We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly relaxing but ok for £25pp”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

As a surprise for my sisters 30th I purchased 2 vouchers off Groupon for 8 of us to enjoy a relaxing day including a mud rasu treatment l, glass of prosecco, nibbles and the use of facilities. For what worked out at £25 per person it was a rather good deal however it was hardly relaxing. Workmen all over. Drilling and constant banging is not what I call relaxing. I understand maintainence needs to be done but surely not when you have put out a Groupon deal and know you are going to be busy.
The staff seemed not to cope too well with a party of 8. We were kind of left to our own devices.
A nail technician stated my sister could have her nails done at 12 noon but double booked herself and didn't have the decency to tell her until we actually enquired at 1:20pm.
The nibbles were lovely and better than expected. All in all It was a good deal at £25 and would return but preferably when the workmen aren't there!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sallysaxo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. It was a lovely break and we found the location perfect for us, a 10 min walk away from the centre or a short taxi ride. Our 2nd floor room was a little on the small side and disappointing for the price we paid but the decor was quite nice, the bathroom could have done with a refurbishment but it was clean. The bar area was nice and the staff throughout the whole hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had a 3 course meal upon our arrival and we enjoyed it, didn't find it at all bland like some other reviews. We also has a lunchtime snack in the bar area which was huge! The breakfasts were your standard type self service breakfast. We used the pool which was small but nice and also the sauna (which had a sign saying our of order but many people were in and out of it and it seemed to work fine). Didn't venture onto the rooftop zen garden as the weather was a little rough! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return if we found a cheaper deal than we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayr721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Yes the edges are a bit shabby and the food is rather bland but for the price the location, upgrade (a bonus of going out of season), facilities, spa, relaxation room, zen garden (with outdoor sauna) and staff make up for all that. The decor is modern throughout and we really enjoyed our stay for the second year running. I'd recommend looking for Groupon/Wowcher deals where you get 2 - 3 nights with dinner and breakfast thrown in for £150 - 170. You really can't argue with that can you? Our daughter is 3 years old and she goes free with that. She loved every moment and the staff didn't mind her toddler ways either.

Thank you again Ambassador Spa Hotel for the happy memories you provided.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are out of season/arrive on a week night, wait until no one else is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I paid for this for a present to my other half & we weren't very impressed. and I am not fussy.
We weren't briefed on the spa at all so wasn't sure what to do about our free treatment or even how to get to the spa - we had to ask.
The room 107 was cold & smelt funny as we walked through the door, I'm guessing it was damp. We had a view of a skip outside the window. The bathroom was poorly decorated & my boyfriend found it hard to run a bath with the taps being very stiff. The tv was very old with a box plonked on top of it & it took us ages to find channels that actually worked.
We got woke up early in the morning by music playing from the restaurant downstairs which we were directly above.
We didn't bother with the spa as whilst we were there we looked at a different spa in the area which was around the same price but more modern with much Better reviews. I should of done my research better.
The receptionist didn't ask how our stay was when We checked out otherwise I would of mentioned these things.
I am not usually a complainer because like I said I'm not a fussy person. But it was not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachythinkpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Me and my partner stay overnight every year as tradition. We booked a cheap deal including breakfast and dinner. When we arrived staff were friendly and welcoming and we went straight im the pool. The sauna was broken but there is another one in the zen garden that works well. However the whole pool area nneds a VERY GOOD SCRUB! Black scum in the sink amd im corners etc. The relaxation room was lovely had a fiah finger sandwich of gourmet standards! There was a very rpqdy hen party in giving the poor young waiter grief and unnecessary complaints and he hamdled it very well as they were just plain rude. Our room had a nice view and was clean but the bathroom really needs redecoration. The tiles needed fixing etc. Evening meal was fine gravy was very salty though and when we heard the chef being told was heard him swearing in response! Lovely! Breakfast was good and overall we had a good night not as good as last year however. Of it had a good clean it would make all the difference. Will still be back though!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forrestgump101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here last march, so impressed that booked 2 nights 7th & 8th Feb this year...How standards have dropped! First off the room, 109..as soon as we opened the door , the smell of damp overwhelmed us!! Doesnt management check the standards? I went straight to reception where I was given a different room straightaway. That room was warm and comfortable & good decor, unfortunatly, the bathroom does not match the quality of the room. Had specifically booked this hotel for the spa facilities so was very annoyed to find a notice on the sauna door stating it was broken and that the temperature of the pool was way too cool. It is February & freeezing outside, Doesnt management check the standards? Asked at reception about sauna & was told it had only just broke & they were waiting for a part! I looked on Trip Advisor & it was obvious the sauna had been out of action for about a week!! Also said they would check temperature of water but it stayed the same. As part of this deal we had an evening meal included. Had a choice of about 3 items. Had soup ..way too thick and salty, Followed by steak and ale pie... we were presented with a plate full of tinned meat with a portion of puff pastry in the middle..was disgusting. What a shame that management have let the standards of this hotel drop so dramatically, ......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterfield14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

First off, there is ample parking for this hotel! From the hotel up, you can park for free, we got parked outside the front door which made it easy.

We got checked in, although had a delay getting our key due to a problem with the door lock. Staff brought us a cuppa in the lovely bar area to put us on, much appreciated.

First floor room was very warm and cosy. Lots of space and a nice comfy double bed, nice bathroom with big bath & shower.

The view was incredible, straight out to the sea, Scarborough also clearly visible to the left, got some nice photos.

About a mile walk from the harbour, although mostly downhill, close enough to the town centre / train station to walk to and from but tiring up that hill!

Didn't have time to check out the spa facilities or Zen garden, shame as they both looked impressive.

Didn't manage to sample the food but restaurant looked lovely.

All in all, 4/5, would've been a 5 but location not best for walking, and the issue with the door key not being ready. Would recommend and come again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £36 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing