We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real christmas cracker”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My wife and i have just spent christmas at the La Baia for the 2nd year running,and i can say it will definitely not be the last.
From the moment you arriveTony, Elaine or Jamie will be there with a warm welcome whether you are visiting for the first or one hundreth time. When you walk through the main door, something tells you that you have made the right choice.The hotel looks and smells spotlessly clean.
You are firstly given a parking permit if you need one,then when you have signed in you are taken to your room, and help is given with your luggage if required.You can settle you bill once you have umpacked.
We try to have room 4 or 8 but i would sleep on the seating in the bar if thats all there was.
Since our previous visit work has started on the refurbishment of the bathrooms and I have to say they our being done to a very high standard,with one of the best showers i have ever encountered.
The breakfasts are to die for,and lets face it you will soon walk off the few calories you may consume.Order an evening meal on the morning and you will be fed a delightful meal cooked by tony himself ,and at very reasonable prices.Then either walk through to the well stocked bar,they will even stock up on your favourite tipple,just ask,or take a walk along the top towards the castle,or down the other way to the Bowls centre where you can whatch or play a few ends.If you prefer tony or elaine will gladly phone and book you a table at one scarboroughs fine restaurants,we had a table at the nearby kam sang chinese.I reccomend this eatery if you like oriental food.
Back at the La Baia Christmas was brilliant, complementary sweets, biscuits,and home made mulled wine,Christmas dinner was superb with crackers and fancy hats for everyone.Boxing day has the usual great breakfast,and then later in the day a buffet as good as you will find is laid out in the dining room,a whole dressed salmon, ham on the bone,meats pork pies sausage rolls,pickles dressings,bread cakes,a proper cheese board with a good assorment of biscuits,and sweets and cakes to die for,the carrot cake was home made,and of course christmas cake.
I could go on for ever saying how brilliant the La Baia hotel,but its simple, go find out for yourself,I am almost certain you will enjoy your stay,we have already booked for next christmas plus several stays in between now and then.
Well done to everybody at the La Baia for all your extremely hard work to make sure the guests stay is everything they expect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

When booking we were told that the owners would be on holiday but that they had their own chef. The day before we were due to arrive we rang to order dinner for the following evening as they state that evening meals have to be ordered by 10am the morning before, We were then told there would not be food available as the owners were on holiday, and that the owner was the chef, but they said that if we were told when we booked that there would be food, then they could "sort something out for us"
Well, we didn't want "something sorted out" for us so we told them not to bother, but were really disappointed
The bedroom (Room 3) was clean but really small and hot, and the bathroom was very small and shower was basic.

Might recommend as a guest house but never as a "hotel"

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank kkkaaazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Visited here with friends, who were making a return trip to this hotel. We stayed in a premium room-everything about our stay was excellent-the welcome, the room, the breakfasts and the bar service-2 nights just weren't enough!! We had a fantastic sea view, loved the shower, which we were told was newly fitted recently. Although the owners were away & their son was looking after the place the standards remained high and we couldn't fault anything at all. Will definitely stay here again if visiting Scarborough. Even after we had checked out we could leave our car parked for the day & if we needed to use the toilet before we left we were told to just buzz the doorbell!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Peter and Pam from Barnsley. It is difficult to find a superlative that has not already been used in praise of Tony, Elaine and their hotel. They are all accurate and well deserved and we look forward to returning next year. We were made to feel welcome from making the booking by telephone to the heartfelt handshake on departure. The hotel is kept clean and is very well presented. Our sea-view room was excellent. The breakfasts and evening meals, including vegetarian, were very well prepared and presented. The Lounge/Bar is homely and an ideal setting for a good pint and conversation. A real winner with us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redforahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Well we picked La Baia after consulting tripadvisor (as usual) and reading the very favourable comments. I can now confirm that all the favourable comments i read are absolutely true. Tony & Elaine look after you in the most friendly and professional way from start to finish.
We had a really excellent time here, the room, the breakfasts & my favourite the bar were all just spot on.
Give it a try, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Scarborough and hope to return again next year

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

this is afriendly hotel,well run,happy and cheerful.you will be well fed here.made welcome the minute we arrived,we had room 4 with an excellent view overlooking the north bay.couldnot fault the meals in quality or portion size,comfortable bed and warm room.well done Tony,Elaine and Jamie sue & al 16th nov

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommoCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Have just returned from a fabulous stay at La Baia. Tony and Elaine are the perfect hosts and nothing was ever too much trouble. We had a lovely family room with a perfect seaview. En suite facilities were good (everything you needed in a bathroom). There was always a fully stocked tea/coffee tray which included a tea pot (which you don't often get in most hotels). We travelled with our 2 sons and Tony and Elaine both made them feel very welcome. Breakfast was extremely tasty with an extensive menu to choose from with plenty of tea, coffee and toast. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we used to enjoy chatting with them of an evening in their well stocked bar. Their duke box is a delightful addition to the hotel environment. The centre of Scarborough is within easy walking distance of the hotel as is the Sea life centre, castle and Peasholm park. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm, comfortable and friendly base to explore Yorkshire from.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelfish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £70 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing