We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Easter Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Helaina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Helaina
Ranked #9 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter Break”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived on Good Friday to a very warm welcome. We were shown to room 3 which had a beautiful sea view.
The room was compact but this did detract from our break whatsoever.
The bed was lovely and comfortable and there were a lot of nice little touches (fluffy dressing gowns were wonderful! )
The bathroom was a decent size with an excellent shower.
Good location overlooking the North Bay with town and South Bay close by. Lots of places to East and drink within a sorry walk.
Now we come on to breakfast.... There is a wide choice of breakfasts to be had, but the full English is of such quality that we didn't deviate from it during our stay! I would've loved to have tried the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but I couldn't resist the cooked breakfast!
There are also cereals and croissants available with toast and jam too.
All in all this was a stunning break in a beautiful room in a hotel staged by genuinely nine people. Every time we saw anyone from the hotel they were very polite and it always felt like they couldn't do enough to help you enjoy your stay, but without being overbearing.
We hope to return at some point in the hope of getting one of the bay window rooms!
Thank you all for a lovely break!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mango1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    78
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
328
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by an extremely friendly host who immediately upgraded us to the newest luxury apartment. After a short climb up the stairs we arrived at apartment 5........
Wow!!
Immaculately clean and sparkling with a real home from home feel along with a fantastic sea view over the North bay.
Everything about the apartment was tastefully and thoughtfully coordinated throughout.
The sitting room/ kitchen diner was fully equipped and could easily have been an upmarket residential apartment rather than a short break/holiday apartment.
We opted for the breakfast option and again were really pleased with the choice and more importantly the quality of the food as well as the great and friendly service.
We will certainly be staying again on our next visit to the area and would recommend either the apartments or hotel to anyone wanting a little bit more luxury on their break.

Room Tip: At either the hotel or apartment I would recommend a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival. Rooms clean, bright and toasty warm. Make the most of the comfy lounge with bar and lovely views. Breakfast real nice with a great selection. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Excellent location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SiggyFC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Booked the sea view apartment with our two under fives over the Easter school holidays.

Staff exceptionally helpful and we upgraded to include the breakfast served next door in the hotel.

The breakfast is fantastic and excellent quality , I can't recall having better.

The staff kindly had a babyseat in the Restauraunt for us every morning .

The apartment was very comfortable and absolutely spotless. Our little one enjoyed watching frozen in the DVD player in her own room as treat.

Very well placed and will definitely be returning.

10 main walk to town and Peasholm park.

Well done the Helaina this is exactly what young families are looking for .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1977magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We staid here for one night, on arrival made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much. Looked after very well, room and bathroom was beautiful no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was lovely from cereal fruit salad to cooked breakfast, will definitely be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is superb! Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the sea view is amazing. The staffs were very hospitable and accommodating, the owners are very friendly too. The breakfast was spectacularly delicious! We stayed for two nights and we look forward to having breakfast every morning. Parking spaces are bad in Scarborough, but the hotel will give you a parking permit, the only problem is finding a space. I will highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharymar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I'd payed for the cheaper room for 2nights, we got there and the owner upgraded us to the beautiful apartment for the night as it was available that night with no extra charge. It was the best apartment we've ever stayed in. Everything was perfect. The breakfast was the best we've tasted fresh bread, fruit salads, butchers sausages. Staff so helpfull and chatty. The only downside for us was parking, but we went when it was extremly busy, and they do give you permits, we are just awkward as we return late at night. Views were also beautiful. Please go on four in s bed you would win! I've reviewed a little late, but thank you for a beautiful stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 182 in Scarborough
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Property: The Helaina
Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing