We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Guest House
Ranked #100 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“What an amazing find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Oh my goodness. Myself, my husband and occasionally our Grandchildren regularly visit Scarborough and have stayed in several B/B's. At last our search is over.
This little gem is in a great location, directly opposite the train station, in a small square and almost at the begining of the precinct. Add to this the theatre 1 minute away and it's perfect.
Karen is a fantastic host and made us extremely welcome from the minute she opened the door. The house is beautiful, attention to detail is evident throughout, from the spanking new dining room, modern, fresh and bright, to the lovely bedrooms, each unique, yet offering excellent bathrooms, very comfortable beds, very well colour co-ordinated and everything matching. The rooms and public areas are pristine and an endless supply of tea and coffee etc. Add to this an extremely well cooked English breakfast, with an abundance of choice of cereals, fresh fruit, unlimited toast etc and this made for one of the best stays we've had in any B/B, let alone Scarborough. I cannot praise this guest house enough, only trouble is the better the reviews, the more people will try The Admiral, making less availability when we next stay.

Room Tip: Karen charges a set rate for the family room. 2 adults could pay for this without children and you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    29
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
119
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Admiral hotel was a delight, the breakfast was fresh, colourful and enjoyable. Karen was a wondeful host and nothing waas too much trouble for her. Me and my husband would certainly recommend this hotel to all families visting Scarborough: we will definitely be staying again.

Many thanks.

Mr and Mrs. Matthewman.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterhead
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

just a wee thanks for the lovely stay karen, thanks for all the help and friendly service cant wait to come back you made our holiday really worthit cant thank you enough



david,brenda mcilwraith

wed 6th june - 13 june

ideal location close to the train station could not get any better shame about the weather but heh we cant get everything well done so inpressed

Room Tip: room 2 plenty of room nice comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie on tour
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

having just spent a weekend at the Admiral a great find a lovely hotel/b&b from the moment we arrived to a warm welcome from Karen the owner who is a great host. the room on the third floor was bright with plenty of Tea, Coffeee, always topped up by karen. great power shower in the en-suite with a seperate toilet & wash Basin with toiletries. being ideal for the train station & bus stops just across the road. but you must not miss Karens great breakfasts full english plus plenty of choice of cereals tea, coffee, juice, as much toast as you want, best breakfast you will get anywhere. also close to all clubs, Pubs, resteraunts. 10 minutes walk approx to the sea front. will be staying again next time in Scarborough. Thanks for a great weekend Karen

John & Jennifer Dixon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixonj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

am staying here at the moment,karen is ld reccomend this hotel to anyone.a very friendly host and the brekkie is first class,the hotel is very handy for the station and near to shops bars and eateries,wou

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent a week in guesthouse/hotel and were made to feel welcome throughout.
The owner Karen went out of her way to ensure our stay was comfortable.
Was added bonus as situated near the station and top floor bedroom we had overlooked the gardens and was lovely.
Food was great and room was clean and comfy.
Would recommend this lovely place to anyone staying in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Top Floor Room At Front Is Quiet And Good View Of Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The admiral is great guest house,very clean, good location,nice breakfast but what makes it special is the owner karen who is very welcoming and goes out of her way to ensure your stay at the admiral is as enjoyable as possible. we would strongly reccommend this guest house and would definately stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#169 of 184 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#44 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.6 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Guest House

Property: Admiral Guest House
Address: 13 West Square, Scarborough YO11 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Admiral Guest House. Awarded winners of the TripAdvisor Excellence Award for Hospitality around the World year after year since it opened. Nestled within a picturesque square overlooking gardens, Admiral Guest House is a Victorian Grade II listed house which is 10 minutes' walk from the beach and directly opposite the rail station and major bus stops. Free WiFi is provided throughout Admiral Guest house, and each guest room features an en-suite bathroom, a digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We offer a variety of breakfasts including full English breakfasts or lighter choices, such as scrambled eggs on toast. Our full buffet of fresh fruit and yoghurts will offer a healthy addition to your breakfast plate. Special dietary requirements can be catered for if mentioned in advance. The award-winning Stephen Joseph Theatre is just a 1-minute walk away and offers a variety of live performances and screenings of the latest films. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing