We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go there!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #165 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel offers rude staff, very dimly lit landins and rooms, mediocre food, missing basics (only I bed side table, loo roll on top of loo etc) and a chaotic breakfast service. The chef seems to be incapable of making toast - it was either burnt or so aenimic it was still rubbery.It may be conveniently located but that is all that you say of it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we will be doing our best to correct all of your points mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

having just spent three noisy nights there, we are shattered. good breakfast but no brown toast and no fruit. good evening meal but it had to be eaten in the bar with all the noise, would have been nice to have separated the diners from the loud drinkers.no mango chutney on the curry night and no pilau rice, bedroom had new furniture but old mattresses and pillows and towels were hard, shower was good but on the small side even though the room was large, there was no space for a toilet bag other than the floor.the towel rail was excellent, the extractor fan was noisy and banged when it got windy outside,a chinese torture through one night.No internet in the room,no hairdryer ,no ironing board,no easy chair,one bedside table,no mirror in the bedroom and the smallest tv set very high above the wardrobe, the view of the castle would have been better had the windows been clean, it was obviously on the flight path for the seagulls. ideally situated for a stroll into the shopping area and the railway station, plenty of buses outside from 6am.lift up to the third floor, should have held 400kg but struggled with the two (180kg) of us and two cases, could be a beautiful hotel with a little extra colour and umph. the plastic flowers in the window boxes did not do a lot for this wonderful old building.

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Where to start???? When we arrived we greeted by a sign on the door which told us to book in at the public bar. When we got to the bar the woman serving said we would have to wait whilst she served the customers as she was on her own.
After almost 10 minutes of standing with our cases in a public (and somewhat dirty) bar she booked us in. We were not shown to our room- she merely pointed in the general direction and retiurned to pulling pints.Not a warm welcome !
The room ?? It was functional- just. The large bedside lamp had no light bulb and when I returned to the bar i was dismissed with a curt I can't help you. The bed was not a double- it was 2 single beds pushed together! The duvet- not like I have ever seen- lumpy and very heavy.
The bathroom was dark and much of the paintwork over the bath was peeling.
NOT a comfortable or attractive room to stay in. Even worse when the function room underneath hosted a party on the Saturday night. It was so loud the floor vibrated under my feet. WHY WERE WE NOT WARNED ABOUT THIS?? It was impossible to sleep.
The breakfast service was chaotic. A young boy (12 or 13 at the most) took the orders and invariably mixed them up. Not a child's job if you are wanting to be seen as a professional business. The food was edible-just. The quality of the food was poor and took a long time to arrive.
Overall, my advise would be go somewhere else because this hotel does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliesawyer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, some of our rooms are above the function room but please be assured all entertainment noise is ended, in full, at 12 midnight. We have looked at your review closely and will address each point and take on board the comments you have made. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The room was a good size and clean.
The breakfast was very good,the food serve in the hotel was good and very well priced.
All staff were very polite and helpful.
With being located across the road from rail station this hotel is ideal for a base to visit other places.
I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynco023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed Mon to Thurs as we thought it would be quieter than week end our room had plenty of space the double bed was large comfortable and very clean the bathroom was also very clean. the breakfast was excellent staff friendly and helpful check in easy we went by train the station just across the road main shops 2 mins away what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

booked the room for one night as a coupleon Expedia cost £50 for a sat night b&b. Pleasantly surprised abuot the room it was clean and tidy and spacious. TV a bit fiddly, had to stand on the bed to use the remote properly!! Minimal parking but understandable given the location which was extremely handy for the town, beach and to get to the open air theatre to see Status Quo. Wasn;t too sure about the noisy pub downstairs but couldn't hear it from our room. Friendly staff. Breakfast service extremely poor, three staff running about but totally not knowing what they were doing as tables left dirty, constantly running out of butter and milk etc and no staff to find to replace. Had to wait 50 minutes to get my breakfast and the poached eggs were rock hard!! felt sorry for other couples waiting to sit down due to not clearing tables.

Room Tip: ideal location for beach, town and if you are going to open air theatre for which it is walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharone r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback we are sorry to hear service at breakfast isn't up to our usual standard, we are working to improve this situation. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Wouldn't recommend this place at all. It's extremely noisy as we were put in a room right next to the main road, I woke up several times because of the loud traffic and train station. Also the floor boards are extremely creaky. Found the staff to be extremely rude as well. One member of staff just walked in to our room without our permission whilst my boyfriend was getting changed. Also a few minutes later another member of staff came up to our room and told us we would be getting charged extra because we didn't check out at 10am. However, when we arrived we got told nothing about the check out time. Can't get in the side door either, it took me and my boyfriend about 20 minutes to open it and when we called for assistance nobody came. Crap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eilish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and following your comments we will aim to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#28 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#122 of 183 in Scarborough
233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £41 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing