We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, totally at home with a family i would be proud to call friends.”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire,uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent, totally at home with a family i would be proud to call friends.”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

from booking to leaving my partner and I were made to feel as though it was an extension of our home. The breakfast sets you up for the whole day. we dined out one evening at the nearby Scarborough Arms which serves a steak to die for. The second evening we dined in the hotel. A three course meal, cooked well by Tony, who creates an apple cumble to die for!! In the bar both tony and jamie provide excellent, stimulating conversation with the expected forthright views of true Yorkshire men. YOU MAY NOT AGREE,BUT YOU WILL CONSDER THE DEBATE. An excellent and stimulating break which we will have great pleasure re-creating, hpefully on many occasions

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasbag969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    55
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
104
295
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nrth. Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Stayed here at this hotel with my grandparents, came all the way from north wales. We have been coming to Scarborough for years, my grandparents even longer and have stayed in many a hotel over the years, all they seem to say apart from singing the highest praises of Elaine and Tony is that they wish they had found the La Baia years ago. The welcome you get is second to none, from stepping foot through the front door to leaving the next day, you know you are going to be well looked after. The bar is a lovely room with a real traditional lounge bar feel, with great beer and competative prices, a good night will definately be had here. The rooms are extremely well presented with a modern look, lovely new bathroom aswell as a flatscreen TV and all the extras you could possibly need. I personally had the best nights sleep in a long time, with the lovely views over the North Shore Bay, i actually set my alarm earlier so i could enjoy the view in bed for that little longer. Once up the breakfast is sensational with a full choice of a continental breakfast before a sizzling full english which is presented and served in a manner in which you get at a £250 a night London hotel. Nothing is too much trouble, Elaine is the perfect host and Tony is a 1st class chef again producing home made dishes which you expect at an expensive city hotel. The choice of evening meals is vast and like said earlier homemade and the presentation... i can't really explain except top class. Another great extra is the wi-fi internet access, perfect for keeping up with buisness and once again the internet is super fast and just another one of those endless greats.The main part for me though is to be able to bring my elderly grandparents away somewhere where i can see how happy, relaxed and content they are and at the end of the day this is all down to the hard work of Elaine and Tony, a pair of perfect hosts, at the perfect hotel, in the perfect location, producing the perfect dishes, perfect service and a perfect few days away. Thank you, and i will be back countless times in the future.

Also forgot to mention the prices are very competative and is worth every penny and you are only a 10 minute walk from the centre of town too. Perfect....

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My wife and i have just spent christmas at the La Baia for the 2nd year running,and i can say it will definitely not be the last.
From the moment you arriveTony, Elaine or Jamie will be there with a warm welcome whether you are visiting for the first or one hundreth time. When you walk through the main door, something tells you that you have made the right choice.The hotel looks and smells spotlessly clean.
You are firstly given a parking permit if you need one,then when you have signed in you are taken to your room, and help is given with your luggage if required.You can settle you bill once you have umpacked.
We try to have room 4 or 8 but i would sleep on the seating in the bar if thats all there was.
Since our previous visit work has started on the refurbishment of the bathrooms and I have to say they our being done to a very high standard,with one of the best showers i have ever encountered.
The breakfasts are to die for,and lets face it you will soon walk off the few calories you may consume.Order an evening meal on the morning and you will be fed a delightful meal cooked by tony himself ,and at very reasonable prices.Then either walk through to the well stocked bar,they will even stock up on your favourite tipple,just ask,or take a walk along the top towards the castle,or down the other way to the Bowls centre where you can whatch or play a few ends.If you prefer tony or elaine will gladly phone and book you a table at one scarboroughs fine restaurants,we had a table at the nearby kam sang chinese.I reccomend this eatery if you like oriental food.
Back at the La Baia Christmas was brilliant, complementary sweets, biscuits,and home made mulled wine,Christmas dinner was superb with crackers and fancy hats for everyone.Boxing day has the usual great breakfast,and then later in the day a buffet as good as you will find is laid out in the dining room,a whole dressed salmon, ham on the bone,meats pork pies sausage rolls,pickles dressings,bread cakes,a proper cheese board with a good assorment of biscuits,and sweets and cakes to die for,the carrot cake was home made,and of course christmas cake.
I could go on for ever saying how brilliant the La Baia hotel,but its simple, go find out for yourself,I am almost certain you will enjoy your stay,we have already booked for next christmas plus several stays in between now and then.
Well done to everybody at the La Baia for all your extremely hard work to make sure the guests stay is everything they expect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

When booking we were told that the owners would be on holiday but that they had their own chef. The day before we were due to arrive we rang to order dinner for the following evening as they state that evening meals have to be ordered by 10am the morning before, We were then told there would not be food available as the owners were on holiday, and that the owner was the chef, but they said that if we were told when we booked that there would be food, then they could "sort something out for us"
Well, we didn't want "something sorted out" for us so we told them not to bother, but were really disappointed
The bedroom (Room 3) was clean but really small and hot, and the bathroom was very small and shower was basic.

Might recommend as a guest house but never as a "hotel"

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank kaz2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Visited here with friends, who were making a return trip to this hotel. We stayed in a premium room-everything about our stay was excellent-the welcome, the room, the breakfasts and the bar service-2 nights just weren't enough!! We had a fantastic sea view, loved the shower, which we were told was newly fitted recently. Although the owners were away & their son was looking after the place the standards remained high and we couldn't fault anything at all. Will definitely stay here again if visiting Scarborough. Even after we had checked out we could leave our car parked for the day & if we needed to use the toilet before we left we were told to just buzz the doorbell!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Peter and Pam from Barnsley. It is difficult to find a superlative that has not already been used in praise of Tony, Elaine and their hotel. They are all accurate and well deserved and we look forward to returning next year. We were made to feel welcome from making the booking by telephone to the heartfelt handshake on departure. The hotel is kept clean and is very well presented. Our sea-view room was excellent. The breakfasts and evening meals, including vegetarian, were very well prepared and presented. The Lounge/Bar is homely and an ideal setting for a good pint and conversation. A real winner with us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redforahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Well we picked La Baia after consulting tripadvisor (as usual) and reading the very favourable comments. I can now confirm that all the favourable comments i read are absolutely true. Tony & Elaine look after you in the most friendly and professional way from start to finish.
We had a really excellent time here, the room, the breakfasts & my favourite the bar were all just spot on.
Give it a try, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Scarborough and hope to return again next year

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Property: La Baia Hotel
Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing