We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - no complaints!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hull
1 review
“Lovely hotel - no complaints!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We were provided with dressing gowns, slippers and towels to use during our stay which was a nice touch. Room was a good size with plenty of storage. The view from the room was not brilliant so will book a sea view when we stay again. Room and hotel overall was clean and tidy and well presented. Food was lovely, no need to upgrade to the full breakfast as there was a lot of choice with the continental. Pool area small but sufficient with a sauna and nice shower and changing areas. Mud rasul treatment fantastic - book early for treatments to avoid disapointment. Relaxation room was lovely especially if you want some quiet time. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitly be returning.

Room Tip: Request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    372
    236
    169
    132
See reviews for
199
631
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a lovely break here,although the pictures on its website do it justice,it is a very nice hotel,some areas are are a little dated but the staff make it a lovely place to stay.The bar has a lovely atmosphere and the food was lovely too,we will book this hotel again,it was a lovely 2 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie72061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Me and my husband have just been to the ambassador for a wkend break which was most enjoyable,the room was clean but small,food and facillities were very good,would definatly return,but nxt time would book a seaview as not very good view fom our room,bar prices were fair and service was quick,all the staff were very polite,will be recommending this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We booked 2 nights in a double sea view room and expected it to look like the pictures advertising it on the website. We were disappointed. The room was extremely small - we had to move the chair to be able to walk past the bed. There was very little storage space and the wardrobes that were provided were poorly designed and didn't fit in a large coat hanger. The throw and curtains were stained and the carpet didn't fit properly around the edges. The bathroom was very dated and the shower was only luke warm. The bathroom radiator was thick with dust and the room was desperate for a lick of paint. The pool area was very small, although it was clean. There were only 2 communal changing rooms, which often meant waiting. We had the mud rasul, which was fantastic! The breakfast was great also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have stopped in the hotel before & posted a review with some comments & feed-back for this hotel, so we returned with that in mind.
The improvements are evident from the start. The receptionist greeted us in a warm and friendly manner and was very attentive, which put us in the right frame of mind from the start.
The room we stayed in was warm, well appointed and spotless, compliments to the cleaning lady, who we did meet and was a true "ambassador" for the hotel, she was great, nothing was too much trouble for her.
The room was spacious with a superb view. A couple of easy chairs by the window to relax in. Great bathroom with all the usual bits & bobs.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and once again the staff who served us were warm and friendly. The bar staff again were friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
Had a minor issue not worth a mention here other than when I did the raise the matter, staff jumped on it straight away and sorted the matter out, which further evidenced their commitment to making it a great stay.
Spoke to the Manager who again wanted us to enjoy our stay & would do whatever was needed to get it right.
The review is fairly short because there was nothing negative to say, the hotel management and staff have made improvements that were evident to us both.
I would definitely stay again and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJTonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After reading the reviews on here i was worried but i needn't have bothered. It was FANTASTIC!!! Bedroom was huge, clean and comfy. Bathroom was old but spotless. The staff were excellent, treatment rooms and therapist so professional. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and made our mornings. The mud rasul is definitely worth having with a partner it is hilarious!! We had breakfast and an evening meal one night which was of a very high standard. the wine was pricey but cocktails were B1G1F so it balanced out. We are going back to stay very soon.

Room Tip: Executive doubles are spacious and rooms near the zen garden are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just back from a 4 night break at the Ambassador,stayed in a double sea view room.Best to get a sea view with great sights over harbour and beach.Room was on the small size and looked a little worn,but the bed was clean and comfortable.Pool area clean,water nice and warm,jacussi,
sauna, all great to use.Breakfast was superb,buffet style,everything available even for the fussy
eaters.Staff friendly and efficient.Bar area inviting but drinks pricey.Did not use restaurant but it looked ok.Would go back to this hotel again but would go for the premier sea view.Parking near hotel difficult in Winter so must be a nightmare in Summer.

Room Tip: Premier sea view if you can afford one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,797 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing