We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Would stay again”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed at the Ambassador for one night at the end of June. We were in room 300 which was at the back of the hotel on the third floor. Although we didn't get a sea view, the room was one of the refurbished rooms and as we didn't book a cot and took our own, we were delighted that the room although not big, did accomodate the cot for our 18 month old. The hotel was clean and the bar area and restaurant were modern, although you would probably pay a little bit more in the restaurant and bar than the bars and restaurants in town. The pool area was a good size and nicely done in travertine. We stayed on a saturday night and there was a wedding party in the down stairs function room. As we were to bed early with the baby, we didn't notice a great deal of noise from the wedding, although later when the party finished there was a bit of noise, but this is to be expected. The location of the hotel is great. Its in a nice area, a good 15 min walk to the seafront/harbour and you can use the cliff lift to take you down to the spa area of Scarborough. We would definitley recommend the hotel and go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrysellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spent 4 nights here but found the room subject to road noiseand music comeing from the bar and smoking area just beneath our window.
It was also badly understaffed with very few of the same staff 2 days running I also felt it was overpriced and had very expensive bar prices.
They also seem to be more interested corporate clients, weddings bus parties and golf outings rather than the family holiday trade.
The only saving grace was the great breakfast which would put any 5 star hotel to shame .
Finaly as a visitor to this hotel on many times before I am sad to see this once excellent hotel has been turned into a inferior spa.

Room Tip: avoid all rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday in June with my wife and two children.
First impressions are important and we were greeted with a smile and were given a parking permit to be able to park on the street outside.
The stairs near reception had a bad stain, someone must have dropped a liquid and to be honest the carpet needs replacing. From the reception to the dining area there was a bad smell which really should have been addressed, as it seemed to linger all day. As first stated first impressions are so important!
Our room was on the first floor at the back in the refurbished area, and was large with a separate sleeping area for my daughter which she liked. The view was terrible but we would prefer to have a nice room with no view that a bad room with a great view!

We dined in the restaurant and we have to say it was very disappointing. The service and staff were fine. The starter and desert fine too, but the quality of the main courses were very poor. Considering the cost was £20 a head this was not very good value. For example I had the giant yorkshire pudding with beef inside and a side of vegatables. The pudding tasted of the frozen type and the beef was not a good quality. My wife had the burger which was burnt and too hard to eat. My daughter had the chicken but the portion left her still hungry.
One plus note the breakfast was very good, with a fair choice and no complaints there.
All in all not a bad hotel, but some slight adjustments could make it better!

Room Tip: request room in refurbished area
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

the hotel was ok (a little dated), we were put in the basement in a disabled room which was a bit of a disapointment, the breakfast was absolutley amazing. Location was perfect as we thought the center of Scarborough was a dive and full of drunks so it was nice to be staying just out of the way. Overall we had a lovely stay in Scarborough i just dont think the hotel was worth £240 for two night, no way!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view and not to be put in the basement
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have just returned from the hotel where we stayed for 4 nights traveling with a coach party.
We received a very warm welcome and our only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough!
The staff are brilliant nothing was too much trouble and they are very friendly and make you feel at home.The food was very good, we had a choice of 3 starters,3 main courses and 3 desserts.The breakfast was equally as good I couldn't fault anything.The eggs were cooked to perfection and I am not usually a breakfast person! I bet I have put on pounds in weight!!
Our bedroom was very clean although a little on the small side but luckily we are not very big people, and the bed was so comfortable we slept like a log.Value for money and we will be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 305 and 306 not the biggest rooms but we had a sea view and we would ask for these r...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor before arrival we had some reservations, however these were largely unfounded, but the plumbing is certainly ready for replacement.Very friendly and helpful staff and dinner and breakfast were of good quality and value.Well worth another visit and well worth a three star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARJORIE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our group of 40 Rotarians and their partners were the other big party at the Ambassador on 11/12 May. We shared the dining room with Kirsty A and her family, and we were equally pleased with the quality of the dinner offering, and the hotel staff's attentive and quick service, even with the dining room packed out. They must train their employees well at the Ambassador. They coped with our noisy and somewhat boozy crowd admirably, and just about every couple in our group (with one exception) were pleased with their rooms, which ranged fromn adequate at worst to exceptional at best. Breakfasts were excellent too. Our only niggle: wheelchair-bound Mrs Reviewer could only fit in the bijou lift with the chair footplates removed. They jacked our bed up at short notice (so a patient hoist would fit under it) with 8 Britvic crates - great improvisation, Ricky and friends! And yes, like Kirsty A's, our shower was also definitely temperamental. Never did get the hang of it. But all that said, it's a super place, and excellent value for money. And so said all 40 of us.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra. The view is fabulous.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giapetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,910 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £58 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing