We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #164 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After reading all the poor reviews on here, I must admit we were a little apprehensive on arrival. No need, everything was great, friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble, room was modern and squeaky clean, town centre view from window was lovely. There was a function on at the hotel but we couldn't hear anything in our room. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed there in October, out of season, I would imagine high season it would be a lot busier and possibly more hectic at breakfast, but A****** rating for us.

Room Tip: Room 2 excellent town centre view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jw1961jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Wow!! What fantastic feedback!! It is very much appreciated and it has given myself and staff at The Victoria Hotel a very welcome boost!! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    27
    20
    26
See reviews for
23
74
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Also known as 'The Old Vic' Arrived at this "hotel" to very rude staff who seemed amused that we had chosen this hotel. Didn't have a clue why then, seemed odd. Now we know why!!! Got to the room to find old boxer shorts in the bed side table!!!

I came her with my 4 month old little boy, my partner and my mother for a traditional holiday in Scarborough for my sons first seaside holiday.

On arriving was greeted with amusement at us signing i in, which led me to ask why is she laughing at us?!

We soent Thursday night, friday night and Sat night here. The only night which was only satisfactory was the Thursday night, when the only thing we heard at night was the traffic and trains across the road.

The Friday night and Saturday night was shocking!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE! It is horrible, there were hen nights and bands and music on all weekend, sheets weren't changed zeros sleep until we got home. They kept the baby awake!

They shouldn't advertise for families if it is NO WAY appropriate for families in the slightest!

The only thing going for this hotel is that its jot too far from shops etc.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen_moomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We will look at all the points you have made and address the issues. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Before i start i am writing this review in the 'hotel' room in the middle of the night because we cant get sleep because of the noise coming from the function room two floors down from us. Once arriving at the 'hotel' (pub) we realised we had to checkin behind the bar. This was about 2 pm on a thursday were there was afew 'locals' in the pub with tatoos on there face. Once we got in the room we noticed the window wouldn't close and being october the room was very cold. We started unpacking and i opened the bed side draw to a pair of used boxers in the draw. After the first night we got an early wake up call from the train station across the road due to the broken window. Basically i could go on but all i can say is this place is a scruffy pub not a hotel. I will NEVER return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please be assured all music must end by 12 midnight at the latest. We endevour to do our best to maintain such an old 18th century building but sometimes things can go unnoticed, so please tell us if something is broken or does not work and we will put it right for you.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent value. Room large and clean.good breakfast and we found the staff friendly. Location great and a large car park..really enjoyed our time ...thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is always wonderful to read such positive reviews. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel offers rude staff, very dimly lit landins and rooms, mediocre food, missing basics (only I bed side table, loo roll on top of loo etc) and a chaotic breakfast service. The chef seems to be incapable of making toast - it was either burnt or so aenimic it was still rubbery.It may be conveniently located but that is all that you say of it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we will be doing our best to correct all of your points mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

having just spent three noisy nights there, we are shattered. good breakfast but no brown toast and no fruit. good evening meal but it had to be eaten in the bar with all the noise, would have been nice to have separated the diners from the loud drinkers.no mango chutney on the curry night and no pilau rice, bedroom had new furniture but old mattresses and pillows and towels were hard, shower was good but on the small side even though the room was large, there was no space for a toilet bag other than the floor.the towel rail was excellent, the extractor fan was noisy and banged when it got windy outside,a chinese torture through one night.No internet in the room,no hairdryer ,no ironing board,no easy chair,one bedside table,no mirror in the bedroom and the smallest tv set very high above the wardrobe, the view of the castle would have been better had the windows been clean, it was obviously on the flight path for the seagulls. ideally situated for a stroll into the shopping area and the railway station, plenty of buses outside from 6am.lift up to the third floor, should have held 400kg but struggled with the two (180kg) of us and two cases, could be a beautiful hotel with a little extra colour and umph. the plastic flowers in the window boxes did not do a lot for this wonderful old building.

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Where to start???? When we arrived we greeted by a sign on the door which told us to book in at the public bar. When we got to the bar the woman serving said we would have to wait whilst she served the customers as she was on her own.
After almost 10 minutes of standing with our cases in a public (and somewhat dirty) bar she booked us in. We were not shown to our room- she merely pointed in the general direction and retiurned to pulling pints.Not a warm welcome !
The room ?? It was functional- just. The large bedside lamp had no light bulb and when I returned to the bar i was dismissed with a curt I can't help you. The bed was not a double- it was 2 single beds pushed together! The duvet- not like I have ever seen- lumpy and very heavy.
The bathroom was dark and much of the paintwork over the bath was peeling.
NOT a comfortable or attractive room to stay in. Even worse when the function room underneath hosted a party on the Saturday night. It was so loud the floor vibrated under my feet. WHY WERE WE NOT WARNED ABOUT THIS?? It was impossible to sleep.
The breakfast service was chaotic. A young boy (12 or 13 at the most) took the orders and invariably mixed them up. Not a child's job if you are wanting to be seen as a professional business. The food was edible-just. The quality of the food was poor and took a long time to arrive.
Overall, my advise would be go somewhere else because this hotel does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliesawyer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, some of our rooms are above the function room but please be assured all entertainment noise is ended, in full, at 12 midnight. We have looked at your review closely and will address each point and take on board the comments you have made. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#113 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#12 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain Hotel B & B
The Captain Hotel B & B
#169 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aartswood Guest House
Aartswood Guest House
#153 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing