We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Octonauts to the launch bay!!”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #15 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Octonauts to the launch bay!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well we took my little boy to see The Octonauts who were at the Sea life Centre. He met them both and had photos taken with them all, and he loved it. Lots of little things to see which kept the children interest. The jellyfish area was great, and the turtles were quite nosey swimming up and down past were we were. They place itself is great but way too expensive considering you could not spend all day there as there isn't that much to see. None the less they are trying and I would go back again but only on a saver ticket.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eden4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Eden

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are thrilled that your little boy loved his trip to SEA LIFE to meet the Octonauts!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    632
    462
    238
    143
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out :)”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a great day, the animals are well cared for and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful too. Well worth a visit, look out for money off vouchers, they seem to pop up everywhere

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fairypoppins80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Fairypoppins

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review.

We are thrilled you had a brilliant day out and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting centre spoiled by a few disappointments”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Scarborough Sealife Centre is quite a small sealife centre, situated a little way from the town centre. Its exhibits are interesting - the jellyfish, penguins and seals, in particular. However, admission prices are too high for the size of the centre. We also felt that the facilities neeeded a bit of updating. The cafe looked dated, and the toilets were shabby. However, the thing that really took the shine off our visit was the carparking. The carpark to the Sealife Centre turned out to be a Pay & Display council-run car park. This is not immediately obvious - it is a long way from the town centre, and appears to serve only the Sealife Centre. We parked our car there, assuming that it was a free carpark, only to find we had a £50 carpark ticket when we returned to our car less than 2 hours later! Looking around the carpark, we spotted a large number of other cars had made the same mistake, and had been ticketed. This seems outrageous - a good money earner for the local council, but very unfair on the Sealife visitors who have already paid a large entrance fee. We won't be going back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Architect53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Architect

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our interesting exhibits. I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £11.50 per person.

Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup. Since November we have helped 30 seals and rescued numerous sea birds following the recent bad weather.

Unfortunately, the car park is not owned by SEA LIFE Scarborough but the council. This is clearly stated on our website and there are car parking signs throughout the car park. Online we do suggest anyone who does not want to park in a pay and display car park should park at the top of the hill and enjoy a short walk down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Very informative and I felt they do great things. However - we bought our tickets via the hotel at just over £25 which I found pricey but acceptable (that was for a family of three consisting of one adult and two children ages six and four) but I wouldn't have paid £39 for the same ticket if Id have waited and bought on the door. The que to get in was 35 mins long as there was only one person on the till with another half on then half off with a lot of other staff wandering about and this was the same I'm the gift shop! And to say we went first thing the toilets weren't clean either! Otherwise it was informative - except for the 'way out' sign.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Rebecca

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We are glad you had a good visit and took advantage of the discount tickets on sale in your hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids (and adults)!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

TOP TIP - buy your tickets to Sea Life at the Tourist Information Office in the Brunswick Centre in Scarborough Town Centre you will save loads of money. I think we saved about £7 a ticket. You can drive or get there by the miniature railway. I highly recommend the railway!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Nicki

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a great review.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your day at SEA LIFE and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing