We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome home”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at La Baia with my family for three years in a row and can only praise Elaine and Tony for their genuine hospitality. I have always been made to feel at home and greeted as a welcome friend. My Mum needs a gluten free vegetarian diet and Tony is always more than happy to source the ingredients to make wonderful meals for her. The rooms that I have stayed in have all been extremely clean and comfortable. I can sincerely recommend this hotel as the best that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Premier rooms 4 and 8 have a fabulous bay windows with views over North Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It is always a pleasure to see you and your family and we are really pleased that you enjoy staying La Baia. We look forward to seeing you all again next year..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a retrospective review as we stayed here last year and will not be returning and this is in support of another review i saw recently about this hotel titled "Disappointing" that has now mysteriously disappeared from the site?. The Hotel is well decorated etc. and the front bedrooms have nice views of the Bay as do all the Hotels on this strip of the cliff top although less expensive than the La Baia. Breakfast is what you expect from a good B&B / Hotel so no complaints there but what I didn't like was the overbearing, fussy attitude of the owner. The co-owner, Elaine was very helpful and friendly but I found Tony to be somewhat smug and arrogant. He appeared friendly enough to begin with but as our stay went on he made us feel like a child being watched by his parent to see if he was being naughty. He always seemed to be around, fussing and being so friendly it came across as false and made us feel in the end like we couldn't move without bumping in to him and like I said earlier, he has a smug, arrogant attitude. I'm sure others will disagree with this review but look beyond the "he treats you like family" approach and you will see exactly what I mean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Rockeradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We find this review very suspicious. No one from Newcastle stayed at La Baia in August 2013 (and why wait so long to write a review?) Elaine deals with Front of House, checking guests in and dealing with any guest enquiries - Tony only meets guests in the Bar on an evening, so the comments made are totally untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our 4th year at La Baia, another great holiday, Tony & Elaine cannot do enough for us, the room as usual was spotless, the food superb, john smiths on the bar!!... and their company brilliant!!... what more can we ask for, we are already booked in for next year

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a wonderful view of the north bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again next year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Once again, on a recent stay at La Baia, we were made to feel like friends and not guests. The room, as always, was spotless, overlooking the North bay, with stunning views. Tony and Elaine's hospitality really makes one feel welcome. On this visit we had an evening meal which was exceptional, compliments to Tony. The breakfast menu is the best we've seen, and delicious. We'll be booking again, and looking forward to, our next visit.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer stunning views of the North Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antoine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It is always lovely to see you both and we are really pleased that you enjoy staying at La Baia. We look forward to seeing you again in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

1st stay with Elaine and Tony at La Baia, but the welcome felt as if we had always stayed there, the Customer Service was above excellent, as was our room, cleanliness, furniture, superb shower and one of the best sea views in Scarborough and when we could tear ourselves away, probably one of the best breakfasts on the Yorkshire Coast. Thanks again, can't wait to come back. John & Sally

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It was lovely to meet you both and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have stayed here several times. Had the Best Premier room 4. Could sit all day and just look at the view across north bay. Room has just been refurbished, new telly etc. Great breakfast next day. Tony and Elaine very welcoming as usual and giving equal time to all guests. Would always come here for Scarborough.

Room Tip: Premier Sea View room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoy staying at La Baia and like our refurbished room. It is always a pleasure to see you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend came for a long weekend away for some time with his parents. The hotel was great. Perfect and spotless rooms, even the shower was super powerful! The room had a beautiful view of the bay and the castle. Breakfast was also very tasty as well the evening meals! Elaine and tony were very welcoming, nothing was to much trouble, they even got us an engagement card after my boyfriend proposed, which was a very sweet and kind gesture! The hotel is in a great spot with fantastic views from the cliff top, easy quick walk into the town centre and also to the north bay. The bed was also extremely comfy, they had even organised flowers and a box of chocolates from my boyfriend to be there when we arrived! Overall a perfect stay and a perfect weekend. Thank you so much tony and Elaine!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It was lovely to meet you both and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing