We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Cambridgeshire, uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We loved this hotel. Our Sea View family room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable - even the childrens' beds which are often camp beds or converted sofas. High quality duvets and pillows made for a good night's sleep. Fantastic views all around the bay and the ozone wafts through the windows. We didn't get an offer bit felt we had good value for money. The parking is free and close by. The next night we stayed at the Premier Inn and by the time I had paid for parking and breakfast, the Ambassador worked out at very little extra. I looked at other large hotels in this town and most of them looked grubby and uncared for. The Ambassador stands out amongt the crowd. well done!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lululu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    356
    226
    161
    130
See reviews for
196
594
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed with some friends and the location and building are beautiful! However, the pool area is dirty and the windows filthy!!
The light in our bathroom did not work despite me contacting reception and the receptionsist had to come up to operate the t.v.
The restaurant manager is rude and got one of his staff members to plonk the outstanding bill in front of us whilst we were having a drink in the bar area!
The waitree named 'Gemma' is outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very pleasant!
We stayed in an upgraded room which was nice overlooking the sea.
Overall the bar area and restaurant are gorgeous and the food is adequate for the price, it is let down by some of the areas looking tired and dirty. Thank you Gemma for being so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very dissapointing facilities.
The sauna didn't work
Inadequate changing room
No shower facilities to use after you have been in the pool , you have to get dry and dressed and go back Yo your room to shower

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaellllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was so impressed with the friendly staff that could not do more to be helpful im writing this.

Highly recommend the restaurant the food is great.
I stayed 28 to 31 August 2011 with my 4 daughter who enjoyed the band; we stayed on the first floor in room 103 Great room.
Book with confidence - you'll have a good stay!
I paid full price, booked direct with the hotel worth every penny my daughter loved it

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

* Booked 3 double rooms and we were on different floors.
* The showers in room 300 and 101 were rubbish, thankfully we showered sat morning before leaving home. Had to wait until getting home Monday night to have another one
* The band in the bar saturday night were very loud and can be heard on most of the 1st floor, especially room 109. Its great being kept awake till 11pm when you've been up since 5am
* Room 300 gets the smell from the kitchen thanks to the ventilation shaft being next to the window
£89 per night per room...a lot of money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySally_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I booked a night at the Ambassador in back in March for a visit in August, It was a "special" weekend and we had been to Flamborough the night before. The hotel is in a lovely spot, the staff are great but i was gutted with our room. I had booked a deluxe sea view and whilst the room was nicely decorated and did indeed have a seaview, it was very small with only a queen size bed. we had stayed in Flamborough the night before in a B&B with a much superior room. The hospitality tray had only tea and coffee, there bathroom only had a multipurpose shower/shamppo, foam bath. I was very disappointed. Breakfast was great but I had hoped for and paid for a much better room ....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just come back from a night in Scarborough. We got an offer through Groupon for one nights stay, a bottle of Proseco on arrival, 2 course meal from the A La Carte menu and breakfast for £60. It was excellent value for money. The staff were very nice and the food was good. The only thing that let it down was all the rooms were too hot. There was no heat control in the bedroom and the dining room was extremely hot in the morning. Eventually they put the air conditioning on before we passed out.

If I was paying full price, I would have disappointed that the bathroom was old, the sink cracked and avacado colour. The TV in the bedroom was old and odd to work out but, for £60 with all of the above included it was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing