We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

My party booked for the week end on line due to the great deal on offer..... and we were not disappointed! The chap on reception was very welcoming & chatty,as we had travelled through the snow to get there. We started off being fussy by asking if our 2 rooms could be near one another, to which we were given 4 room keys & told to choose which we wanted. We settled on 308 & 309. Both very lovely, clean spacious rooms. We did have a little hiccup with the heating in room 308 which was resolved quickly. Again the chap on the front desk very courteous, nothing too much trouble & job done with a smile.

Bed very comfy & warm. Bathrooms clean, hot brisk showers, soft clean towels.

We had bed, breakfast & evening meal. All meals were very nice, quick service & again nothing too much trouble.

Extra bonus of the spa & relax room. If I had to be picky.... the pool was a little bit cold (but we soon warmed up in the sauna), the window in 308 is a bit drafty and someone had eaten a meal in the relaxation room & it smelt of vinegar & chips.

But overal, a total bargain of a week end & can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    372
    236
    169
    132
See reviews for
199
631
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Pleasant Hotel, courteous staff nice food though a little overpriced as were the drinks.
Very clean everywhere a very nice room although a tad small for a double bedroom, but all in all I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask what size the rooms are, ours was on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel, having read some of the previous reviews I was a little dubious.we had a wonderful time! the room was clean and in order when we arived... the bathroom was dated as mentioned in previous reviews however how long do you spend in the bathroom when your away!! it was clean and functioning thats all that mattered!. we did have an issue with hot water however we contacted reception and they advised due to limited people in the hotel we would need to run the tap for 10 minutes till it heats up ... worked fine after that! we loved the spa and the mud rasul is a must. there is a small sauna, pool and showers and the hot tub is actually in the pool. it was very quiet while we where there so we had the place to ourselves. the beauty therapist was wonderful and very professional. we booked in our evening meal ( included with the package) and we were the only two in the resturant on the first evening, although we had to eat from a set menu we enjoyed it all the same! on the second night we ate from the normal menu and the food was delious. I wanted a cocktail from the menu I had spotted in the relaxation room, it wasnt on the normal menu however after a quick chat with the waitor he sorted this for us. we had a lovely time here and wouldnt hesitate to return. the staff were super friendly and nothing was a bother for them. a very relaxing break!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 622Amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I booked this online because of the offer that was presented, I had been to Scarborough for a day trip but not a break. I had intended to see the sights and travel on public transport to Robin Hood Bay, Whitby, Filey, York to name just a few but due to the adverse weather SNOW!! I was not able. The hotel had many amenities as a Spa but not for me!! It is situated only a brief walk from town, a pleasant walk following the coast path overlooking the bay nice when sunny.I only had bed, had to pay for my meals. I could of walked to the town for them as I had intended but a bit cold. Not much choice & expensive

Room Tip: I would of been content with my room if a fault had not developed with the flushing cistern on my fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichalandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here on New Year's Eve for the gala dinner, which was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, with good food and an excellent atmosphere. The hotel itself was very comfortable, with a great bar and extremely helpful, friendly staff. The only thing that left something to be desired was the swimming pool, which was a little too small, but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously and its in an excellent location with some good points such as the dining room and friendly helpful staff. However, once again, in my stay just before Xmas i was given a room that was well decorated apart from the bathroom. Same as previous, the bathroom was in a desperate need of modernising as it was tired, old and like something from a cheap guesthouse; most unappealing. There was also an intermittent electrical noise throughout the evening and night which after a while was rather annoying. The heating could also have been more effective.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrGYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after spending a lovely weekend at this Hotel. We booked one of the special January breaks of £99.00P and got a room with fabulous sea-view, a bottle of prosseco in our room and a good two course evening meal as well a good hearted breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. There was nothing to fault with this Hotel and we have been numerous times in the past and we will be back. Anyone thinking of booking this Hotel can't go far wrong. Well done everyone and many thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian1006_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing