We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #16 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
1 review
“A memorable stay.”
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Having just spent a wonderful weekend at the Mansion House Hotel in Scarborough I felt it would be a crime to keep this little gem to ourselves. The hotel is beautifully presented. The staff are very welcoming ,and we felt immediately at home and relaxed. The bedrooms had breathtaking views of Scarborough Bay, and we were just a short walk to the beach and town. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were attentive but unobtrusive. The hotel is small, homely, warm and an ideal place to stay for a short break or holiday. We look forward to our next stay. I have no hesitation in recommending the Mansion House Hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — Room a bit small knocked into furniture
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualitytimeYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    117
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
339
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Recommended by a friend, the Mansion House hotel did not disappoint. Very pretty hotel, having lovely light airy rooms with great views, tastefully furnished, with comfy beds, and friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.

What a find! Lovely position, being close enough to all facilities, but tranquil too, with free parking, and the breakfast was also great!

A high quality establishment that I'll definitely be returning to on my next visit to Scarborough. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — High quality
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulesCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We have just returned from the ideal December break at the Mansion House Hotel. We had a beautiful premier room for 4 nights with a view of the sea and harbour to die for. We were greeted by the owner, Jonathan, on arrival and made to feel very welcome. We also appreciated the complimentary glass of wine.
The hotel is furnished to a very high standard, it's clean and very handily placed for the town and sea front. Breakfasts were good and the staff very pleasant and polite.
We would love to return for another stay as this is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in

  • Liked — The quality furniture and the thoughtful extras
  • Disliked — Premier room not having a bath
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2008

I was in Scarborough visiting relatives and had been recommended to try and book a place at the Mansion House. I was staying with my two sons and only required one room. This request was easily accommodated and the room was clean and bright. The bathroom was fully stocked with enough toiletries for all three of us as well. The vires down to the old town and out to sea are very nice and we can all reccommend the full english breakfast. All in all a very successful stay.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JamesCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We visit Scarborough every December around the same weekend every year. This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, The hotel staff cannot do enough for you and the whole place is exceptionally clean and very welcoming. The room we had was lovely, clean, comfortable, modern and had everything including lots of tea's and milks, unlike a lot of hotels who give two tea bags and two milks!

My husband particularly liked his breakfast, smoked salmon, he commented that it was nice to be able to see a nice portion of salmon.

The whole experience was perfect and we will definitly be going back again and receommending it to all...

Loved the Christmas decorations and music too!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeachBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We picked this hotel because of the location, and the very easy free parking. Also it was very close to town only a few mins walking and you were in the main part of the shopping centre.
The hotel looked lovely, and the decor was first class, everything was in perfect condition. We were greeted by name by the receptionist and quickled served with our complimentary glass of wine. We had a premium sea view room and it was lovely. With a wide screen LCD TV, huge bed, luxury bathroom, everything you would expect from a first class hotel. The breakfast was fantastic and very filling. I would recomend this hotel to anyone as a superb value for money and brilliant location with stunning views and free parking, what more could you ask for.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fazerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

The hotel was well furnished, clean & tidy, the staff friendly and the location was perfect. Opposite and not mentioned in any of the hotel blurb are the Italianate gardens with magical paths through a picturesque landscape that meander down to the beach. Scarborough itself was a delight and our grandchildren and ourselves had a holiday not to be forgotten and hopefully repeated......Thankyou Mansion House.

  • Liked — clean, friendly and good location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank srga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing