We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT stay at THE ambassador spa hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GREAT stay at THE ambassador spa hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned home from a 3nt stay at this hotel . Booked a sea-view room AND what a view all across the bay ! PLUS POINTS Room lovely food great , given free parking disc to park in the streets near hotel , staff very friendly , rooms kept clean , good curtesy tray plenty tea,coffee, biscuits , outside seating in the garden . MINUS points NONE . Look forward to the next stay .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyQBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    355
    226
    161
    130
See reviews for
196
593
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the hotel is good, away from the amusements and more touristy attractions and I think it is relying on its "Spa" status too much. We didn't make use of the spa facilites but there were plenty of people that did, so I assume that must be ok.

We stayed in a double room "with sea view". It did have a sea view if you stood at the window and looked out, however my interpretation of sea view is that the sea should be able to be seen while at least sitting down even if while lying in bed is a bit too optimistic! Our first impression was that the room was absolutely tiny. On further inspection it was grubby (the wall by the waste bin where others had thrown their tea bags was stained with tea drips!), had poorly finished decor and the bathroom was awful. Not exactly dirty, but considering the hotel blurb says that all the bathrooms are Boutique (even if the rooms are not), we were very dissapointed to say the least. The paintwork was chipped around the door frame and there was a piece of laminate worktop glued to the shelf above the cistern with three bottles of toiletries, a shower cap and two plastic cups wrapped in plastic. This was not appealing, neither was the unfinished chipboard backing in the under sink cupboard. The electric shower was very powerful which was the saving grace.

We had tried to book one of the better rooms but had been told that this was the last room available so decided to book it on the strength of reviews and the hotel website.

Obviously only the best rooms are photographed for the website and we are fully aware of this, however there was nothing about our room that was special - not even a flat screen t.v. which is unbelievable these days, especially in such a poky room. I feel that if they are letting this room (311) then they should make their guests aware that it is definitely not a Boutique room.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 311 unless you are happy with a small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnStorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We found the hotel by chance and have been back 3 times with our young family. The sea view is out of this world. The spa facilities are excellent (great pool and treatments are relaxing) and it is lovely to relax in the bar.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nercisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have just recently returned from Scarborough staying at the Ambassador hotel. This is my second time there i cannot fault it. The staff are very friendly and couldnt do more if they tried. The room i stayed in was 210 it is a large room with a king size bed in and twin beds that can be made into double. There was myself daughter and grandaughter. On arrival there was a bottle of wine awaiting in the room chilled i might add. A very nice touch . The breakfast is a buffet one which is lovely. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and will be returning . Oh 1 big plus is the Spa.Overall very pleasant stay. This was just for 1 night Good Friday.

Room Tip: My tip go for room 210 gorgeous with beautiful views over Scarborough & he sea. Its a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lappylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

booked in for an overnight stay, made use of the pool, which was nice, sauna, and had a massage which was very good. the room was okay, small and compact, but as I travelled alone this was fine. it did have a shower, if I had known I would have looked for a room with a bath, as I do prefer a bath - i'll remember next time. very pleasant staff. nice bar meal, reasonably priced. overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Ambassador Spa last weekend for one night in room 109. The hotel is in a decent location, it is a short walk to the main areas of Scarborough. Parking is available outside the hotel on the main road, and you get a disc to allow you to park for a certain time period (unlimited in the evening, 3 hours in peak).

The staff at the hotel were pleasant, and I generally found the hotel to be clean and tidy. We also had no issues sleeping, the bed was comfortable and we experienced no noise from other rooms.

Alas we had a few gripes though would would affect returning:

1. The window for our room was facing a brick wall, not optimal for a seaside resort.
2. The bathroom fittings were of poor quality, old shower, poor grouting, browning on the underneath of the toilet seat (I should note it was clean though, just dated).
3. The TV was the old CRT style from the 90s, you don't see many of those anymore
4. Breakfast was not included with the room, and they charge an outrageous £15 pounds for breakfast separately. It's £3.50 - £5 average in Scarborough for a decent full English!
5. The tea making facilities were cheap, Typhoo tea and plain digestives / custard creams, you usually get much nicer than that in Hotels I've found.

We didn't try the pool / Spa so I can't comment on those, maybe they make more of an effort there. With the room, they do unfortunately seem to cut a few corners in terms of quality in places, which would be easily remedied. I've certainly experienced nicer hotels for around the price I paid.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, our window faced a wall, maybe the more expensive rooms have sea views and I would e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Polite and professional service. Wonderful swimming pool with great sauna and hot showers. We had a delicious supper and huge breakfast. 2 huge bedrooms both with 2 king size beds. £40 off our evening meal all for £99. Brilliant. Sarah was especially good in the restaurant. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing