We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We chose this for my birthday as I wanted a spa weekend. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The pool/spa was very relaxing and we was lucky enough to use this later so we was the only ones in there (after 7 is the best time). The night porter is such a lovely man and made both our nightsin the hotel bar very enjoyable. The rooms and the hotel over all are spotless. Really can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    363
    230
    165
    131
See reviews for
197
611
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Checked in late for my overnight stay at this hotel, lovely polite reception team. My room was only a basic one but was very well furnished and spacious. Just been refurbished with a super new carpet, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.
Had a couple of pints of larger at bar which was very good quality, obviously the pipes etc are well maintained.
A very quiet and good nights rest woken only by the seagulls !! but must say been a city dweller it was a pleasure.
Excellent breakfast, and on this particular day it was a glorious sunny day, and what a view from the restaurant bay window as I enjoyed my full English.
Would definitely stay again just sorry it could not have been longer on this occaision.

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here as part of groupon offer for a couples weekend plus mud treatment. On 7th feb 2012.
My partner decided to upgrade thee room and we were able to check out the sea view ones and choose which was great. It had tea and coffee etc and plenty of space.
The room overlooked the front and had a bath en-suite in black and white tiling. Room 15 I think it was. The characteristic room had new built in wardrobes which weren't in keeping with the age of the building, unlike the bathroom which looked in the right sort of style. The room didn't look finished after a refurbishment but was clean and tidy although I found a blood stain on the mattress protector.
We had some lunch there. I'd waited at the bar to order for around 5 minutes never once being acknowledged by the bar staff. This was one female with a plaster on her nose who looked miserable all the time we saw her sorry to say. Someone else came to the bar and took my order eventually. Just to have her say hello to acknowledge me would have been better customer service.
I had Thai fish cakes and my partner had chicken breast burger.
The knife I was given was dirty, there were drink splashes up the wall where we sat but I loved some of the pictures dotted around and some of the decoration. it seems to be almost fully refurbished? The fish cakes looked like they had freezer burn but tasted ok. They didn't seem freshly made. They were small cakes about the size of a viscount biscuit. I was disappointed in them. My partner said the chicken burger made him feel ill later so it because of this we went out for tea.
The rest of the staff are all lovely and answered all our queries with a smile and positivity.
We had the mud treatment which was a right laugh. We had to apply 3 types of mud to ourselves then step in the sauna rasul room where we baked for 10 mins. The steam softens the mud so you can rub it in better but we made a right mess and the place looked like a rugby team had been in there. After 10 mins the rainwater comes and washes the mud off. We had to have a few drinks of water and step outside a few times as it was hot but well worth it and funny. Our skin felt great after too. We told the receptionist we had made a mess and she was fine about it. We did noticed the spa area was a bit messy with robes and cast off slippers we customers are all provided with. The place must have been busy and certainly there were lots of couples and groups enjoying the spa all weekend.
We also had massages here in one of the treatment rooms. The lights were low, the music calming, the massager amazing. I had been booked in for a soothing massage but as the practitioner found a knot in my shoulder she manipulated this area which I was grateful for. I would recommend both these treatments!
The room was mega warm during the night so we had to open a window despite having turned down the radiator. It was freezing outside so initially the heat is great.
The upstairs occupant walked around a lot so we heard floor boards creak regularly but the building is old and characterful so we didn't mind this.
When we used the over bath shower the waterfall bath tap, situated in the middle of the wall just above the bath, banged our knees as it sticks too far out so this could be a hazard and i missed s near slice. The bathroom mirror had a section of it missing so a little attention to detail is missing.
However the complimentary bath products are fantastic. Beautifully packaged like French rustic boutique products, they smelt great and very usable. We would have bought these if they were on sale. They were all herbs and flowers like sage and nettle, oranges n lovely smells etc.
We went to breakfast in the characterless dining room it were greeted but a charming, lovely girl who acted as maitre de. She was great and came across as genuine, friendly and a credit to the hotel. This girl should be the one on the bar with a pay rise too.
We ordered a full English but sadly it didn't taste great to us so we felt bad for leaving it, and the lovely girl was very diplomatic when taking away our near full plates. We enjoyed the continentsl breakie though.
The toilets near the dining area also smelt like damp sometimes during the stay.
The pool was usable and had a timed jacuzzi feature too so we liked this bit, plus there was no one in at that time.
The room garden is a slight exaggeration on words and could do with a freshen but there is a sauna thing here which we never used.
Just a point regarding confidentiality, when we filled in our medical questionnaire for the treatments, it was left on the table in the relax room when we were taken downstairs for the treatment which is poor confidentiality and data protection.
We would stay again regardless of any faults we personally may have found as we left feeling great, relaxed and unwound so for this reason it was worth overlooking the odd imperfection.

Room Tip: All we saw when choosing were similar style decoration just different in size. The sea views are obv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebraprintbikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

A lovely corner hotel in the very quiet South Cliff area of Scarborough. It is not the most modern of hotels but its clean and has all the facilities that you need for a short break. If there is a deal on offer here for this hotel and its less than £60 per room per night you have got a great bargain

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetuan22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived around 6pm and were given a room without a sea view but on asking, a sea view room was available for an extra £10 a night which we considered well worth it as if booked on line, you would pay double this amount for a sea view room. The view from the window was
beautiful. Car parking was free outside the hotel with a permit from reception. Room, although small was clean, with modern furniture and had everything we needed. Bathroom was a little on the small side so if on the large side, make sure you book a bigger room. Towels changed daily and were large bath sheets which is always nicer than smaller bath towels. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment, but had we stayed longer, we would have tried the restaurant. Again, the spa facilities looked excellent but we only stayed two nights but would try some treatments if staying longer which we hope to do later on in the year. Nice toiletries in the bathroom, including hair shampoo and conditioner. My first visit to Scarborough and I was very impressed with the town, the beach and the cleanliness of the streets. Ample cafes and restaurants to eat in. March is a bit chilly on the north coast, but will try again in June. Town centre has lots of shops with all the usual high street names and a few independent interesting shops to browse in.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itismehdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have just had another pleasant 4-day break in Scarborough and found the Ambassador Hotel to be providing the same level of service as always - just what we need. Reception was fast and efficient and the room exactly as ordered. Our meals could not be faulted and their breakfast was exactly what we needed to ease us into another day of holidaymaking. The small army of young ladies on their staff always seemed to be there just when needed, The only slight unfavourably observation I might make is that their bar prices seemed a little ambitious - but they did have a wonderful selection!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum visited here for the weekend for spa treatment we both felt so relaxed after it all .very good value for your money ... Very clean and lovely food ... My family and friends will be visiting again. Week trying different treatments wen we go back and tbd ones we do e back massage and facial steam swimming very relaxing we definitely visit again .. And telling people to go .

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ince34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing