We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Let Down”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Over priced, Shabby, Needs updating, cafe area smelly of fried junk food, still not worth the discount price of 50%, with voucher from Kelloggs cereal packets.

1  Thank Debbie190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Debbie

We are sorry you felt your trip was a big let down.

We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail. We feel had you interacted more your thoughts may have been different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,372)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,728 - 1,732 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We got a 50% off voucher online which dramatically brings the cost down. We listened to a talk on sharks which was quite interesting. We then got to feed them for a pound. My son got given a booklet to do when going round. Each point he had to stamp it. Without this I think we could have been in and out in 20mins. He then got a medal at the end which I thought was really good. They took pictures of us which you could buy but we under no obligation.

1  Thank sllmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi SSLMAC

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review.

We are thrilled you had a lovely time at SEA LIFE and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent nearly 4 hours in the Sanctuary with my daughter and her two sons aged 5 & 9 and had a great day, plenty to see and very educational in a very easy manner. Well worth the money.

Thank 947DavidWH947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi David

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We are thrilled you had a great day out and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The centre is situated at the far end of the north bay. Parking is regulated by Scarborough and Yorkshire district and even blue badge holders have to pay for parking. The parking charges are high for short tem parking.

On trying to enter the centre after buying tickets, (I was with my mum who is disabled), and we was kept standing while the member of staff monitoring the entrance was taking photos - please consider doing this as people leave, We did not want our pictures taken.

The centre is need of some major refurbishment -there was a strange odour coming from the tank containing the rays...... it was as though they hadn't been cleaned out for a while.

There was a lot of emphasis on saving seals - facilities for the seals were very poor compared to the centre at Skegness.

We went upstairs to view the turtles and found that the only way to get back down to the ground floor for my mum was by using the stairs (not every disabled person needs to use a wheel chair),

The café area smelt of deep fat fryers, very unpleasant and not particularly clean.

The cost of going to this is not good value for money. There were a lot of people visiting and it is clear that reinvestment in the centre is needed. I have visited the Sea Life Centre in Birmingham and this represents much more value for money

Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Christine

Unfortunately the car park adjacent to SEA LIFE is owned by Scarborough borough council. We do state this clearly on our website and suggest that those who do not wish to pay park up the hill where it is free of charge and enjoy a short walk down.

Unfortunately we do not offer a fast-track option and we find it fair that everyone queues together. In cases such as disability we will allow people fast track entry and we wish you had informed a member of SEA LIFE staff.

We actually do not have staff monitoring the entrance - they are in fact photos staff. The photography team do not pressurize anyone into having their photo taken - it is merely a little bit of added fun.

Let me assure you our animal tanks are cleaned regularly and the odor coming from the Ray Tank is a completely natural. The Rays are fed Squid which is not a particularly appealing smell.

Furthermore, we do state online and would have been more than happy to inform you of the steps in our centre had you contacted us in advance. We also can provide access downstairs via the stair lift for people who are disabled regardless of whether or not they are in a wheelchair. If you had asked a member of staff they would have been more than happy to assist you in this.

We are the only Seal Hospital in Yorkshire and our facilities are quality in resources and space to be able to rehabilitate the over 30 seals we do each year in and year out. Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup.

I would further like to assure you that our Kitchen is cleaned daily and we have received a Food Hygiene Rating of 5/5 from Scarborough Council.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £11.50 per person.
We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well we took my little boy to see The Octonauts who were at the Sea life Centre. He met them both and had photos taken with them all, and he loved it. Lots of little things to see which kept the children interest. The jellyfish area was great, and the turtles were quite nosey swimming up and down past were we were. They place itself is great but way too expensive considering you could not spend all day there as there isn't that much to see. None the less they are trying and I would go back again but only on a saver ticket.

Thank Eden4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Eden

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are thrilled that your little boy loved his trip to SEA LIFE to meet the Octonauts!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing