We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - very welcoming and friendly - clean and comfortable”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #43 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our second year at The Highlander and it most certainly won't be our last! Karen and Nick made us feel so welcome, it was a real home from home experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are generous and perfectly cooked. The evening meals are also plentiful, and we had a good choice of menus. If this wasn't enough to make us want to go again - and again! - the bar also has a selection of real ales and malt whiskies, a point much appreciated by one of my sons-in-law and myself!!
I can't praise this hotel enough! There were three generations of my family this time, and every one of us had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have a wonderful view over South Bay and the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollandarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

After a mornings walk we sat on the front patio for a couple of pints.
The bar was nicely decorated and had a nice welcoming feel.
We decided to grab a bit to eat but didn't realise food stopped a 2.
Not a problem the barman ensured we were fed.........great service !
Will be back next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank hi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself ate twice in the pub. Both times had very good home cooked quality meals at an amazing price. Mondays nights 2 meals for £10. The bar was very comfortable and the clientele and bar staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarkJoseph58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute thing, booked on the Monday night and we were arriving on the Tuesday. We knew straight away it was the right decision as the Manageress met us on arrival, introduced herself, explained hotel amenities and personally shown us to our rooms. Our room was huge which was great when you have a 3 year old daughter. The pub attached to the hotel does lovely food especially the steaks, we liked the mixed of locals and guests who all spoke to each other. Breakfast was lovely even a table for 6 was set for us without asking where do we sit. I can't recommend the highlander hotel enough especially for families, staff were helpful and friendly, food was fantastic and nothing was a bother, we didn't have to do anything apart from enjoy our time. In fact we enjoyed it so much we stayed for extra night and the manageress was fantastic to arrange that for us. I think when you see how many locals go into the highlander pub speaks for its self. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just come back from a 1 night stay at the Highlander. We booked last minute and stayed in a lovely sea view family room on the 2nd floor which was huge, clean, bright & airy with a fantastic view over Scarborough. The breakfast was delicious and ample in size. We've visited the highlander public bar a few times before when we've been staying in Scarborough and always enjoyed the food & the atmosphere. Everyone is friendly and there is a great mix of tourists and locals go into the bar. We won't even bother looking for anywhere else to stay now as the Highlander has it all. Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Wm Youngers room on the 2nd floor has a double and a single bed so perfect for a family of 3 and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We went to the Highlander to partake of the fish and chips and the pub quiz on a Thursday night. What a good night it turned out to be. Fish and chips excellent. Real ale excellent (£3 a pint). Quiz excellent. "Play your cards right" after quiz, even better as we won the jackpot!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We headed to scarborough for a 2 day break and took our miniature schnauzer a long. We struggled to find a dog friendly pub and we came across the highlander. We ended up eating here 2 nights running. Welcoming, friendly, good value for money and a proper pub atmosphere. Ecclectic mix of locals and great food to boot. Definately one to try!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank SimonGarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing