We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Scarborough stay here”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We found this hotel after we decided not to stay at the Grand. The staff were absolutely marvellous. We were given a warm welcome and a complimentary upgrade. The room was clean and comfortable. We were also given directions to several restaurants as, by the time we arrived, the kitchen had closed. I would say don't eat at the Mexican restaurant down the road. The service was appalling. The following morning I had received a call to say my burglar alarm at home had gone off. Once more the staff were fantastic. They let me use the hotel computer to sort things out. The hotel is also flexible on checkout, offering you a range of options though this might be different in the summer. All in all we had a a lovely stay. Thank you to all the staff. Note to the owners and management: pay them what they deserve!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here on Friday with a friend for a little spa break as a treat for her birthday. We paid £79 for bed, breakfast & evening meal which is a great price and we booked spa treatments separately. From the outside the hotel looks quite nice and has a great spot on the seafront in the quiet side of Scarborough. The lady on reception was very welcoming and she provided us with a parking permit to allow us to park on the street. The room although small was very cold but otherwise was ok however a little tired especially the bathroom and the view was disappointing as it was onto buildings but we did not go to stay in our room! Included in the price was a bottle of Prosecco, in an ice bucket left in the room. Very nice touch! We went for lunch in the pleasant bar and my friend had the Thai fish cakes which were spongy and unpleasant whilst I had the pate which consisted of two very small slices and came with one of those 'par-baked, bake yourself' rolls and no butter. There was just enough pate to cover the roll however at £7 it seemed a tad expensive and not at all special. We both agreed that the salad that accompanied lunch was nice. We chose not to complain as we had gone there to chill! Dinner in the evening which was included in the price was a set menu of four choices for starter & main. We both went for the chicken and bacon salad which was a large mound of chunks of cold chicken & bits of bacon smothered in mayonnaise (like a sandwich filling) - plentiful but a bit tasteless however salad nice again. We did not fancy any of the main choices so instead chose off the main menu at an extra charge and both went for the lamb shank. This was cooked perfectly, served with mash and almost raw veg. The lamb was very nice but again the meal was just not special. We had two cocktails with dinner which were special! Staying with the food, the buffet breakfast was very good and plentiful. Overall although the food was below average, we would have been more than happy to pay the price we paid for just b&b!

Now to the Spa. The pool is lovely and there is a relaxation room where you can chill - we could also have had lunch in there - wish we had known! We had booked four treatments, however they kindly squeezed my friend in for an eyebrow tidy even though they were very busy. We had our first treatments in the same room together but it was a very pleasant room and the beauticians were really lovely girls. I had a facial which was very nice and my friend went for the slim treatment. One of the beauticians had collared my friend earlier saying that her treatment should be taken as a course (no mention of this on Spa menu description) and when we arrived she asked her if she was going ahead with it. She had booked an hour treatment so said yes. She felt like the beautician was not familiar with the process of the treatment and was almost winging it! The description mentioned a massage which never happened and my friend was very very disappointed. Both our treatments were supposed to last an hour however as they were running behind we went in 10mins late and finished at least 5mins early!! I paid £45 for my treatment & my friend £55 so not exactly value for money however must reiterate that I did enjoy my treatment. We had an appointment later in the day - me for an evening make-up and my friend for an hour pedicure. We had a call to say that the appointment had been moved as running late which was ok although we were surprised as our treatments had been cut short earlier. Again I had no complaints and the beautician gave me some good tips. This time we were again together but in a tiny room which was more than a little crowded. The beautician said to my friend that because of the messing around with appointment times she would only charge her £20 instead of £35 which we thought was very generous however the appointment then only lasted half an hour if that. There was no foot spa, just straight on to removing dead skin, a quick massage and then painting nails. When she had finished she said she would knock some more off the price as not full time. This was good of her, however my friend booked an hour's pedicure and was more than prepared to pay for it! It was obvious that they had more bookings than they could deal with and we felt we suffered for that.

Overall the hotel rooms were comfortable but tired - money had been spent on the public areas though and the deal for the hotel was a very good price but the food apart from breakfast was very disappointing. The Spa was also disappointing and expensive for what was offered even if we had had our full quota! Won't be returning which us a shame as the staff were great!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank pxbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely relaxing day. Staff were great and couldn't do enough for you. The mud razul was brilliant. Booking again!! The facilities were good and enjoyed everything about the day including lunch in the relaxation room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bettyboodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on Oct 25th 2013. The hotel decor is nothing spectacular. However, the staff were very friendly. We had a massage, facial and mud spa as well as using the spa facilities all day. Quite reasonable prices. The only negative was the fact that our room was in the basement. The mud room was directly next door so we could always hear people. Will consider visiting for another treat in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank dialexlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Went as part of a 21st birthday group in January 2014. Six of us in total.
Arrived with great expectations and a fun afternoon in mind after buying the spa, prosecco and antipasti deal for 2 for £39.
We were shown around the spa by a member of staff and told to ring the bell when we wanted our prosecco and antipasti.
Got changed in the very small changing area, just two cubicles and a toilet, complete with empty vodka bottle :/
We all made our way to the pool area and got in to find it was absolutely freezing and the majority of the esplanade could see us in the pool. Hardly relaxing when you have the general public gawping through the windows. We also have trouble with a large group of school aged children running up and down corridors and attempting to gain access to the pool area.
We got out of the pool and decided to get in the sauna to warm up. We were greeted with a small 'shed' probably bought from argos, it was a good temperature just very small.
The hydrotherapy foot spas were no more than a sink for you feet. No bubbles, cold water etc.
We decided to go upstairs to the relaxation took which was lovely and spacious. Our prosecco was brought through in good time. We had to buzz again to remind the staff to bring our antipasti which turned out to be bread and butter, carrot and celery sticks, a cut up block of cheddar and some Danish salami. We ordered additional drinks which also took around half an hour to arrive.
All in all, very glad we didn't pay full price. They should maybe look into frosting the windows in the pool area, adding some hydrotherapy to the foot 'sinks' and maybe redefining 'antipasti'. But hey, we had a fun afternoon, more due to the company than the facilities!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rach2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This Esplanade hotel incorporates very good Spa facilities. Restaurant service is excellent and I would commend Sarah for her outstanding service which lifts your perception of the hotel. The only issue are the Gents toilets on the ground floor which need greater ventilation as the ammonia smell permeates the area around reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Ambassador was very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. We felt at home. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly or polite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going again. We didn't try any of the spa treatments for no other reason than we are not used to doing things like that, maybe we'll try that next time. I didn't try the pool because, silly me forgot my costume. But we had a great time. Beautiful view, but a long up and down walk to the town and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weneedholidays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £54 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing