We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy bunny!”
Review of The Helaina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Helaina
Ranked #17 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is superb! Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the sea view is amazing. The staffs were very hospitable and accommodating, the owners are very friendly too. The breakfast was spectacularly delicious! We stayed for two nights and we look forward to having breakfast every morning. Parking spaces are bad in Scarborough, but the hotel will give you a parking permit, the only problem is finding a space. I will highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Sharymar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I'd payed for the cheaper room for 2nights, we got there and the owner upgraded us to the beautiful apartment for the night as it was available that night with no extra charge. It was the best apartment we've ever stayed in. Everything was perfect. The breakfast was the best we've tasted fresh bread, fruit salads, butchers sausages. Staff so helpfull and chatty. The only downside for us was parking, but we went when it was extremly busy, and they do give you permits, we are just awkward as we return late at night. Views were also beautiful. Please go on four in s bed you would win! I've reviewed a little late, but thank you for a beautiful stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B, we were really looked after, the rooms were lovely, everything had been thought of. The breakfast was wonderful, there was so much choice. Great location with parking at the front of the B&B and a short walk into town. We will be returning, a real gem!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kerryp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We will be returning here ,and i will highly recommend it...fantastic B&B ,very stylish decor ,we had a wonderful stay and will be back to stay again ...rooms overlooking the front with sea views are a must ..Kerry was fantastic ,really welcoming .
Breakfast was great ,with a good choice ,we had scrambled egg and salmon ,as opposed to the normal full english (which did look great ) .....Room 7 has great view

Room Tip: room 7 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaws14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As the title suggests you must give this B & B a try. We were greeted by Tom the owner and made to feel very welcome telling us all we needed to know. This accommodation is beautifully presented and very well looked after. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was a lovely touch and the view was simply stunning over the north bay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and there are lots of little luxury touches. The breakfast was delicious and the menu offered a wide variety to choose from. We were looked after by a lovely lady very warm and friendly for whom nothing was a problem. If you don't mind paying a little more for quality accommodation then this is the place for you. We can't wait to return. Thank you for making our short break in Scarborough perfect.

Room Tip: The sea view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karl4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very warm welcome upon arrival, was told everything we needed to know and shown to are room. The whole hotel and especially the rooms are very well decorated and comfy. We had a room three floors up so did have to climb some stairs but was not a problem for us. Had an amazing sea view from our window which just added to the tranquil setting. Me and my partner only stayed there one night but will defiantly be staying again and I have recommended this to all friends and family if they were to ever stay in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Fantastic, quality B&B in a great position. Very well decorated & very clean. Owners/Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very fresh & cooked to order. We only stayed 1 night but would certainly return if we were in the area again. We had the room right at the top of the house so you have to be relatively fit as there are lots of stairs. Also it was rather small although this is pointed out on the website but all in all a very pleasant stay. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
648 reviews
1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £82 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing