We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only 3* because of the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only 3* because of the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, the staff there were accommodating and cheerful. However be warned if you are under 60 this hotel may not be for you. It is situated at the far end of the town and the hills are very steep, we counted over 206 steps alone going down to the sea front. Which is okay going out but coming back can be tiring, so if you have any difficulties walking this is not the place to stay. The hotel condition is Very tired to say the least, and not the 3* we expected. We stay regularly with the Premier Inn for short breaks and their rooms are by far superior and at 1/2 the price. The only saving grace for this hotel is that the food is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    363
    230
    165
    131
See reviews for
197
611
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Service, friendliness and organization i received from all members of staff was second to none. nothing was too much trouble. it made our day so special and one we will never forget. the accommodation was clean, spacious and had the most amazing views.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked in only for one night - and the room was beautiful with the best sea view ever!
We found the staff lovely and helpful and although breakfast was not included in the price - we thought their choice of food was well thought out.
Would definetley recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humber1Hessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the Ambassador on Sat 15th, booked it last minute then read the reviews Urg, but was very pleasantly surprised, nice room, nice evening meal and drinks in the bar with entertainment from a singer. Breakfast was excellent and would definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pippy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked a sea view room with breakfast for £89 but shortly after arrival my wife and I were close to packing our bags and going home. We had just been told there were no more rooms available and we would have to stay in this dreadful gloomy room, painted in an industrial grey colour. It was only when a member of staff managed to jam open the window with a block of wood that we decided to stay. The room was small and grimy and a large dead moth by the bed which the cleaner had missed made us wonder what else had been overlooked. They reckon this hotel had a million pound update but it must have been spent on the spa and beauty side of it because the hotel is generally quite grubby throughout. Breakfast was a really poor experience. The service was shocking and the quality and choice of food was dismal. We regularly have hotel breaks and most of my reviews are very favourable but this hotel deserves a star for the view and that's it.

Room Tip: We noticed there were some bigger rooms also with a sea view and if we were forced to stay here agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjunajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

this hotel is superbly located with views over South bay which are worth paying extra for. The public areas are immaculate, the refurbished pool area is fantastic and the breakfast was lovely. Our executive room was newly decorated but a bit small, the bathroom was nothing special, but everything was lovely and clean. Did I mention the view?..... Overall a very happy stay :)

Room Tip: pick a sea view room and upgrade to the best rooms for more space if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11DLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here as part of a 4 night coach trip. First the good points.
The staff! With one exception they were great, young, willing to help, cheerful and didn't keep you waiting and were very accommodating.
The location! Also very good - away from the seaside glitz and "kiss me quick" kitsch - with great views over the bay.
Cleanliness too was generally good.
The food. Well cooked and reasonably presented but the prices according to the menu were high! A 3 course evening meal was £20.95. In some places this would seem reasonable but here, given the menu it was just over the top! [Sample menu. Starter - Pate. Main - Shepherds pie and vegetables. Dessert - Cheese cake. Coffee. If you wanted to replace the dessert with cheese and biscuits this cost an extra £3.00!]. Things degenerate from here!
The beds. Our mattress appeared to be new but was fashioned out of solid boards, no give and so poor sleep.
The rooms. Had we been paying full price (Internet quotes this as £130.00 per room per night) I would have been apoplectic. There was just 10 inches between the bed and the wall on each side. Two people could not pass comfortably at the foot. The en-suite was similarly very narrow and down a flight of 3 steps. The view out of the window on one side was the rubbish bins and the other lock up garages.
The term refurbished was used to describe the rooms, it should have been redecorated. The bathroom still had the old, in need of TLC, suite and the walls and tiles had be painted over with a cream coloured waterproof emulsion - beginning to peel in one place. The room, the corridors and most public places [walls, doors, woodwork] had been uniformly coated in the same indeterminate colour emulsion. It was depressing! Made me think of the old joke about battle ship grey paint!
Lastly the hotel indicates it has a lift. Yes it does but it only takes 2 people and their luggage at a time! This means that the stairs are used most of the time. This makes this hotel somewhat unsuitable for older people or those who have difficult climbing. We had 6 flights to negotiate to get to our room on the 3rd floor.
Would we stay here again? Preferably not!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdw1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing