We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - contempory room with fantastic view, v friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel - contempory room with fantastic view, v friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Had a great stay at The Ambassador - recommended to us by friends and it didn't disappoint. Stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms very spacious, contemporary decor - lots of hot water & power shower, and an amazing view - the sunshine helped! Very helpful & friendly staff on reception and in the dining room - help. Swimming pool a good extra. Hotel very accomodating for my young child. Would go again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read.

I am glad that you found our new style rooms modern and comfortable and the service friendly and accommodating.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    355
    226
    161
    130
See reviews for
196
593
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

having stayed at this hotel many times over the years with are friends out of season we were suprised at the refubished room .what a difference.the staff as always could not do enough for us.and also the food was first class.we would not stay in any other hotel in scarboruogh.well done to all staff.k.sanders

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank electone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Ambassador once again; I am pleased that our recent improvements have made the hotel more comfortable.

We refurbished all of our Premier Side and Premier Front rooms in November and have reclassified them as Premier & Premier Deluxe respectively. All of the Premier Deluxe rooms now have luxury bathrooms too. We expect to commence the next phase of refurbishment before the Summer (time permitting).

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff and food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Thank you for yet another great stay at the Ambassador, I think it gets better and better. We were very impressed with the staff especially those serving in the dining room. They were superb, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and warm, hot water plentiful and a great power shower.We didn't want to leave and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for your review, we are continuously looking for ways to improve our product and service and I am pleased that this is apparant to our returning guests.

Thank you for your comments about the Restaurant team, I will pass them on.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

from entering the hotel everything was perfect,staff,service,the food was spot on.The room was very clean and the view was to die for,was a shame we had to come home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HullGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2010
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

Stayed here in november 2009 for a weekend break with a large group booking of family and friends.The hotel stands in a lovely position very near to where the royal is filmed, with lovely old georgian builings and other hotels very near and overlooking the sea, the views are lovely and you look down onto scarborough which is a steady 15-20 mins walk. The cliff top lift is handy as it is a bit of a treck coming back up the hill and that stays open till 11 or just after at night. The hotel is clean comfortable and very very friendly, the staff go out of there way to help you and nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in was very nice it was a seaview premier room with a big bay window with fablous views out to the sea. Didnt see any of the other rooms but all of my group were very happy. The food is outstanding from the breakfast to the evening meal, the sunday lunch was the best weve have had the roast beef melted in your mouth and the yorkies were the massive,fresh homemade produce. There was entertaiment in the hotel but one night we decided to go into town to the irish bar, the hotel arranged taxis for us which worked out about £2.00 pp return, was a good night too and if you like guiness its a good pint down there they also have live music etc on so it was a very good night. We also have a young man who uses a wheelchair and i requested a disabled friendly room, which he was very pleased with, plenty of room to get around also walk in shower etc. also if you like heartbeat visit gothland where it is filmed as its not that far away from scarborough. So not sure what else to add only a big thankyou to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable, hope to see you soon!!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2010
Thank you for posting your thoughts about the Ambassador and Scarborough, I am glad that your party enjoyed their stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments about the team and I am pleased that you found the accomodation comfortable. I am also pleased to say that since you stayed we have completed the refurbishment of all of our Premier rooms along with the Bar & Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back soon and look forward to your thoughts on the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

we have stayed at the Ambassador several times,most recently as a short break on our 44th wedding anniversary.Rooms have always been clean and the sea-view premiers
excellent.Good food and good service.Occasional glitches-no parking permits at the start of our latest visit-but nothing I would make an issue of.
We used to stay with our dog,before she recently passed away, and it was as good with pets as with human guests.
A great base for a fine resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2010
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for any inconvenience caused by the lack of parking permits on arrival and trust that this was rectified in good time.

Thank you for mentioning the food and service, it is always good to receive positive feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We were asked to pay upfront for the full week on arrival despite having been previous guests,apparently a new policy, which we had not been informed of when we booked. However the duty manager was courteous and civil and dealt well with our annoyance well.
All the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We had a very good cleaner who maintained our room well,and the view from our front bay window was truly wonderful -a full view of the harbour, sea, and castle, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.The room was lovely and warm, freshly painted and carpeted (bizarre colour choices though, brown carpet, green chairs, peach curtains and blue and white bathroom)! No shaver point in the bathroom but the room was well furnished apart from that.
The only gripe was the hotel being turned into a nightclub for a wedding reception on the Saturday evening, the disco ran until 1am -very noisy, even on the second floor, using the patio as a smoking area made noise travel even more, further noise from rowdy guests lasted until well after 2.00am. I know that these receptions can be a good source of revenue for a hotel but running both wedding reception and general paying guests who book for a peaceful and quiet retreat just does not work. Staff were far too overstretched and the reception guests, many who had been drinking for many hours were uncontrollable by the night manager. The hotel should warn other guests on booking that a late reception/disco is due to take place and give them the opportunity to book at another time or somewhere else. Sadly, I could not,despite the other positive comments I have made, recommend this hotel to anyone nor would I stay here again without the reassurance that a similar activity was not due to take place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderbowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorOpsManager, Operations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I do apologise that our policy regarding pre-authorisation was not made clear initially and for any embarrasment or inconvenience caused.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff and your accomodation; We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme and all of our Premier rooms have been recently fitted with new carpets and repainted in anticipation of the arrival of some bespoke furniture and soft-furnishings which is currently being manufactured.

I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by guests attending a function. We would be more than happy to inform guests at the time of booking of any events taking place in the hotel however it is not currently part of our reservations procedure.

Thank you once again for your honest review and as a valued guest I do hope that you do choose to return at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing