We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

How interesting that when one person complains others follow! I live locally to this hotel and use it/ recommend it to others for business colleagues to stay. I have never heard a bad report and can confirm that the hotel always looks pristine. The owner clearly takes a personal interest as she troubles to respond to every comment on this site personally (which I have never seen others do)
A recent visit revealed beautiful hanging baskets and flowers, clean and comfortable lounge and dining room and the meal we had was of the highest standard. lots of choice and value for money.
Give it a try and dont be put off by the few negative comments, read the many glowing reports!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank year2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
We love hearing from our "locals" that we are getting the service, food and ambiance right.

At Park manor we do many functions catering for Weddings( we are a stones throw from the beautiful Registry office) Anniversaries ,Birthday Celebrations and meetings to name but a few.

We have a private function room that is ideal, mix that with exceptional food and professional service so that you can sit back, relax and enjoy.

Thank you for your encouraging and supportive words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    232
    80
    39
    10
See reviews for
175
388
67
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lovely hotel, super staff. Nice rooms, immaculatly clean. Great food.

Stayed 5 nights. Swimming pool area was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble.

Staff are deaf aware too, so no problems there. Plus, that makes a welcome change from the usual hotels, who basically can,t be bothered with you!!

We loved it, and will be back.
Hope to see you in September. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittannia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Park Manor.
It will be a delight to welcome you back later in the year.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

What a lovely hotel run by really nice people, especially Geoff and Alison who coud not have looked after us better. we were four blokes from York on a golf weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The evening meal was excellent with a superb choice, breakfast was wonderful and again plentiful. Excellent staff in both the restaurant and bars well done to all. The rooms were immaculate and very comfy beds. All in all a ver y nice Hotel. Shame about the golf though but absolutely nothing wrong with the courses!! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: all rooms we saw were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveM27000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you and your party in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stopped one night last minute 18th July 2011. We set off to S'Boro with overnight bag with off chance the torrential rain would stop then we could decide whether to stop the night. It did fair up so spent hour or two looking round at hotels. We opted for Park Manor as it was spacious, good position and clean looking. We popped into reception and was met by Geoff and a very warm welcome. He offered us a front view room at an OK rate B&B and without prompting invited us to view it to see if we liked it. That we thought was a nice touch and not often happens. The room was fine, clean and comfy. En-suite was clean but a little on the small side as the bath with shower took up most space. I mentioned this on a 'comment' card and suggested replace it with shower only cubicle. The lounge, pool and restaurant were very nice and all was spotless. Due to time we arrived we were late for a dinner as it is only served for an hour 6 till 7 I believe. However that said the staff offered to make us sandwiches and also advised of nice places to eat in town. The breakfast was hot and tasty cooked to order Full English etc with usual / plentiful toast, cereal, juices etc and was help yourself. We vacated about 10am and as we were staying in S'Boro for the day I asked Geoff if there was any free off-street parking. without hesitation he said we could leave our car in the hotel Car park until whatever time we wanted, again a nice gesture.

The Hotel is advertised as a 2* only but it has good facilities and more than some 3-4* hotels. It is in a good position next to Peasholme Park / North Bay which we think is the better side of S'Boro.

With regard to the cost, I think some people still live in the 70s & 80s where a room was £30 to £50 B&B. We paid £100 but if you view all the properties in S'Boro that is the going rate and some offer far less for same price.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to recommend it . Thanks to all the staff we encountered as they were all helpful, polite and professional.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for posting your kind comments of Park Manor.

I feel the last few reviews have not shone a very good light on us, I tend to agree with you that many guests are looking for a hotel for a ridiculously low price but require 5* standards .

Park manor is a private hotel built in the 1930's, the beauty of that is we have plenty of character, unlike many chain hotels.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Outside was displayed a AA 2 star sign, but this isnt mentioned on their website, which infers far more (and we were expecting it, particularly at £111 for B and B).
Room and bathroom were very small and double bed appeared to be 3/4 size (it was comfortable). Everything was clean though.
Soft furnishings have been added to make the hotel appear more modern but its not working.
The website producers have made the hotel look something that it isnt.
Staff very friendly (particularly the receptionist), but they were difficult to find in the early evening.
Meal times very restrictive (basically an hour).
Breakfast was excellent.
Bottom line is, it wasnt what we expected!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
It is always useful to have feedback from our guests, whether its something that's pleased you or where there is room for improvement.
All our double beds are of the standard double size unless, as stated, you choose a suite were they are king and super king.
As to our style not working I am surprised as many of our guests and we ourselves believe Park Manor to have a genuine modern feel and look.
Our website uses only photographs taken at the hotel even down to the food ( a very rare occurrence!) all i can say is the "camera never lies " .
Apologies to you and your partner that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed one night only, small twin room with ensuite was shabby and not at all like the impression given on the website, as a previous reviewer mentioned the breakfast was barely passable, nice pool but changing facilities / shower was grubby, would be hard pushed to either recommend or stay again, I felt fleeced at a cost of £111 for one night B&B for 1 adult and 1 child

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FodderJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Oh dear !
We are so used to getting fantastic reviews and praise of Park Manor both on this site and personally at the hotel that it comes as a bit of a shock to read your unfavourable comments.I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked this hotel because it had very high ratings and generally good feedback, but to be honest we were dissapointed and did not feel it was value for money - this is not a cheap hotel and i think we expected more. The hotel is immaculately clean, the staff professional and the pool facilities are excellent however we booked a double room which had little enough room to swing a cat, it was far more suited to be a single room. The decor is typical of most Victorian seaside hotels, a little dated, but they have undergone some modernisation. The bathroom facilities were ok. The food in the morning was not great. One breakfast was so dry i just left it. I have been to several hotels on this resort and rated this poorly overall

Room Tip: upgrade if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neilnrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at Park Manor.
It is very difficult to put things right after the event, but we do take every ones comments on board and learn from them .
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Property: Park Manor Hotel
Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing