We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise weekend away”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pontefract
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprise weekend away”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband surprised me to a romantic weekend away and booked us into LaBaia hotel in Scarborough.We met both Elaine and Tony who made us feel so welcome. The hospitality was out of this world and the rooms were clean and spacious. We enjoyed a full English breakfast which was cooked to perfection.On a whole this hotel was excellent and we can't wait to go back. WE would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a fantastic memorable holiday. Thank you for making our visit special. Ian & Lisa xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for the lovely review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and look forward to seeing you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    55
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
300
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We only spent a night here and didn't want to leave. We were given a great welcome by Tony and Elaine and really enjoyed talking to them both throughout our stay. They are genuine and lovely people who want their guests to have a good stay.
The room was small but beautifully decorated, and had a wonderful view out to sea. There was a bitterly cold easterly wind while we were staying but the hotel and our room were toasty warm.
The breakfast is delicious, cooked by Tony and served by Elaine. It is worth coming for this alone.
We thought the price very reasonable for such a tourist destination, and especially as the hotel is so close to town and the beach.
The bar area is also wonderful and provided an ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink while talking to our hosts.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you both later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the La Baia Hotel in Scarborough for two nights in February during the half term holidays. The room we stayed in was on the top floor with stunning views looking out onto the North Bay. It was a good sized room, plenty big enough for the three of us (Me my wife and 12 year old son) It was nicely decorated, very clean and modern and more importantly at this time of year lovely and warm.
We feel the thing that makes the La Baia the place that it is and sets it aside from other places we have stayed in are the hosts, Tony and Elaine. They are lovely, friendly people who can't do enough for their guests. Tony is knowledgable about the area and is quite happy to tell you anything that you need to know to make your stay in Scarborough a pleasant one while Elaine is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet. We all agreed in our party that the breakfast was the nicest we had ever had in a guest house and we have stayed in a good few over the last twenty or so years. I am reliably informed by my wife that the scrambled eggs was the best she has ever tasted.
If you are staying in Scarborough and need to find a reasonably priced guest house with lovely rooms and great hosts I don't think you can do any better than La Baia. It's a great place to stay and Tony and Elaine deserve to be successful in what they are doing as they are very good at it.
Oh, and Elaine thanks for the book you gave me. I'll bring it back after I've read it, the next time we come to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simruthar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. We also hope that you enjoy the book!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend break at Scarborough. Stayed at the very pleasant La Baia Hotel. Room overlooked the North Bay with great panoramic views. Our room was very nice with temperature controlled by ourselves. Only met Elaine during our stay but again nothing was a bother to her. Whilst we never met Tony we certainly sampled his superb breakfast, compliments to you Tony. We booked this hotel because of its high rating on Trip Advisor and we certainly were not disappointed.would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rontheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for a lovely review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

the service , rooms, meals, were very good and we enjoyed our stay just after xmas 2012. the meals were presented as a work of art on the plate, and were very adequate. we used a booking agency to look at the rooms and reviews given, before booking direct by phone rather than via the booking agency, and were surprised to find the rooms were dearer than if we had gone through the booking process of an agency, plus we were charged to park outside the accommodation, though this was not expensive, we were just surprised, overall the experience was a good one and one we would recommend,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are a bit perplexed as the tariff for the rooms are exactly the same whether you book through an agency or direct with ourselves. Also, the parking permits cost us £1.60 from the council and we just pass this cost onto the guests (£1.60 for up to 4 days parking.) We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was our first Christmas at La Baia - although we have stopped here before - we were not sure what to expect but what a great week we had. The owners Tony and Elaine as in our previous visit were absolutely super, where they get the energy from I do not know! Tony spends his days in the kitchen - all the food is home cooked on the premises by Tony - while Elaine looks after everyone's needs then they both spend the evenings in the bar socialising with the guests. Christmas day dinner was as good as any I have ever had in any hotel or restaurant that I have stopped in - in this country or abroad - and the buffet on Boxing day was something to behold. Nothing is ever to much trouble for Tony, Elaine or their team. A sure way of knowing how good, friendly and homely Christmas is at La Baia is that everyone apart from us had stopped there for Christmas previously! - and we shall return - The hotel itself overlooks the North Bay the rooms are comfortable and clean with good hot showers, the bar is a good place to relax in the evening, I do not drink alcohol and mentioned on our last visit that I enjoyed Ginger beer and lo! when we arrived this time the well stocked bar now included my favourite drink! Tony and Elaine are good at socialising and make sure that everyone is included and having a good time. In summery we would like to thank Tony and Elaine for a superb Christmas. Simon & May

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonpmartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at La Baia and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you both again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We had our 2nd Christmas break at the La Bia Hotel in Scarborough. We had a great time with the Hotel owners Elaine and Tony and their team. The Hotel overlooks the North bay. Our room was very spacious with plenty of cupboard space to put all your gear in. The shower and toilet was nice and clean and also spacious. Tony looks after the cooking and what a cook he is Faultless! He cooked Christmas dinner to perfection. On Boxing day we had a buffet to die for. A dressed Salmon as a centre piece like I have never seen before. Breakfast in the morning was superb. A customized breakfast. What ever you want off the menu you get. Elaine looks after the guests and never seems to rest. She even carried one of our suit cases up to the top floor for us. We where greeted with a glass of home made punch which was out of this world. The bar is a very freindly place to spend the evening.Well stocked. Once again you are looked after by Elaine. Tony joins in after his day is finished in the kitchen. They are a very sociable pair and keep you entertained throughout the evening. They are a pair of dynamos that never seem to rest. I think they must have stunt doubles to keep up the pace! There is music from a jukebox which is not to loud so conversations can still go on. We will go back there again if all goes well. Well done Elaine and Tony and thanks for a great couple of days. Pip & Paul...

Room Tip: There is no lift to the rooms. If you have a room overlooking the bay, take binoculars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leewayhotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for a lovely review!! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at La Baia and we appreciate your kind words. Congratulations on winning the Christmas Quiz and we hope that you enjoyed the champagne. We hope to see you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Property: La Baia Hotel
Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing