We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #13 of 86 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Even after reading the reviews we decided to go to the Sea Life Sanctuary as part of a day out to Scarborough as we had Tescos vouchers.
We went on a Thursday and there was no queue and got straight in which was great. We didn't want our photo taken which went down like a lead balloon as you have to walk through the photo staging area. The initial fish tanks and displays where interesting, and the jelly fish tanks really caught my daughters imagination. The gentleman who was showing the crabs in the rock pool was very informative and we did get to stroke a crab. It was then so busy that we couldn't get close to the other exhibits. When we got to the outside area there was very little to see. My daughter couldn't see into the penguin enclosure without being held up high and the otters couldn't be seen at all. There was a seal display taking place but due to the volume of school parties we couldn't get anywhere near. The outside eating area was also full of school children so no where we could sit down so we then tried the cafe and managed to get the only table left as again the whole place was full of school parties having their lunch (please don't think I'm against school parties, as this is a wonderful educational experience for the children but I am writing this as someone who could have potentially paid £16.20 per adult to visit). The underwater tunnel was very small and packed so very hard to hold up a toddler to show her what was going on. It was shortly after this we gave up and left.
I am sure that this sea life sanctuary does wonderful work, but if we had paid the £16 adult ticket cost we would have felt thoroughly ripped off visiting it as a visitor attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Toots74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Toots

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed the Jellyfish exhibits and touched a crab at our rock-pool. The entertainments team that run the show with the animals take a lot of pride in their work so they will be please to hear your kind comments about them.

I'm disappointed to hear your daughter was unable to see our adorable Humboldt Penguins - our penguin enclosure does have glass viewing areas that start 0.5 meters off the ground and we also have a underwater viewing area at the Penguins that begins at the floor.

Unfortunately regarding our Otters Eric and Pumpkin, they are not trained to stand to attention for humans. They are creatures and we allow them to do their own thing.

I'm pleased to here you managed to get sat down upstairs in our cafe but I am disappointed you have taken the time to have written this review as 'a customer who could have potentially paid £16.20' as I do not believe it gives a true representation of your visit.

I am glad you took advantage of one of our many discounted offers about and hope in hindsight you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    666
    485
    252
    145
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
batley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not that good”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ok, so we had a BOGOF Kellogs voucher, but the original £16 price is ridiculous for this attraction. The £8 with the voucher is acceptable - just. I know the management responses on here talk about the conservation, but it simply is not worth it. Add to that that you are battling with coach loads of school trips, and the behaviour of one school was dreadful with no leadership from their staff, makes an overpriced trip even less enjoyable.

Some of the exhibitions are ok, in particicular the jellyfish, but there is not really a lot to shout about. The Deep in Hull beats this hands down.

Finally, you know when they do the annoying photo's then charge an arm and a leg for them, I've NEVER seen photo's at this rip off price before - £9 !!! Absolute Joke.

Won't be going back, but obviously will be going back to the deep, as that is just under £11 for an annual pass.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BatleySrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Batley

I am deeply saddened to hear that you don't believe £8 admission price isn't worth the fantastic conservation work we do here at Sea Life.

We are a popular destination for schools as they can come and learn about conservation and how to preserve marine life and I am saddened to hear that you were upset with the behavior of a school and their staff. We place confidence in school leaders to look after their own class and unfortunately sometimes adults are as unruly as children.

We have 11 Humboldt Penguins, Otters and Seals which is a much wider variety than seen in other aquariums like the Deep. We are also on the front line to the public whenever a poorly marine creature is washed up on our shores - in particular seals which are rescued and sent to our Seal Hospital.

I would like to point out that photographs are an optional added extra for people to buy if they wish, and I am saddened that you are offended by the price.

We offer local annual passes for £13.20pp during February and annual passes valid at all Sea Life's for £40, which we believe is fantastic value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the better sea life centres”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We paid £8 each for entry as got a discount from our Haven site. We really wouldn't have gone if it had cost us full price of £16 each!

We have been to quite a few sea life centres and this one excelled itself with its staff - very friendly and informative, engaged my 4 year old very well. We liked the otters, penguins and seals the best. Attractions as expected - liked the jellyfish too. We had a quick drink and ice cream in the cafe and was pleased to see there was a play area for the little ones.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Super_Mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Super Mazza

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.

It's great to hear you took advantage of our 'Best Price Guarantee' price of £8 as you can not get cheaper admission anywhere else.

It's great to hear you liked our Otters, Penguins, Seals and Jellyfish and that your young son had fun in the soft play area.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beaver sleepover”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On Saturday 14th June 2014 we took 44 Beavers for a sleepover at the sea life centre, it was the first time we had been somewhere other than a Scout site and a first for the sea life centre. The staff from the very first email were fantastic. They were so helpfull nothing was too much trouble and they were great with the children who are aged between 6-8. You would never have thought we were the first to sleepover I would recommend any one to try it large or small groups. The Beavers and Leaders had a fantastic time something we will all remember for a long time. We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Nicola

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We are so thrilled that you and the beavers enjoyed our very first VIP Sleepover.

The staff commented on what a lovely group you were and can't wait for the next one.

We hope to welcome you all back again very soon in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only fault photo counter ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant went round with a double pushchair. babes loved it especially the seals under water glass. Price was good as haven did an offer with them to pre buy. Had to pay for parking outside (on the back of the parking ticket) was a voucher for sea life obviously wasn't needed but keep an eye out ! Parking was good value about £2 for 6 hours ------------my only fault was the price of the photos!! I didn't see anyone buying one when we was in shop - we felt that if they cost less, more people would buy more- resulting in more sales.. rather than charging way to much and hardly getting any sales....

Helpful?
Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Fay

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough Sea Life and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing