We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
315
398
268
184
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
398
268
184
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and saunaspa facilitieslovely hotelbay windowself servicethe cliffone night staybuffet styleplenty of choicestreet parkingmy muma lovely stayfull englishtown centretea and coffeecooked breakfastsea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a spa and mud treatment for my mother-in-law and myself for Mother's Day. The relaxation room was the same room where people ate, and people were coming and going it was freezing cold and wide open windows to the road, not exactly relaxing. Only 2 changing cubicles , toilet doors didn't lock and very much lack of facilities and very small and cramped. No water to drink available. Very disappointed indeed, will not be returning.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent Spa Day at the Ambassador Spa Hotel, I am sorry that your experience fell below the expected standard.

I am sorry that you were not comfortable in the relaxation room; the windows in the relaxation room are not usually opened, perhaps a fellow guest opened them, I do apologise that you felt cold. I am also sorry if the supply of water from the dispenser in the relaxation room was exhausted whilst you were using the room. I would like to assure you that windows would have been closed and water replenished during one of our routine checks of the room, or upon request.

I would also like to apologise that you were unable to lock the door to the toilet in the Spa, the lock had seized and our maintenance team have now fixed this fault. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

It is always disappointing to find that our facilities have fallen below our guests expectations and we continually strive to make improvements to our offering.

If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel then I would welcome the opportunity to address your concerns and resolve this matter.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Kieren Moore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I came here for our mini honeymoon (minimoon).

We were greeted by Corinne on reception, who was friendly, polite and welcoming. We were upgraded for free to a fantastic room with a seaview balcony. Though the bathroom was a bit on the small side and the balcony needed a clean, we were thrilled with the room, which was clean, comfy and generously sized.

The spa facilities were well maintained, and the bar and restaurant had a nice ambience and good food (though the service in both was a bit lacking at times).

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, and would recommend the hotel, especially to couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyingswansong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Ambassador Spa over Easter. It was good value and in a great part of town close to the beach and a few minutes walk from the centre. We had a double sea view room which was clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and always smiling!
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned home from a 3nt stay at this hotel . Booked a sea-view room AND what a view all across the bay ! PLUS POINTS Room lovely food great , given free parking disc to park in the streets near hotel , staff very friendly , rooms kept clean , good curtesy tray plenty tea,coffee, biscuits , outside seating in the garden . MINUS points NONE . Look forward to the next stay .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyQBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the hotel is good, away from the amusements and more touristy attractions and I think it is relying on its "Spa" status too much. We didn't make use of the spa facilites but there were plenty of people that did, so I assume that must be ok.

We stayed in a double room "with sea view". It did have a sea view if you stood at the window and looked out, however my interpretation of sea view is that the sea should be able to be seen while at least sitting down even if while lying in bed is a bit too optimistic! Our first impression was that the room was absolutely tiny. On further inspection it was grubby (the wall by the waste bin where others had thrown their tea bags was stained with tea drips!), had poorly finished decor and the bathroom was awful. Not exactly dirty, but considering the hotel blurb says that all the bathrooms are Boutique (even if the rooms are not), we were very dissapointed to say the least. The paintwork was chipped around the door frame and there was a piece of laminate worktop glued to the shelf above the cistern with three bottles of toiletries, a shower cap and two plastic cups wrapped in plastic. This was not appealing, neither was the unfinished chipboard backing in the under sink cupboard. The electric shower was very powerful which was the saving grace.

We had tried to book one of the better rooms but had been told that this was the last room available so decided to book it on the strength of reviews and the hotel website.

Obviously only the best rooms are photographed for the website and we are fully aware of this, however there was nothing about our room that was special - not even a flat screen t.v. which is unbelievable these days, especially in such a poky room. I feel that if they are letting this room (311) then they should make their guests aware that it is definitely not a Boutique room.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 311 unless you are happy with a small room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnStorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews