We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Tadcaster
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I found the hotel to be one of the better 3 star hotels I have stayed in.Service was good . Food was good. Shower needs sorting out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TadcasterGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    356
    226
    161
    130
See reviews for
196
594
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I have just returned from a great weekend at this hotel which I was treating my sister to. Location is on the Esplanade with great views, quiet enough on an evening with good walks in the Italian Gardens or down to the Spa and beach but also close enough to walk into the buzz of the town. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful with great service in the bar, restaurant and reception.
Our room (107) was a boutique style decorated with nice furniture and huge windows which overlooked a little park and side sea view, we found it comfortable and warm with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are yet to be updated however plenty of large fluffy towels, toiletries and a powerful hot shower. Before we left we asked to look round on of the larger premier rooms (108). This had two big bays one which had two armchairs in looking out to see but also a small annexe room with bunk beds in.
The food was delicious I can definitely recommend the mediterranean risotto starter and beef fillet main, the breakfast was self service however freshly cooked, plentiful and great choice both in cooked section, cereals, fruit and pastries. There was a band on during the Saturday evening however different acts are on four times a week, with a wonderful atmosphere in the bar.
I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have just returned from our overnight stay and we were well impressed. We had the 'new style' room which was very nicely decorated , albeit the bathroom could do with a refurb. The food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast was of a good quality and plenty of choice. Very good value for money, particularly on using the Groupon voucher.
We'll be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

very welcoming hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Food brilliant as was service, bar and restaurant excellent, as was rooms and decor. Can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Ambassador. Our sea view room was a little dated, but was warm and clean. A room refurbishment programme is underway. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was very good. Free parking right outside the hotel. There was a wedding in the hotel one night, and it was a little noisy when we went to bed, but it didn't go on too long.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Sea view rooms could be noisy if there is a function in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redzed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We've just returned from a brilliant week end deal, courtesy of Groupon. Two nights bed and breakfast plus evening meal on one night. It's a long time since we stayed in a British seaside hotel and we were quite surprised at the quality. Most of the bedrooms at the Ambassador have been refurbished with en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making equipment, plasma TV etc. A big comfy king size bed with good, clean linen and plenty of nice white towels in the bathroom, along with complimentary toiletries. The hotel is situated on the South Cliff with good views of the sea and the town below.
The full English breakfasts were superb, with a huge selection, regularly replenished. The young staff were friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal was excellent, apart from one glitch when the wrong starter was brought and my husband had to wait until the right one was prepared. There was live music in the bar and a swimming pool with sauna available to all guests. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anticoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have just arrived back from a 3 day stay at this hotel. Our room was a standard re furbished room. We had no complaints about the room My mother has a gluten free diet the hotel had no problem with this. The food was excellent and staff very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janie095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing