We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lynn carnall ”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #15 of 79 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lynn carnall ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely day ,both my children aged 12 and 9 Enjoyed the visit ,we have been a few times to sea life and Enjoyed every visit ,we usually take a pack lunch and nip back out to the car to either sit on the grass or in the car to have our lunch as the cafe usually gets Really busy especially at peak times ... ,our boys like the area where they can pick the crabs up , and touch the cleaner fish ..they Enjoy having their photos taken ,and choosing a picture ..we decided on a fridge magnet to put out picture in ..Thanks Scarborough sea life for a lovely day .

Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Lynn

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review.

We are thrilled you and your boys enjoy your time at SEA LIFE and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    624
    458
    233
    143
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“"otter" rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family, two adults and three children. One aged 5, one aged 1 and one only 12 weeks old.

£5 parking before you get to the front door.

£66 entry fee.

£1 per child to pan for gold.

£4.50 to play outdoor crazy pirate golf.

My daughter really enjoys sealife creatures and so we were under pressure to come here and agreed as we were on holiday.

I wish we hadn't. With my daughter reading every sign, looking at every creature and asking me loads of questions AND me battling with a pushchair (the place is not disabled friendly / pushchair friendly) we were done in one hour.

It was a complete ripoff.

I would recommend saving your money and spending it on a fishing boat where you would catch some real fish. Would be cheaper and your kids would enjoy it more.

Worst experience I have been too. Ever.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andystone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Andystone

Thanks for your review.

At SEA LIFE children under 3 go FREE! This policy is on our front door and our trained admission staff implement this at all times. Therefore your family ticket can not of been £66, but instead £39.60. However, if you were in fact charged £66 please contact slcscarborough@merlinentertainments.biz where we can investigate.

Unfortunately the car park immediately outside SEA LIFE is council owned - if you check our website we do advise that those who do not wish to pay to park immediately outside can park up the top of Scalby Mills hill which is a short walk away.

Pirate Adventure Mini Golf is a £2.70pp upgrade for all that visit SEA LIFE and not £4.50 like you have stated.

It's sad to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst cafe I have been to”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This venue is pleasant enough and we particularly enjoyed the jelly fish tanks with the coloured lights. However the experience at the café was verging on horrific, service was poor to pig ignorant and then it took in all 40mins to get a mildly warm bowl of soup. The choice was good as long as you like unhealthy, with little more than burger and chips. Very very poor we on reflection should have gone to the pub near by it could not possibly have been worse.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Geoffrey

Many thanks for taking the time to review Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary.

It's great to hear you had a pleasant time at our centre and enjoyed to Jellyfish exhibit!

Please accept my apologies regarding your experience in the cafe - i will ensure that your feedback is circulated to all staff that work in the cafe.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good for a wet day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I suppose that it takes a lot of money to maintain a place like this but despite us scoring a discount ticket at a previous car park I still felt that it was expensive for what was offered. As one who has visited the aquariums at Sydney and Monterey I didn't expect anything like their superior displays. Nevertheless there was much to enjoy here, even though the otters were AWOL. The work that they do in preservation and nurturing of sea life is excellent.
I would rather that the local council rethink their policy of charging for parking at attractions such as these; very small minded and counter productive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan1fromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Alan1fromoz

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
At Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, we aim to offer good value for money to all of our guests. Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup. Since November we have helped 15 seals and rescued numerous sea birds following the recent bad weather. We are grateful that our guests can help us do this.

Please accept our apologies you did not see the Otters - had you gone to one of the Otter feeds and talks you would have been able to see them being fed by our animal care team.

Unfortunately as you have gathered the car park outside SEA LIFE is council owned. We do suggest on our website that visitors who do not wish to pay to park directly outside should park just up Scalby Mills hill and have a short walk down.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd visit and still a hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

lovely staff and lovely place, every time we visit Scarborough we come to the sea life centre, the talks and feeding of the animals is always fun and informative and the new exhibits for the sea horses and jelly fish went down great, book in advance for a discount but definitely worth a trip

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Scott

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review about Scarborough Sea Life Sanctuary.

The team will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing