We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out!!”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely day out!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited the sea life centre whilst staying in Scarborough and we enjoyed it very much. There is plenty to look at my personal favourite were the otters which we saw being fed their breakfast. There is also part of the exhibit where you can actually touch some of the animals such as crabs and starfish, the centre also have talks and feeding times for some of the animals which is really interesting. If you are thinking of visiting the sea life centre I would recommend the 2 for 1 voucher in the back on most cereal boxes as it makes the day a lot cheaper!!

Helpful?
Thank Bpj240795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Bpj

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review.

We are super happy you and your boyfriend enjoyed your day at Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    694
    496
    260
    151
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went with my 2 year old and he really enjoyed it with the uv jellyfish and the seals. We found it ok some good things to look at and do but I would not go without any discount vouchers. Overall it was a good day out

Helpful?
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Toni

It's great to hear your son really enjoyed his visit to SEA LIFE.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not fantastic”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Okay but honestly not as good as I expected. Very expensive for what you get. Daughter loved it but I think I expected a little more for my money

Helpful?
Thank Djl8887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Djl

Thank you for your review.

It's great to hear that your daughter enjoyed her day at SEA LIFE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Greatly improved but get a discount voucher or pay online 24+ hrs in advance”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited today - myself, my son and daughter, (aged 11 and 5) and it cost us nearly £40 - that was with a 40% off voucher, 2 games of mini golf and a guidebook. The carpark was another £5 on top of that for an all day space.
That said, we had a lovely day - take your time and do appreciate it all! The animal talks and feeding are very informative and worth planning your visit around - they also make you realise the great things the sea-life centres are doing around the UK. The children get little questionnaire/guidebooks which they stamp at certain points - we didn't end up getting the 'prize' as we forgot but I think it's a little medal or something similar. The penguins, seals, otters and giant turtle definitely make this different from the original sea-life we visited many years ago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mum2threekps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi

Thanks for your review its great to hear you had a lovely day out.

We encourage you to keep taking advantage of the fantastic offers we have in the local area and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dont assume to pay a fair price at the door even for a 4 year old.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Whether we enjoyed seeing the displays or not there is nothing which can justify having to pay £2 for the privallage of visiting the car park for 2 hours and then being charged £16.50 for a 4 year old entrance fee. We had a 2 4 1 voucher for 2adults and didnt have to pay for our 18 month old. I didnt check online before our visit to book in advance as i would not have belived in a million years that a 4 year old would be expected to pay the maximum fee. What justification is there for this when he cannot even read all the displays!! we were absolutely disgusted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HRplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi HRPlus

Thanks for your review.

It's disappointing that you didn't take the time to check our website as if you had you would have read that we do not own the car park outside - it is council ran and therefore they charge you to park there. This is a matter beyond our control. Our website is helpful in telling people of nearby streets to park on absolutely free of charge.

Secondly, we allow all children under 3 entry into SEA LIFE free of charge. This is the same in all SEA LIFE's in the country and stated on our website. We do encourage people to use our website to gain discount tickets.

It's great to hear you enjoyed looking at the fish and enjoyed the center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing