We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5 day holiday in Scarborough”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our 5 day holiday in Scarborough”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days last week at the la Baia guest house.This is our 2nd stay here and each time we were made very welcome.Tony and Elaine are wonderfull hosts.The food is very good and freshly cooked by Tony mmmm del.The rooms are very clean .We enjoyed a drink on some evenings in the small bar downstairs were we had some very good company.Altogether a very good holiday.Paul and Janet

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    55
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
107
300
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

my wife & I stayed here for one night in May. we stayed here about 7 years ago & we weren't disappointed.
Tony & Elaine make you so welcome. they spend time socialising with guests in the bar. its like being in a friends home really.
the breakfast was superb, too much really but not complaining.
going again for 2 nights in Sept.

Room Tip: try to book a premiere seaview room,, costs a little extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoy staying at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at La Baia with my family for three years in a row and can only praise Elaine and Tony for their genuine hospitality. I have always been made to feel at home and greeted as a welcome friend. My Mum needs a gluten free vegetarian diet and Tony is always more than happy to source the ingredients to make wonderful meals for her. The rooms that I have stayed in have all been extremely clean and comfortable. I can sincerely recommend this hotel as the best that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Premier rooms 4 and 8 have a fabulous bay windows with views over North Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It is always a pleasure to see you and your family and we are really pleased that you enjoy staying La Baia. We look forward to seeing you all again next year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a retrospective review as we stayed here last year and will not be returning and this is in support of another review i saw recently about this hotel titled "Disappointing" that has now mysteriously disappeared from the site?. The Hotel is well decorated etc. and the front bedrooms have nice views of the Bay as do all the Hotels on this strip of the cliff top although less expensive than the La Baia. Breakfast is what you expect from a good B&B / Hotel so no complaints there but what I didn't like was the overbearing, fussy attitude of the owner. The co-owner, Elaine was very helpful and friendly but I found Tony to be somewhat smug and arrogant. He appeared friendly enough to begin with but as our stay went on he made us feel like a child being watched by his parent to see if he was being naughty. He always seemed to be around, fussing and being so friendly it came across as false and made us feel in the end like we couldn't move without bumping in to him and like I said earlier, he has a smug, arrogant attitude. I'm sure others will disagree with this review but look beyond the "he treats you like family" approach and you will see exactly what I mean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rockeradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We find this review very suspicious. No one from Newcastle stayed at La Baia in August 2013 (and why wait so long to write a review?) Elaine deals with Front of House, checking guests in and dealing with any guest enquiries - Tony only meets guests in the Bar on an evening, so the comments made are totally untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our 4th year at La Baia, another great holiday, Tony & Elaine cannot do enough for us, the room as usual was spotless, the food superb, john smiths on the bar!!... and their company brilliant!!... what more can we ask for, we are already booked in for next year

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a wonderful view of the north bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Once again, on a recent stay at La Baia, we were made to feel like friends and not guests. The room, as always, was spotless, overlooking the North bay, with stunning views. Tony and Elaine's hospitality really makes one feel welcome. On this visit we had an evening meal which was exceptional, compliments to Tony. The breakfast menu is the best we've seen, and delicious. We'll be booking again, and looking forward to, our next visit.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer stunning views of the North Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antoine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It is always lovely to see you both and we are really pleased that you enjoy staying at La Baia. We look forward to seeing you again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

1st stay with Elaine and Tony at La Baia, but the welcome felt as if we had always stayed there, the Customer Service was above excellent, as was our room, cleanliness, furniture, superb shower and one of the best sea views in Scarborough and when we could tear ourselves away, probably one of the best breakfasts on the Yorkshire Coast. Thanks again, can't wait to come back. John & Sally

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! It was lovely to meet you both and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Property: La Baia Hotel
Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing