We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double room actually two single beds pushed together”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at this Hotel on the 22nd &23rd of October, we booked it because of the good reviews & leisure facilities but were let down. We had booked a double room and got two single beds pushed together with a gap in the middle instead, the room was very tired and our view was of a back street were the staff stood and smoked & where the bottle bins got emptied. The steam from the shower set off the fire alarm, there were no signs to warn you that they were so sensitive and a member of staff came and knocked on the door to tell us it was our fault tht the hotels alarm had gone off, leaving us feeling really guilty. We went to use the spa pool but it was so cold we got straight out. The hotel is obviously going through a make-over but room 118 is still waiting, going by the paint fumes they were getting close though! We asked for a suggestion of somewhere to eat on Sunday evening and were sent to a restaurant that kooked lovely but did not ope on Sundays. Terrible value for money, I'm sure it will be lovley once all of the work is done but I'd steer well clear for now and if you book a double room cal beforehand and make sure that they are not mis-selling a twin room. Very disap.pointed.

Room Tip: Ask if it has been renovated yet and request a sea view (although we did and got an alley anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Booking process through White Rose Golf Breaks was excellant, both personable and efficient. Unfortunatley the hotel was not. First room we were allocated was a disgrace, tatty and very small, we changed to another room which was nearly as bad. Tried to change but no other rooms available. The hotel brochure and the website do not fairly depict the rooms the quality of the rooms. I have been in communication with the hotel on a couple of occassions - who do not accept my comments.
If you do book ensure that you have the quality of the room detailed in your booking, which we did not. Their offer of compensation is an upgrade to a premier room if I book again within 6 months. NO CHANCE !!!!

Room Tip: Ensue the type of room is clearly identified in the booking confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerryRita18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just stayed here for one night with my girlfriend and it was probably the best hotel we have stayed in. Very nice hotel indeed. Great food, friendly staff and very tidy. This hotel would come highly recommended if you want to stay in scarborough.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collins-1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Nice hotel meals good live entertainment well stocked bar, pool and sauna very good

Room Tip: ground floor best otherwise climbing trairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I were attending a party at The Ambassador and decided to stay there for the weekend. What an excellent choice! Great location, friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Fab sea views from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I booked the Ambassador for a short break and was really impressed at the level of service and accommodation for a 3 star rated hotel. The location is great - away from the hustle and bustle of the town but a short 15minute walk or the cliff lift to the spa area. Parking a breeze with the pass provided by the hotel and useable outside the front or side streets. They had definately achieved the boutique feel in the room we were allocated - lovely sea and harbour views (106) with everything you would expect of a four star rated hotel - 'spa' type toiletries, tea/coffee tray, reading lights over the bed, lovely new bed linen and towels etc. The restaurant was pleasant and we had a table near the window so were blessed with more great views and the food was imaginative and well presented, not the usual 'hotel' fodder. Breakfast was buffet style and everything fresh and well cooked. There was some entertainment in the bar area in the evening - a very good vocalist with guitar - perfect to enjoy without destroying a relaxing evening. My biggest plus is that the staff were all welcoming, pleasant and efficient - a great young team who should be proud of what they are achieving. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities but they looked clean and located in the basement of the hotel. Well done to the Ambassador - keep up the refurbishment and I am sure the four stars will be coming soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for two nights (30/9 & 1/10) on a Groupon deal. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, from the point of booking to the time we left, always with a genuine smile and concern for our enjoyment. It is rare to come across a hotel where this is the case with all the staff. They deserve high praise.
We were in a 2nd floor room which, whilst it did not have a sea view, was a refurbished room of excellent standard. Yes the room was quite small, but seriously, how much space do you need in a hotel room? The new furnishings, bed linen and carpet were of high quality and with two televisions and a split level area with a sofa it felt very luxurious. The bathroom wasn't refurbished, but it was more than adequate for what we needed. Lets face it, the hotel cannot instantly refurbish every single room and bathroom in one go can they?
Breakfast was very good with everything you could wish for. The hot food was constantly replenished. You could have as much or as little of anything.
We ate our included meal on Saturday evening in The View restaurant and we were very pleased with it. We eat out a lot so have a lot of experiences to compare this restaurant with and we can honestly say it was one of the better meals we've had. High quality food, well cooked, beautifully presented and plenty of it. And again, service with a smile - nothing was too much trouble.
The location of this hotel is ideal, just a short walk out of the centre of Scarborough, but giving excellent views of the south bay, and the castle (well worth a visit as well!).
We had a fantastic weekend and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We would certainly book again should we wish to stay in this area in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £34 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing