We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed up as lamb.”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed up as lamb.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel has undergone a refurbishment to enhance its 'Spa' status, since my previous stay, however, it would appear that this was done by the local team of ' cowboy builders. The swimming pool had not been re-grouted and the rustic, stone flagging around the perimeter was not finished off and had gaps where it joined the pool. The water in the pool was very cold, as if to deter guests from using it. The sauna was suitable for 'skinnies' only, as it was too small to manoeuvre onto the benches.
We paid extra for a sea view room with a balcony only to find that someone had been smoking in it and it stank terribly of stale tobacco. We were moved to a different room above the restaurant which, unfortunately was noisy from 7am onwards due to music being played. We weren't' too happy either, returning to our room and finding it had been left unlocked by the service staff.

This hotel was my favourite Scarborough residence, but unless it improves I'll be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    372
    236
    169
    132
See reviews for
199
631
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Comfortable hotel, friendly staff, beautiful spa and pool, all recently refurbished, good food, comfy beds, lift, quiet location, parking outside using free parking cards the hotel provides. The restaurant had a great view over the bay which we enjoyed every morning over breakfast. Great cooked breakfast. Five minutes drive from main shops and theatre. Parking in Scarborough itself expensive everywhere. The only way to dodge it is 3 hours free parking in Tesco (no purchase necessary) and an hour and a half in Aldi.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less air conditioning / kitchen noise but otherwise very quiet location. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapidsrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel was lovely our purpose of the stay was a wedding and the staff were very nice so it made our experience enjoyable would stay there again just one little disappointment we stayed in one of the upgraded rooms but the tv was very old and the remote didn't work .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rere15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Disappointing for the price - Bulky old tv with remote that didn't work, cheap and tired looking bathroom both really let the room down. Tasteful decor and new furniture though, with good views from the window too. Good breakfast choice available which was very pleasant. Have paid a lot less for much more in some of the big franchise budget hotels - with a bit of effort this could have been an ideal stay in a beautiful hotel with character.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Having had a two night midweek break at this hotel we found it was more than adequate for our stay. We were given a sea view room which I would highly recommend. The views over the bay are magnificent. It made our stay more enjoyable. We decided on an executive room which after recently being refurbished was good. The room was large and nicely furnished with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good. We decided to eat out each night so cannot comment on the evening meals served in the hotel.
The hotel is high on a hill with some nice views and there is a lift opposite to take you down to the promenade if required. We found the walk down through the paths and gardens enjoyable although coming back up is a different matter..
The disappointment was the swimming pool. Also having been refurbished it was quite small especially when there are four or five people trying to swim - it was quite narrow.
Parking was available and the staff were helpful in assisting in all matters.

Room Tip: We chose an executive room. Recommend sea view rooms if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The complaint was firstly in regard to the room and adjoining bathroom in the hotel (embassador hotel, scarborough) it was very small so much so that i had difficultly getting in and out the shower and as senior citizen this is far from satifactory, the door of the shower hit the toilet and did not fully open. The second issue i had was that the window in the room was impossible to reach as it was above the bed and could not be opened without standing on the bed, a member of staff had to come and open it for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed at the Ambassador for one night at the end of June. We were in room 300 which was at the back of the hotel on the third floor. Although we didn't get a sea view, the room was one of the refurbished rooms and as we didn't book a cot and took our own, we were delighted that the room although not big, did accomodate the cot for our 18 month old. The hotel was clean and the bar area and restaurant were modern, although you would probably pay a little bit more in the restaurant and bar than the bars and restaurants in town. The pool area was a good size and nicely done in travertine. We stayed on a saturday night and there was a wedding party in the down stairs function room. As we were to bed early with the baby, we didn't notice a great deal of noise from the wedding, although later when the party finished there was a bit of noise, but this is to be expected. The location of the hotel is great. Its in a nice area, a good 15 min walk to the seafront/harbour and you can use the cliff lift to take you down to the spa area of Scarborough. We would definitley recommend the hotel and go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrysellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing