We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay - Scarborough Ambassador”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel stay - Scarborough Ambassador”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

we paid £79.00 for one night... we are a couple, we got single beds! My bed was horrendous, the matress didnt even fit the bed, crap nights sleep. The hotel was worn and very tired but it was cleanish... dont want to pull the hotel down as it was in a great location lovely view from the front of the hotel, however after breakfast if you wanted a coffee or tea you had to wait till 12 noon. on the upside the staff were very pleasant and helpfull cant fault them. Our room was also at the back of the hotel with the joy of a generator churning over at 4am, not to mention the heat in the place, I wouldnt go back there but then again I wont be going back to Scarborough again.! overall had a great time minus the poor room / bed! breakfast was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as we got put in the worse room going
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    372
    236
    169
    132
See reviews for
199
631
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can relate to several of the previous reviews and find it quite difficult to give this hotel a rave review or a bad review. For specific reasons we only booked it the day before we decided to go to Scarborough. Booked through Booking.com and went for a 'Boutique' room with stunning sea views etc etc. which was offered at a pretty reasonable discount. When we got there and got to our room it wasn't what we expected or paid for. The room was smelly and did not resemble a refurbished 'boutique' room and the sea view was just visible. On speaking to reception (who were very helpful) and confirmed we had booked one of the better rooms but unfortunately they were all booked. So why were booking.com still offering 2 'boutique' rooms the previous day? Anyway we were offered another room at a cheaper price and which was slightly smaller but smelled much better. It was ok but the bathroom was in need of refurbishment. They also gave a free bottle of wine.

The staff were always pleasant. We ate in the hotel first night as it was heavy rain and the food was ok. Can't think why they would want to paint the bedroom walls, doors and hallways a battleship grey as it does nothing for the ambience. Would we go back - probably as we spent very little time in the hotel room and the bed was very clean and comfortable. And they must have better, 'boutique' rooms somewhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you book through eg booking.com phone ahead and make sure you are getting the type of room you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BasilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

we had a 4 night stay here and thought it was very good! we had a sea view room everything was spotless, the breakfast was good too, we used the pool a few times, it was quiet just how we like it! the staff seemed a bit rushed off their feet, and the bar was a bit overpriced! would definatly stay here again in a sea view room of course!

Room Tip: a sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolShazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We hardly ever get away due to low income and little time so when we planned a one-night stay in Scarborough it was going to be a real treat. We booked via Late Rooms and the room, (priced at £89 for a late deal) was shown as usually being £150 a night. We were sure that, for that price, we would not be disappointed.

We arrived and our first impression was how tiny the reception area was, and our expectations diminished further as we made our way through the dull corridors and dingy lift to our room. Our sense of foreboding grew with every step and when we opened the door of the room I could have cried.

Smaller than our bedroom at home (in a terraced house!) with gross mud-coloured paint covering the walls, paintwork and radiators. This toned nicely with the orange and mud curtains and blue and white bathroom tiles. The beds were very low-quality and you could feel every spring.

The outlook was onto brick walls and it felt every inch a prison cell. A strong smell of food from the kitchens below filled the room and we knew that we couldn't stay.

Our plan of relaxing in a comfortable attractive room watching TV and just chilling out was just not going to happen (particularly as the telly was a tiny cheap portable one set to one side of the room so no chance of both of us being able to watch it in bed without getting stiff necks).

We complained to the recepionist (who was very nice indeed and far more suited to a better hotel) and she offered us a half-price upgrade. We viewed the second room which was bigger and better but still dingy and depressing. A number of flies buzzing round and the extra cost made us decide against this offer and we just got our money back and drove the two hours back home, the weekend completely spoiled.

We feel the cost of the room should be no more than £50 and sold as "budget accomodation" to avoid this type of disappointment. The idea of that room ever being £150 is unthinkable.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieMinx67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Booked hotel for our wedding anniversary. Looks great on their website but that's where it stops! We were in a pokey little room in a corner next to a storage cupboard which was open when we arrived and very smelly. Room was very dark and very hot. Decor very dated, not one of their refurbished rooms! The bathroom is very tired looking, basin had a huge crack in it, the bath panel was coming away from the bath and even the toilet seat colour had faded it was that old. There was a constant humming noise coming from the bathroom and it was not the extractor fan. There was a very noisy toilet in the room above us. The bed was two singles pushed together and the one side was sloping towards the floor, the headboard was very dusty and the side tables were sticky! We were next to the Zen garden and had to close the windows when we were not in the room as anyone could have climbed through the window from the garden into our room. The window was not frosted either, so the curtain had to be closed to stop people looking in. There were a few weddings going on and unfortunately the hotel staff do not have any control over the children who were guests. They had the full run of the hotel and were running around until 10h30 at night. They were playing in the Zen garden which has a sauna in it and were playing in that as well. They tried to open our door a few times and we tried to phone reception, only to find that the phone was filthy and didn't work anyway! We had to phone from our mobile to inform reception about the children, the respopnse was a very disinterested 'oh ok, I will come up'! Thankfully someone did come up and then locked the garden, which should actually have closed at 9h30pm!! The evening meal we had in the restaurant was lovely, but the service was very bad as we had to ask for drinks. The bar was not clean either and the tables are not cleared and cleaned regularly, we had to ask for someone to clean the table before we could have a drink. The spa area is very disappointing. It is very small, with tiny chaning rooms (only 3), the pool is very cold and the windows are not frosted so people from the outside can watch you swimming about! Once again the wedding party children were playing in there too and there were some outside looking in through the windows. Unsupervised children should not have access to the swimming pool - it's dangerous! The breakfast was not good, it was undercooked and cold. The staff appear to be very disorganised and uninterested. I would not recommend this hotel at all and will never stay here again, a total waste of money! I have not idea how they managed to get a three star rating, it doesn't deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Upon booking in given room 3. This is the basement room or 'The room with no View'. Large room with the biggest bed i have ever seen. Just one problem it was two beds shoved together forming Striding Edge down the middle of the bed. Television very old and made a buzzing noise could be upgraded. Other than this it was clean, tidy and the bath room or should i say the wet room was ok. This room was obviously adapted for a wheelchair, just a bit worried that it being in the basement just how quickly someone in a wheelchair would get out?
Realy quiet. During the stay there was a function and other than a few children running around the corridors, did not disturbe us at all.
Food good, Bar good but a bit pricy, Staff ok but not overly helpfull.
Overall a plesent stay.

Room Tip: Aviod room 3! 'The room with no view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice hotel. We had a two night stay and were given a nice room at the rear of the hotel. Had I been staying longer I would have wanted to move as there was no view. The room was clean and had been refurbished with new blinds, carpet and furniture. Bathroom fine with nice thick towels. Room location not ideal though. Had to walk through the restaurant to get there. Breakfast was substantial and well presented, staff pleasant. The hotel is in a good location, in a nice part of Scarborough but close to the town's nightlife to be able to walk in. I didn't use the spa but it looked good. This is what it is, an old building that is nicely kept, if you look for faults you will find them. It has a nice atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hotel and it deserves it's three stars

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a side view. These get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing