We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"great one nighter" m&s york”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"great one nighter" m&s york”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

we booked this after reading the reviews and wanting a one night break away. we were not disappointed,the hosts,elaine and tony made sure nothing was too much trouble,very easy going atmosphere,other guests seemed to be regulars,making it a very friendly home from home.parking token available for on street parking was great,80p for 24hrs. the room we occupied,no 12 was spotless,revamped ensuite,and has seaview.this room is great for the coldblooded!!!! first time ever had to turn heating off in november,marvellous!
the breakfast was faultless,everything on offer,the full english cooked to perfection the only fault??? we only had 1 night but we will be back,so thanks for your hospitality,and see you soon,mal and sue

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    55
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
300
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

As always a relaxing,comfortable rest.Tony and Elaine are wonderful hosts,nothing is ever too much trouble.Would HIGHLY recommend Tonys homemade mushroom soup,tis to die for!Have booked for next year,same time,same room and no doubt same good food and hospitality.Thank you Tony and Elaine,keep up the good work and see you soon

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for a lovely review - we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife,sister her husband of course myself (the birthday boy) took a 3 night break at the La baia.What a smashing time we all had, put down in no small part by the warmest and most genuine hosts i have ever met.
The rooms as always were spotless comfy and warm.Tonys breakfasts were what many reviewers say top notch,with tasty and varied menu,served as always by Elaine in the cosy dining room.
We decided to eat at the La baia for meals on all 3 evenings,the first night we had booked a few days before our visit.On the saturday two of us ordered steak WOW iit,s making my mouth water just writing this review,we had coffee in the bar after, when suddenly the lights dimmed and in came Tony and Elaine with a candle decked cake their treat which was enjoyed by all..
To sum up a lovely birthday treat,and so many thanks Elaine and Tony from all here.
PS Everything went well and i,ll call soon, VERY SOON to book some well needed r and r

Room Tip: Choose any they are all nice but i suppose 4 and 8 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from a nights stay at La Baia (Our 2nd visit) and had to write this review...
Warm friendly welcome from Elaine, By chance we had the same room as we stayed in last time, Up on the 3rd floor but worth the stair climb :)
Bathrooms have been modernised and are lovely.
Elaine made sure we had everything we needed and even offered to recommend & book us somewhere for our evening meal as it was Saturday and we could struggle.
Room lovely, clean & a comfy bed... Perfect :)
Went down for a hearty breakfast Sunday morning & waiting for me was a birthday card! (I only told Elaine when we arrived it was my birthday the following day so that was very sweet)
Me and my husband have nothing but praise for this great B&B and can't wait to return,
See you soon x

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysgal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you a wonderful review! We hope that you had a lovely birthday and look forward to seeing you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Had yet another great weekend at La Baia! The rooms were magnificent again and we really looked forward to one of Tony's excellent breakfasts! Elaine was an outstanding host at breakfast time and as a couple really make you feel welcome at their B&B throughout your stay! With a nine month in tow they were really accommodating providing a cot, high chair and any dietary requirements at any time of the day! The bar has has a wide range of drinks available and at reasonable prices! We can't wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddavies587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you or a wonderful review - we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I booked this hotel a quite a while ago, what helped my decision was the positive reviews! And I must say it was better than expected, Elaine greeted us and from that point onwards we were well looked after.
Our room was spotless, a perfect relaxing room, it was so inviting. I have never met such helpful host, so genuine too.
The breakfast was perfection and we looked forward to it each and every day.
On the whole we loved this place so much we will be going back for more. One of Yorkshires finest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jembaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for a lovely review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have just spent a night at the La Baia. The reception by Elaine was great, so friendly and helpful, especialy with parking.
We had a room right at the top and she insisted on carrying our case up.
The room was nice and warm, comfortable bed, tea making facilities, good bathroom and shower, and TV.
I must admit we could hear next door talking but so what.
The breakfast was very good, well served and an excellent choice.
We weren't able to use the bar as we were at a show but it seemed a very friendly place.
Next time we stay in Scarborough we will stay at La Baia.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Property: La Baia Hotel
Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing