We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #159 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Came here with my mam for wk end stay, got a cheaper deal through groupon. For what we paid its good value for money, staff lovely, food really good, bedroom clean and spacious. I agree when entering it can be a bit (take a step back) not knowing where to go as its a pub but once you get over that, there is no need for this hotel to get bad feedback. I would defo return but not sure if I'd pay full price! Thank you for our stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    55
    28
    20
    26
See reviews for
24
77
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After reading past reveiws on this hotel i was abit worried! Why i dont know! Amazing Food, Clean well maintained bedrooms, Friendly staff always smiling and happy to help! Great atmosphere, a very pleasant stay, we will diffinetley be returning to the Victoria Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Would not return to this hotel! Firstly it's hard to find the car park and when you do it doesn't seem a very safe place to keep your car. Secondly as you walk in there is no reception area just an old fashioned bar were the occupants sit and stare at you and don't make room for you at the bar to check in. We had our meal in the bar, which was included in our stay, and it wasn't very nice. They had ran out of the gammon and chicken so my partner ended up having chips and garlic bread! I had the lasagne which looked nice but was cold in the middle so wasn't eaten. As we sat down for our meal there was nearly a fight at the bar between two women (one of which we told was supposed to be banned). Our room was spacious and light and the beds were very comfy. Very old fashioned tv (which you needed two remotes to work) one of the remotes had no back and the other had a plaster stuck to it to stop the back falling off! All in all quite a rough hotel which we will not be returning to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The accomodation was standard at that. The bar on the Wednesday night was over run by young teenagers. Very noisy and boisterous. Two if the staff behind the bar didn't seem to have any type of uniform on. And when served my drinks, all of them were flat. Obviously not trained staff. Would not recommend that place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennessy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i would never recommend this "hotel" save your money and go else where , rude team members ,doors that dont lock ,out side door that has a drop latch is permantly locked we could not get in in fact one gentleman had been knocking on the door for over twenty minutes apart from the fact this is a massive fire hazard what about safety ! my friend was man handled by a team member and this was on checking in , no hot water !!!! to be honest this list is endless and i do not have enough space to write in for the full story i asked for a refund on three occasions and was told " you will be lucky " i honestly dont know how they got a certificate of excellence .so top tip save your money go else where because these guys honestly dont care

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicola s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed there for the second time
after midnight all quietens down good nights sleep
nothing fancy you get just what you pay for
will go back again
excellent breakfast pleasant staff
just need to remember to turn the heater on when you first go in

Room Tip: top floor very quiet with a good view you can even see the sea from some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobriv990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a Groupon stay here before reading Trip Advisor reviews and were a little worried after reading some. But when we arrived check in was friendly (a little trouble getting the computer to obey) and were warned about needing a parking permit for the courtyard car park.
The room was spick and span, bed comfortable, shower and toilet fine. Shower could have been a little larger but then I could gave been a little smaller!
The only comment about the room was that it needs a bedside table on BOTH sides of the bed not just one and better lighting.
Breakfast was good, with cereal and juice self service and cooked breakfast to order.
Definitely stay there again, but for longer next time!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#116 of 182 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 182 in Scarborough
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing