We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too many school groups”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.47*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #15 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Took our toddler today and due to the overwhelming number of school groups we did not stay long. We struggled with pushchair, no one had mentioned all the steps to us before we went in. The baby change had a massive queue and ended up changing him on a mat next to hand sinks in ladies-not hyfenic for those washing hands. Also there were only 2 hands dryers, a nightmare in such a small space as it means another queue. Cafe was tiny and people were stood with food waiting for a table,most of which were seated with school kids eating packed lunches!! Gift shop very expensive, and all in all glad we had half price vouchers or I would be asking for money back.

1  Thank tor992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Tor992

Thankyou for your feedback, and we are very sorry your experience did not live up to expectation. The popularity of Sea Life centres inevitably results in their being busy at peak times and especially during school holidays, and for those wishing to study every display carefully and appreciate everything it and its fishy residents has to offer, we know that large numbers of other visitors can be a distraction. That is why we recommend timing your visit, if possible, to avoid the middle of the day during these busy periods. Arriving soon after we open our doors, or late afternoon, will usually guarantee the freedom to explore leisurely and with relatively little disruption from other guests. If you are uncertain as to the best time to visit, by all means give us a call before you commit and we will do our best to help

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,793 of 2,403 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Not worth the entrance fee, not many animals, no sign of otters!, jam packed with school kids, were there less than an hour! Don't bother unless they bring prices down!

2  Thank Soonnottobemissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Soontobethemissa

Thanks for your review.

It deeply saddens me your views on Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary.

At Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, we aim to offer good value for money to all of our guests. Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup. Since November we have helped 15 seals and rescued numerous sea birds following the recent bad weather. We are grateful that our guests can help us do this.

Our admission price does reflect the conservation work we carry out and we are grateful for your support.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £11.50 per person.
We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.

Unfortunately our Otters will not stand to the attention of humans as we allow them to live in their enclosure in the most natural state we can. Had you gone along to an Otter feed and talk you would have been able to see them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were visiting the east coast for a week and had been all over, we saved the sea life center till the last day as our 2 year loves things of this nature. On arriving we were charged £16.95 pp which I found very steep but thought if he enjoyed it it would be worth the money. On entering we found the place to be jam packed with school trips you could barely move, a large part of the trips been special need children, now don't get me wrong this is great for them but they were very loud throwing things, screaming and our toddler was terrified he didn't want to be in there. We couldn't get a view of anything do to the amount of people in there and the queues for every thing inc baby change, shop ect were at least 20 deep. If the sea life center wants to be used for school trips they should make you aware before entering, use certain days to accomadate or limit the numbers as this was horrendous. We didn't stay more the 20 minutes the place was shabby, run down and basically one of the worst attractions we have ever visited, definitely not worth the money I wouldn't even pay £5 to visit here.

4  Thank donnersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Donnerleeds

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

First let me express my concern at what you state you paid £16.95pp into Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. This is impossible as it is not a price we charge for anything. Our family walk up price tickets are £13.20pp. If you have paid this amount in please contact slcscarborough@merlinentertainments.biz and scan in your receipt and I will ensure you get a refund.

Secondly, during July we are a hot spot for school visits especially with the summer holidays looming. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your visit and state this as your reason why.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've been here a couple of times with my daughter who absolutely loves it - the only downside is the entrance fee. I understand that the centre relies heavily on this sort of funding though and it all goes to help maintain the facilities for the animals.

The talks are really informative too and not too long. The staff were really friendly and more than willing to answer any questions we had.

There is a cafe on site which we didn't use - thought it looked nice when passing through.

There is also a gift shop just as you enter the building.

Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Matt

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We are thrilled to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

Our admission price does reflect the conservation work we carry out and we are grateful for your support.

Top tip is to always look for a promotional offer as there are many 241 offers on everyday household items purchased from the supermarket.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

It was a very small sealife. We got around it in half an hour doesn't seem worth it for £16.20 the only thing that did make it worth it was that we decided to stay for the talks and they were nothing special. They could do with a upgraded as it's more like a play center for kids with the mini golf and the play area. They need more fish and sea life for us to view. If they got rid of the mini golf and put more tanks in it would be on its way to being a bit better

1  Thank Risha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Risha

Thanks for taking the time to review Scarborough Sea Life.

I am disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Sea Life and didn't enjoy our feed and talk demonstrations.

Feed and talk demonstrations is something we are constantly praised upon and our staff will be disappointed to hear you did not enjoy them as they pried themselves on their work.

Regarding the variety of animals at Scarborough Sea Life, we have over 1000 different species including Seals, Otters and Penguins which you do not get in the majority of aquariums throughout England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing