We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault anything”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Beverley
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Can't fault anything”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night break in this lovely hotel. The rooms were comfortable and very clean with fluffy towels which were replaced and crisp bed linen. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided too. We had breakfast and dinner whilst we were there, both of which were delicious and the service was top notch. All the staff were very pleasant . An added bonus was some entertainment on the second night which we enjoyed. A good hotel which I would recommend and hopefully will return for a longer stay next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirlBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    376
    239
    171
    132
See reviews for
202
643
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely nights stay at the ambassador hotel and have to say we weren't disappointed! Beautiful views, stunning suite, helpful staff and good value for money! The roof top zen garden is beautiful and would be really nice to sit in the summer. Breakfast included in the room price and I am vegetarian and found plenty of choice. It is about a twenty minute walk into the harbour but it's a lovely walk and you can take the cliff lift if you wish. Would definatly recommend and we will be returning. Also dougie stewart provided a good evenings entertainment! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgems4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for my parents 50th wedding anniversary party. The family room was good, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was nice (although could of had more cereal selection for the kids). Staff where friendly and helpful.
The party on the Saturday evening was held in the function room for 50+ people and was really good, the food was excellent (especially the sea bass) and evening went without a hitch. Kieran organised the event for my parents and he did a great job.
Have also enjoyed a spa day here on a different occasion, although the spa area is a tad small it was clean and lovely and the afternoon tea was really delicious - huge prawn sandwiches, a yummy scone and some nice little cakes. Again the staff where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireB40971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the ambassador for three nights last weekend and we had a brilliant time, the food and drinks were delicious and very reasonably priced, we enjoyed treatments and used the spa and the facilities were clean and lovely. Rooms were very clean and the sea view was so beautiful. We enjoyed a short walk to the town center, visited the castle and enjoyed a drink in a little quirky pub called scalby mills! Lots to do!! Will defiantly be visiting again!! The staff at the ambassador couldn't have been more friendly and helpfull!! We will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1R5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was really good value (a special offer), staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent at dinner and breakfast, rooms clean and nicely decorated, comfy beds, spa area very relaxing and not over busy. Will no doubt be back (hopefully very soon).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went here for an afternoon tea treat for Mothers Day. Arrived and there was no staff around, After waiting a few minutes at the bar still no one came so I had to call out into the back to alert someone to my presence. A young man came out and I said I had a table booked he asked the name and handed me menus while still standing at the bar and asked me to pick a sandwich filling for my afternoon tea!!? Bearing in mnd the place was virtually empty and I had just arrived with my coat still on and wasn't even asked if I would like to be seated. I said would you mind if I sit down and have a look at the menu? He agreed and said we could sit anywhere. We chose our fillings and type of bread and he left. When the cake stand came with afternoon tea it looked like it was only enough for 1 person and they charg £20 and that's supposed to serve 2. We were actually sharing between 3 as we thought it might be huge but no such luck. There were 3 small strips of sandwich per person (made from 1 sandwich). A tiny teeney choc eclair, a tiny choc cookie with a blob of piped ganache and a plain one with an orange blob. Each no bigger than a 10p piece. And the scone - It looked good and it was my most eagerly anticipated part of the afternoon tea. It came already put together with the jam spread inside and cream piped in too. But at first bite I knew there was something wrong. The cream if you can call it that was the most disgusting I have ever had in my life. I was the wrong texture for fresh cream, it actually tasted like american cake frosting with a very strong fake vanilla flavour. I couldn't eat it. We drunk the tea which was ok (about the only part that was) and went to pay the bill. I enquired what the cream was in the scones and the lady said I'll go and ask the chef. She came back and told me it was 'Chantilly' cream - she had difficulty pronouncing it. Chantilly cream is basically fresh usually whipped double cream sweetened with icing sugar. This most definitely was NOT chantilly cream. I said how I couldn't eat it and it didn't taste right but no apology was offered. The jam was inferior quality and didn't really taste of anything, the scone I think was bought it and just fell apart when you picked it up. I was so disapointed and hungry and £20 lighter. Won't be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear J S,

Thank you for talking the time to post your review, I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the service and afternoon tea on this occasion. If you would like to contact me directly at the Hotel then I would very much like the opportunity to address your concerns.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Kieren Moore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

58 friends and relatives invited to our "bash" at the Ambassador. There is only one mark we can give this hotel, there is no doubt that 100% is not enough. EVERYTHING was just perfect from our arrival at reception to our departure, with a special thank you to Keiren for his very personal and professional organization of our celebrations. It was a very emotional weekend for us and we will be indebted for ever to the Ambassador for this addition to our happy memories.

John and Jennifer Wedge.

Room Tip: we had 208, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing