We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, family friendly and amazing staff!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I grabbed a last minute break at the Ambassador with our young twins (16 months), as we were desperate for a break. The staff could not have been more helpful - they rallied around to aid us with our every need. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped (very good iron!). We had the most wonderful view over the bay (two large bay windows), which our twins spent a lot of time looking through.

The food was all delicious, both in the bar and restaurant for breakfast (we didn't try the restaurant at night). The cocktails (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were well made and the bar service was friendly and proficient.

The swimming pool was well kept, clean and entirely relaxing. Spare towels were provided for this purpose.

Whilst the hotel is not perfectly designed for kids (a few sharp corners etc), the staff made the break very easy. Our twins ran around the bar area, without causing too much upset. They could run around the room without concern. Also, there were many highchairs, so we weren't fighting for one and we were able to feed them in both the bar and the restaurant areas. As a bonus, our child monitor reached from the second floor to the bar/restaurant, so we could get out for the evening and enjoy a drink and meal!

Fabulous stay! I would recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: With young children, ask for a room over the bar for a monitor to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nercisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel fronts to the water and looks al the part with high windows and clean approach....stoooooop. Move away from the front door and go in the side to the reception. This will save you the difficulties of getting. Your luggage through the bar and narrow corridor. The reception provided a very competent briefing accompanied by a josh stick smell I personally do not care for. The hotel has a good pool down stairs so don't forget the trunks but no gym. A AR meal was very good but a dinner of fish and chips was a bit of a let down. Only street parking found and paid for by the hotel.
I believe this as with many other hotels will function better in season.
Plus: room snug but very quiet and comfortable
Minus: shower water hot/cold control in line with over painted decor.

A hotel with huge potential and excellent staff, ageing and the cracks showing in places. All said, nice to see these grand high ceiling buildings are still put to good use and not pulled down in favour of development.
Come the summer I believe this would be ideally positioned and very acceptable as long as the chips are improved, the rest for the price is right.
Nice surprise to see Matt kelly of TV presentation fame taking his ease at breakfast..

Enjoy all the hotel has o offer and I suggest Scarborough may be a great say. Go out of season to work and hotels like this are adequate.

Room Tip: At £89 my room was very quiet facing the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Just had 2 night break at a very good price which included breakfasts and meal on first night, food very good but if paying seperate, a bit overpriced. Restaurant & bar area is nicely decorated and service good, staff pleasent and polite. Young girl on reception very efficient, others a bit slow. Had room 109, nicely decorated but no view which spoiled it, would have sea view if went again. Spa facilities good, new relaxation lounge excellent, Zen garden would be better if had a glass roof, will definitely go again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterfield14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We recently visited the Ambassador Sap Hotel for lunch with the view of perhaps staying there. I was most impressed with the spaciousness of the dining area and it was lovely for our little granddaughter to wander around freely . We were waiting for our son to arrive as he was popping out from the University during his classes to join us for lunch before we set off back home to Scotland. The wait for lunch was unbelievable and considering we only ordered up simple paninis it was too ridiculous for words the length of time we had to wait resulting in our son having to rush his lunch and get back to his students. Not pleasant when you have a little hungry toddler. I have to say the lunch was lovely and beautifully presented I asked to see the rooms and lady was more than obliging very pleasant and helpful. The rooms my daughter in law and myself were shown were really lovely spacious ones with a fantastic sea view. Having come home and looked up the cost, far too expensive for us considering we go down to Scaborough every 6 weeks or so. .

Room Tip: Never stayed in a room had a look at several of them very spacious lovely sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just back from two nights stay at the Ambassador. We treated ourselves to a premier deluxe room which had the greatest sea view which couldn't be spoiled by the appalling weather. The room itself couldn't be faulted, the food in the restaurant was just great and very generous portions. The only think stopping me giving five stars was the size of the pool - very narrow and no separate jaccussi, but this slight disappointment was offset by the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff I came into contact with. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Me and my mum had a joint mothers day and b.day celebration for a mud rasual. When we arrived, we was asked to go in a room and wait for spa assistance, an hour later some-one arrives witha glass of water (we had not been asked if we would like any refreshments or assistance). We get told to go down a corridor to get changed we arrive in the tiniest changin room woth 2 changers and not get told it was uni-sex until a man walked in on us!! We did not get told where to go for the mud rasual, and when we finally got shown it was a tiny dark, grubby little room with mould and no-where to put our towels and slippers. We didn't feel relaxed at all, when it started steaming the room was that small it burnt my leg and when the water came out to rinse the mud it was freezing. We got told this was a 45min treatment and only lasted 20mins, we were both very upset that we left. As we tried telling the receptionist we found the lack of communication waa very poor!!! Would not recomend this treatment it was very stresfull than relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank matthew duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We were provided with dressing gowns, slippers and towels to use during our stay which was a nice touch. Room was a good size with plenty of storage. The view from the room was not brilliant so will book a sea view when we stay again. Room and hotel overall was clean and tidy and well presented. Food was lovely, no need to upgrade to the full breakfast as there was a lot of choice with the continental. Pool area small but sufficient with a sauna and nice shower and changing areas. Mud rasul treatment fantastic - book early for treatments to avoid disapointment. Relaxation room was lovely especially if you want some quiet time. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitly be returning.

Room Tip: Request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £54 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing