We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy Heaven”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #41 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On a recent trip to Scarborough our B&B hosts suggested Highlander which was close and very dog friendly. This has the front section for those with dogs and on our first night there were several in at the same time, which was fine as they were all well behaved.
The food was excellent, and my nana was very impressed with the apple crumble. It was good value for money and the people are a mixture of locals and visitors and all were very friendly.
We were just gutted that they only serve food until 3pm on a Sunday and we missed it, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Went to the Highlander recently for supper. We had sausage and mash which was very good with loads of veg and tasty onion gravy. We were impressed with the staff and the efficient way they served the food and cleared the tables. Service at the bar for drinks was excellent too and a good selection of beers available. Well done Highlander. We will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great food and hosts, thanks for the lovely welcome. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Breakfast ideal for the start of the day. Evening meals very good value and excellent quality. My sea view room was all that we could ask for.

Room Tip: Sea View great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have visited Scarborough for several years and have regularly eaten at this hotel/pub/restaurant. The food is excellent and the drinks are superb, with some real ales on draught. Food is served until 8.15pm each day except Sunday, when it is only served at lunch time. They are very welcoming and also dogs are allowed in the front bar area. I would recommend having a meal at this hotel. It is situated overlooking the sea on the Esplanade. We have not stayed overnight but the rooms look very inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013


Just back from a stay at The Highlander hotel Karen and the staff were very friendly nothing was to much bother. The room we stayed in had a lovely view it was pretty basic with a bit of dust here and there but basically clean. Meals were very nice and my husband and I agreed it was one of the best breakfast we have had in a hotel and we've stayed in a few. All in all if you like a friendly pub atmosphere The Highlander is perfect.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our second year at The Highlander and it most certainly won't be our last! Karen and Nick made us feel so welcome, it was a real home from home experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are generous and perfectly cooked. The evening meals are also plentiful, and we had a good choice of menus. If this wasn't enough to make us want to go again - and again! - the bar also has a selection of real ales and malt whiskies, a point much appreciated by one of my sons-in-law and myself!!
I can't praise this hotel enough! There were three generations of my family this time, and every one of us had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have a wonderful view over South Bay and the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollandarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After a mornings walk we sat on the front patio for a couple of pints.
The bar was nicely decorated and had a nice welcoming feel.
We decided to grab a bit to eat but didn't realise food stopped a 2.
Not a problem the barman ensured we were fed.........great service !
Will be back next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank hi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing