We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well deserved 5* rating”
Review of The Helaina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Helaina
Ranked #16 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we went over bank holiday week, weather was horrendous. Found it very easily, right on sea front. Very well maintained, was absolutely spotless. Our room (10) was small but perfectly formed, lovely touches like bath robes, chocolates on bed, and good quality ground coffee and biscuits. Huge shower in a lovely spotlessly clean bathroom. Proprietor (presume Tom) who greeted us, was lovely and couldn't do enough for us. They have a lovely lounge with newspapers and an honesty bar so you can sit and have a quiet drink looking over the sea. The breakfast was delicious. I am vegan and my husband vegetarian, normally I ask what they can do for me before I go but having read TA reviews knew I would have no problem. I had a huge dish of fresh fruit which was obviously made from scratch rather than tinned stuff, thick wholemeal seaded toast with rasperry jam, plus mushrooms, tomatoes and beans on toast, with fresh apple juice - we were stuffed. I spotted a room which had a sea view on the way out (ours did not) and it looked tremendous so would definitely consider paying extra for sea view next time we stay. Our room was also very warm and cosy which was great considering we had got a drenching in the rain when we were out and about. Would highly recommend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My Wife & I have just returned after a 2 day break at the Helaina.
On arriving we where meet by a very nice young man who was very polite & friendly.
After checking us in he helped us carry are bags to our room.
Room 8 Wow what a view.
The room was spotless.
The selection at breakfast was great.
This place Deserves it 5 Star English Tourist Rating.
We would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great view. Sit back & enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived on Good Friday to a very warm welcome. We were shown to room 3 which had a beautiful sea view.
The room was compact but this did detract from our break whatsoever.
The bed was lovely and comfortable and there were a lot of nice little touches (fluffy dressing gowns were wonderful! )
The bathroom was a decent size with an excellent shower.
Good location overlooking the North Bay with town and South Bay close by. Lots of places to East and drink within a sorry walk.
Now we come on to breakfast.... There is a wide choice of breakfasts to be had, but the full English is of such quality that we didn't deviate from it during our stay! I would've loved to have tried the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but I couldn't resist the cooked breakfast!
There are also cereals and croissants available with toast and jam too.
All in all this was a stunning break in a beautiful room in a hotel staged by genuinely nine people. Every time we saw anyone from the hotel they were very polite and it always felt like they couldn't do enough to help you enjoy your stay, but without being overbearing.
We hope to return at some point in the hope of getting one of the bay window rooms!
Thank you all for a lovely break!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mango1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by an extremely friendly host who immediately upgraded us to the newest luxury apartment. After a short climb up the stairs we arrived at apartment 5........
Wow!!
Immaculately clean and sparkling with a real home from home feel along with a fantastic sea view over the North bay.
Everything about the apartment was tastefully and thoughtfully coordinated throughout.
The sitting room/ kitchen diner was fully equipped and could easily have been an upmarket residential apartment rather than a short break/holiday apartment.
We opted for the breakfast option and again were really pleased with the choice and more importantly the quality of the food as well as the great and friendly service.
We will certainly be staying again on our next visit to the area and would recommend either the apartments or hotel to anyone wanting a little bit more luxury on their break.

Room Tip: At either the hotel or apartment I would recommend a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one night. We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival. Rooms clean, bright and toasty warm. Make the most of the comfy lounge with bar and lovely views. Breakfast real nice with a great selection. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Excellent location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SiggyFC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Booked the sea view apartment with our two under fives over the Easter school holidays.

Staff exceptionally helpful and we upgraded to include the breakfast served next door in the hotel.

The breakfast is fantastic and excellent quality , I can't recall having better.

The staff kindly had a babyseat in the Restauraunt for us every morning .

The apartment was very comfortable and absolutely spotless. Our little one enjoyed watching frozen in the DVD player in her own room as treat.

Very well placed and will definitely be returning.

10 main walk to town and Peasholm park.

Well done the Helaina this is exactly what young families are looking for .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 1977magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We staid here for one night, on arrival made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much. Looked after very well, room and bathroom was beautiful no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was lovely from cereal fruit salad to cooked breakfast, will definitely be returning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £86 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing