We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous room, view, service”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous room, view, service”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have stayed here several times now and wouldn't go anywhere else. Tony and Elaine are the perfect hosts and cannot do enough for you. This is the only place we eat full english breakfast and the quality of the food is obviously local fayre and not supermarket. Love the rooms and could sit and watch the fantastic view all day. Champagne in the room this time made it an even better treat. You get what you pay for here - quality. Don't know where the bad review cam from on here, they weren't staying at the same La Baia that we did! JnJ.

Room Tip: Got to have Premier Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for a lovely review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    55
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
300
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Lovely clean hotel. Big breakfast and a smashing atmosphere. Elaine and Tony are the perfect hosts, warm and friendly we all felt at home and at ease. A drink in their cosy bar rounded off the evening perfectly after a hard days sightseeing!. Sea view was breath taking! Fantastic stay ! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for a brilliant review! You are lovely family and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

More Guest House than Hotel, the place was ok but a more expensive than others in the area, what put us off going there again was the owner who we found to be smug and arrogant in his attitude to the guests. Look elsewhere, there are better and more friendly B & B's in the area.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank GolfermanBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We are both upset and disappointed that you had such a bad experience at La Baia! We are sorry that you felt that the owners manner was inappropriate – there was definitely no intention to offend anyone. La Baia Hotel is classified as a guest house and is listed as such in the B&B’s section on Trip Adviser. We know that our room tariffs are consistent with similar 4 star guest houses in the area who also provide additional services eg evening meals, bar snacks and room service.
In your review you have stated that ‘it was OK’. Did you really think that the overall experience ie the food, cleaniness, service from all the staff and value warrants a ‘1’ marking = Terrible?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Only stayed for one night on our way from London to Edingburg, but wish we could have stayed longer, run by Tony and Elaine who really make you feel welcome. we also ordered an evening meal after seeing their menu on line and Tony turned out to be a great Chef. The evening meal was great and so was the breakfast next morning. It is also well situated and easy to find near the castle and with sea views. We asked Elaine about the name of the Hotel and I think she said its actually italian meaning The Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoilermanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Manager at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Both me and my husband found Elaine and Tony very friendly, always asking if we was ok with things. Breakfast was lovely and presented well. Room was lovely and clean. You can book evening meal if you want, we didnt book one as we was only there for 3 days but we did buy a couple of Tonys home made steak n ale pies to take home and both my husband and son said they was lovely.
Any one wanting to visit Scarborough and to stay for a night I would defo recommend this quest house you will enter as guests and leave as friends.
Elaine, Tony and all staff very friendly.
Well worth the money and such a friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you a lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed the pies! We look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Over the past few years my wife and i have visited the La Baia in Scarborough many times,and we have always had a wonderful time,and that is down to the high standards Elaine and Tony have set themselves.
On this latest visit we found our favourite room (room 8) had undergone one or two changes,new light fittings and wallpaper,this on top of the lovely bathroom with as good a shower as i think you would find in any hotel,make it an even nicer place to stay than before,which i never thought possible as we have always had a wonderful time,and never had cause to complain ,well apart when my wife mentioned that she wasn;t keen on tinned tomatoes,and sure enough next day Tony had grilled a fresh tomatoe for her,how many other places would do that,not many i suspect.
Whilst there this time my sister and her husband were staying in another hotel not far away and when i asked if they could dine at the La Baia, Elaine said that would be fine,and what a lovely meal we had,Two courses for £10 and the food was as always of the highest standards,and trully scrumptios,so much so my sister booked there and then to stay there in october with us,we can't wait that long and are going next month and the later for christmas.
Can i finish by congratulating Elaine and Tony for providing a lovely clean comfortable and the most welcoming hotel we have ever encountered.
p.s.Dont take my word for it take a trip to the La Baia,and by the way take a look at the La Baia website for Tarrifs photos and much more

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
What a wonderful, comprehensive review! We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked this off the internet and we couldn't be more pleased!! Our room was in the attic at the top of the house it was a little small and hot but clean and reletivly comfortable. This was only a little problem as they gave us a fan to use and my Dad is not well at the moment, they could not do any more for him and really looked after him. The breakfast was huge and good quality also the evening meals were amazing too. We would re book this guest house again and fully recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Property: La Baia Hotel
Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing