We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spare us the posed photos”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.49*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #15 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A good afternoon spent at Sea Life. We got 40% off with a voucher so that was £8 each for two adults. However, after paying the entry fee we really didn't like being immediately collared after entry to pose for two photos (please point at the stuffed penguin and then imagine you've seen a scary creature) for potential no obligation purchase after your visit. It's so immediate you've gone along with it before you realise. Blinking away the flash photography, the displays, the tanks, the explanatory information and the close encounters with sea life is good. And no, we didn't purchase our photos despite being pressed on exit. Sea life is why we visited. Not a couple of posed photos of us.

Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable afternoon at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and found the displays and information good.

The photo opportunity situated at the entrance is optional and we do find that a high number of our visitors enjoy getting everyone in their party together for a posed photograph, however we understand that it is not for everyone and do not intend for anyone to feel obliged to have their phoograph taken.

We appreciate all feedback and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,915 - 1,919 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a lovely time here but anyone that pays full price (£16+) per adult is crazy as there are lots of vouchers knocking around in flyers and tourist brochures. Not great for prams as there are lots of stairs and no lifts but they have alternative routes, sadly there is no alternative route to get to the cafe which is on the 1st floor, they have a wheelchair lift but prams aren't allowed on it (for insurance reasons apparently-yea right) so parents have to flex their muscles and carry the prams up and down the stairs. Our 2yr old had a lovely day.

Thank Jaf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

It's great to hear that your 2 year old had a lovely day.

Unfortunately, due to the age and design of the building, there are steps at some areas. The access lift upstairs can only be used for wheelchairs, however our friendly team are happy to flex their muscles also and assist with carrying pushchairs upstairs.

We appreciate all feedback and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is the best sea life centre that I have been to. Staff are happy to stop and chat about anything that you wish to ask them. Hands on areas with knowledgable people to help and inform you. Outside the resue seals, otters and penguins are fantastic. An excellent few hours entertainment and reasonably priced also. Its a shame that you have to pay to park outside, come on Scarborough council, make the local attractions affordable to visit!

Thank Yorkshireman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our attraction. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and animals fantastic!

We hope to welcome you to SEA LIFE again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Living in Scarborough myself, I have had the pleasure of taking friends, both adult and children, to this enjoyable venue. The visits has been positive in every case.

Recently a friend's daughter has been staying with me whilst she's been getting first hand, hands on experience at The Sea Life Sanctuary for a week doing work experience in half term whilst still at school and in her final year in Leeds. Aged 18 she hopes to study Marine Biology at University from September 2014.

As a consequence of seeing the other side of the Sea Life Sanctuary if you like, the feedback has all has been totally positive and my friend's daughter has ,loved the work, the people, the animals and fish. She was welcomed and made to feel relaxed, finding the staff and much of the work fun, interesting, fascinating and all completely absorbing.

Hearing, in a positive way, about an aspect that the general public rarely get to see or know anything of ( the backstage effort, if you like. ) is insightful and refreshing, putting this worthy venue, which is in such an ideal position geographically too, doing wonderful work for all sea life so consistently and constantly, is proof positive that the people who run and work at this brilliant place are doing an really excellent job.

Thank 190744Geldybopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It's fantastic to hear that not only have you experienced a number of positive visits here but also that you have heard corresponding reviews from a friend working "behind the scenes".

We are pleased that your friends daughter enjoyed her work placement here and found her experience fun, interesting and absorbing.

Many thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

we visited here towards the end of a weeks holiday in Scarborough. Staff were friendly and the layout of the actual centre very nice, with penguins, sealions and otters amongst the attractions. We booked online before we went which made the entry price a bit cheaper but at full price it would have been well worth it anyway, a great place to visit

Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased to hear that Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary is among one of the best SEA LIFE Centres you have visited.

It's also great to hear that you took advantage of booking in advance online.

We hope to welcome you back to SEA LIFE in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing