We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit and still a hit”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.21*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #28 of 91 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 15 July 2014

lovely staff and lovely place, every time we visit Scarborough we come to the sea life centre, the talks and feeding of the animals is always fun and informative and the new exhibits for the sea horses and jelly fish went down great, book in advance for a discount but definitely worth a trip

Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Scott

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review about Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary.

The team will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"octopus"
in 80 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 66 reviews
"seal hospital"
in 53 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 133 reviews
"booked online"
in 79 reviews
"penguin walk"
in 37 reviews
"pirate golf"
in 35 reviews
"otters and seals"
in 35 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 31 reviews
"feeding times"
in 54 reviews
"rainy day"
in 79 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 79 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 34 reviews
"north bay"
in 42 reviews
"talks"
in 288 reviews
"voucher"
in 378 reviews
"conservation"
in 54 reviews
Filter

2,099 - 2,103 of 2,721 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited just after it had opened one morning , so it wasn't too full . More people with children came in after us but we managed to keep ahead of them and were able to look at the displays without too much trouble or noise . Found the jelly fish display particularly attractive . The only thing i would say is that there is not enough information about the fish etc that you are looking at , I suppose we were meant to buy the guide book for that, but it would have been even more expensive to do so . The Bournemouth Aquarium supplies plenty of info on each tank so i don't see why that couldn't be done here . Not bad on the whole but could so easily be better .

Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Elaine

Thanks for taking the time to review Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary.

We do have interp screens at each display throughout the centre for people to read and these interp boards switch onto a different screen showcasing a different animal in the exhibit every minute. Members of the team would also be more than happy to answer any questions and let you know all the fishy facts you could ever desire!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have been to several sealife centres and have noticed that they seem to be struggling to keep a good standard up. I realise that they are costly to maintain but felt that if we had not had a discounted offer that it would have been a rip off. The layout was not inspiring and we just felt it was a case of get your money out for a load of tat.

Thank charlietiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Charlietitler

Thanks for your feedback.

We take all feedback into consideration.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Cannot believe that the entrance charge at Sea Life is more than the The Deep at Hull.The place is shabby and full of school trips.I know that the schoolchildren have every right to visit but it was a bit overwhelming.I guess the best bit was the journey there and back on the North Bay Railway.

Thank 351lesleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi 351lesley

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £11.50 per person.

We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Too many school trips. Place very shabby. Charge too much money for a family, we only spent one hour there. The gift shop was very expensive. It is such a shame as it could be fantastic does not compare to its London sister aquarium which charges the same!!!!! Too many stairs for people with buggies. Where were the otters!? Don't bother unless they put the price down. Come on Scarborough get your act together we need more indoor activities for children on wet days, not just the amusement arcades.

2  Thank SteveandLin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi SteveandLynn

Thank you for your feedback.

The popularity of Sea Life centres inevitably results in their being busy at peak times and especially during school holidays, and for those wishing to study every display carefully and appreciate everything it and its fishy residents has to offer, we know that large numbers of other visitors can be a distraction. That is why we recommend timing your visit, if possible, to avoid the middle of the day during these busy periods. Arriving soon after we open our doors, or late afternoon, will usually guarantee the freedom to explore leisurely and with relatively little disruption from other guests. If you are uncertain as to the best time to visit, by all means give us a call before you commit and we will do our best to help.

At Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, we aim to offer good value for money to all of our guests. Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup. Since November we have helped 15 seals and rescued numerous sea birds following the recent bad weather. We are grateful that our guests can help us do this.

Our admission price does reflect the conservation work we carry out and we are grateful for your support.

We do ask all visitors to leave their buggies at the buggy park on site, as you experienced it is a more pleasant experience for those who do.

Unfortunately our Otters do not stand to human attention as we allow them to live as naturally as possible in their enclosure. If you have gone to an Otter feed and talk you would have been able to see them on one of their daily feeds.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing