We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard sell for pictures”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.61*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #13 of 90 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 31 August 2014

spent a good few hours, but didn't like the hard sell for the photos on entry. little brother really enjoyed seeing the fish.

Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seal hospital"
in 49 reviews
"otters and seals"
in 30 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 58 reviews
"octopus"
in 68 reviews
"booked online"
in 69 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 29 reviews
"feeding times"
in 50 reviews
"pirate golf"
in 30 reviews
"penguin walk"
in 34 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 125 reviews
"gift shop"
in 101 reviews
"rainy day"
in 74 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 74 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 30 reviews
"north bay"
in 42 reviews
"talks"
in 255 reviews
"cafe"
in 258 reviews
Filter

1,757 - 1,761 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Any fans of sea life centres would enjoy this one. It is quite small but it took us with two children around 3 hours to go through everything. there are lots of animals to see and the talks are very informative. There are steps which is a pain with a buggy and some of the exhibits need more information around them but overall worth a visit.

Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The first stumbling block is the price of the car park, ( it does not belong to the attraction ) I you don't know how long you will be at the attraction so we paid for 5 hours, cost £5, did not need it as we were only there about an hour.
No prices of admission shown until you enter the turnstile, thought it very expansive , £25 for two,
No reductions for the elderly or disabled .
We feel it is a poor relation to the "Deep " at Hull, the undersea area was very small and very few sharks
Some fish made a brief appearance, and unless you wait for feeding time they appear to stay in bed
Gift shop very expensive , mostly soft toys
Spoke to one family who paid over £60 for all to get in .
Not very impressed al all

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Thank god for 2 for 1 vouchers. £16.20 to turn and enter is a rip off. Maybe this place is better out of season. The amount of children who just couldn't be bothered and wanted to go elsewhere was annoying.

Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our first visit to a Sea Life Centre. I'm glad we had a discount on the admission price. A long queue outside, not helped by the bottleneck of having your photo taken just after the tills.

Perhaps better advice on getting round with a pram would help.

It was ok, but nothing special and it's set up to extract your money for the minimum return.

1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing