floor and was a really nice, comfy room. Yes - there are a lot of stairs to climb and no lift! But we did get use to them (a little) and it was worth the effort when we reached the lovely room and also worth it when you got downstairs as the view from the front door was wonderful.

We resisted the full breakfast every day, but there was so much choice available that we were always well satisfied, everything was very tasty - especially the bacon. The hotel is in a really nice quiet area no outside traffic noises at night but still only a short way from town.

We will definitely be back to Scarborough and to the Mansion House.

Particular nice touches: the bowl of sweets in the hall, the free water in the room and the complimentary drink of wine (or fruit juice) have never been offered any of these before in other hotels. The biscuits in the room were also very nice - nice quality ingredients.

Thank you for a really nice and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing the Mansion House Scarborough it was lovely to meet you and.it was a real pleasure for you to be able to stay with us. I am sorry about the stairs but as you say you get used to it after a couple of days. All our staff are trained to be very receptive to guest requests but at the same time being polite and helpful. We are also pleased you enjoyed the very wide dangling choice oif breakfasts which we have won an award for. In summary it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at the Mansion House Scarborough and hope it will nit be too long before we are able to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed august 2014.If you get a chance to book a room here don't hesitate!!Its great couldn't fault it at all.Check in was easy and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms were clean and the breakfast had good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and I hope you do not mind that I shared your comments with all the members of staff. The Mansion House staff work very hard to ensure that everything is as good as it should be for all our very important guests and to receive such a response makes us want to work even harder. Thank you for choosing our property, we are only very small but perfectly situated on the South. Cliff where the views are to die for. We look forward hopefully to seeing you again when you are next on the beautiful Yorkshire Coast. Once again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed aug 1st 2014, we were celebrating our golden wedding what a great choice of hotel, we stayed in the apartment within mansion house it was fantastic, spotlessly clean two large comfortable bedrooms, enormous lounge looking out to sea, beautiful large kitchen with everything you would ever need, we opted to eat breakfast in the hotels dining room we are so glad we did it was glorious, cooked fresh and kept hot throughout enough to keep us going for most of the day we could not have asked for anything better , Owners and staff very helpful, We hope we can stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank derryck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife booked this through late rooms.com. It's always a risk booking this way but not in this case. Ashley (sorry if it's the wrong spelling) greeted us on entrance and was a star from the start. Gave us our room key and showed us in. Made sure all was well and then offered the complimentary drinks. The room was well presented and offered a double, single and sofa bed. The boys loved it. En suite to the side was a good use of limited space. Bath/shower combined, hand basin and WC. Plenty of clothes storage space. Free wifi, Freeview Tv and separate DVD player. Also has small mini fridge in the room with various wines/beers/pop. Stayed two nights (went too quick) breakfast was a joy. Various options - boys went for cereal and bacon sandwiches, we had full breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly re book The Mansion Hotel, 5 star plus. Look forward to seeing "Ash" again.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank bazzaboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had never been to Scarborough, so having done a bit of very last minute research on a suitable place to stay, we chose the Mansion House having seen the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. On arrival, we received a warm welcome and were offered a glass of wine or juice and nibbles - what a nice touch. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good choice of light refreshments and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. As it was only a one night stay, we didn’t feel the need to opt for a sea view room, so chose a standard room, which didn’t have the best view outside the window, but our room was literally only a base, as we wanted to make the most of our brief stay in Scarborough and the beautiful weather. There was a really good choice at breakfast and the full English is highly recommended, as it was very tasty and stayed nice and hot right to the last mouthful. If we ever return to Scarborough for a longer stay, we will definitely choose the Mansion House and will upgrade to a Sea View room. It is located on the cliff top away from the main hustle and bustle, so not only will you get plenty of exercise walking down to the town/beach front, you will also get a good night’s sleep. There was good access to free parking directly outside the hotel, but ensure you are in the zone that is not time restricted. We would highly recommend the Mansion House and wish the owners continued success with their business as they appear to have customer service as a top priority.

Room Tip: For longer stays, we would recommend a sea view room, as the bay at Scarborough is beautiful, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Watty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful relaxed experience. We booked day before, last minute. com. Staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent and you had a huge choice with a personal service. Only problem was seagulls were a bit noisy first thing! But you are at the seaside for goodness sake. When we go again will choose sea view rooms. It's really 5 star ******

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,955 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £66 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing