We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plenty of staff ... very Bitish”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This reminds me of small hotels I stayed in as a child .
Food... Breakfast - help yourself to cereal , fruit and juice and all hot food and drink served by staff. Adequate breakfast , lots of polite efficient mainly young staff.
Dinner - Starters about 4 choices , followed usually by a cup of soup and fresh bread roll , mains about 4 hot dishes and a salad , vast array of decent desserts and hot drink served in the lounge/ bar area. The only set back is that breakfast is 8-9am and dinner 6-7pm which is very restrictive. Young staff are well trained .
Facilities - very small pool but hotel provides free towels , clean changing area , no lockers - open 10-10pm. Good games room with table tennis and pool tables - reasonably priced. The only T.V downstairs was in here .. no sky T. V meant you would have to go elsewhere to watch most sport which could be difficult as the hotel is in quite a remote area ... bars are a good 20 mins walk away - towards the town centre. This hotel is not in a central location.
Whilst we were staying , the lounge bar wasn't used much . One evening at 9.30pm as the only customers ,our one and only drinks = beer and cider were really flat ... no wonder. Pack your laptop unless you want to retire to bed at 9.45pm.
.
Bedroom. Our double room quite small , decent distant view of sea .Dusty upper shelves , lack of storage space - only small wardrobe and 3 small draws , tiny cheap flat screen T.V. Clean shower room and separate W.C. which housed a nasty stained loo brush. Towels changed daily and tea/coffee replenished generously . Good basic toiletries and clean attractive bedding .
Reception staff attentive , ordered us a newspaper and always spoke as we passed.
This is generally a well run hotel with well kept gardens and good staff . Ideal for a short stay but pack a pair of good walking shoes and be prepared for an early night...

Room Tip: Room 12 has side sea view and we were not charged for this.Quiet room with comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

I am so pleased you appreciated that our staff are polite ,well trained and have old fashioned values, not a bad thing in this day and age.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at this small but clean and comfortable hotel for two nights so that we could go to a concert at the Open Air Theatre, only a short walk away. Although it's located by Peasholme Park in the North Bay area it was only a short drive into town. Very handy. All the staff were pleasant and most helpful. We didn't try an evening meal but the breakfasts were good. There's a nice little bar in the spacious and comfortable lounge. The pool looked inviting but we didn't have time to try it! If we ever have occasion to visit the area again we'll certainly consider the Park Manor.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room which gave reasonable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

I do hope that you will return again to Scarborough and of course Park Manor.
We are very fortunate to have the Open Air Theatre right on our doorstep.
Thank you for your charming review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for 1 night great hotel, relaxing atmosphere, bit trouble with shower sorted straight away( sorry for the soaking). Great breakfast. Good games room, pool area looks good did, nt try it, would recomend this hotel,will return thanks for having us

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your kind words and praise of Park Manor it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We tried Park Manor Hotel at short notice on the recommendation of some friends and were impressed with the polite and efficient staff, hotel cleanliness and quality of the food.
Overall we considered our weekend stay to be excellent value for money and will stay again when we visit Scarborough.
Dave & Janet Willoughby

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 94Dave127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

It is always lovely to hear that our guests feel confident to recommend Park Manor, we are so pleased you also enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

just across the road from peasholme park. 10mins to north beach and a brisk 20mins walk to the central area . very pleasant smallish hotel which does a fantastic breakfast. the single room was on the small side but very well appointed and spotless (shower only).pleasant helpfull staff with no downside to my stay at the Park Manor. there is a on site car park which is good as parking outside can be very busy especially when the weather is good. visited filey and bridlington during stay and could not get parking near beach which made me appreciate the PM

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

It is always nice to hear that we are delivering what our guests want.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a Golden Wedding reception at Park Manor for my parents. We knew in advance that the hotel also had a wedding reception at the same time in the main dining room. The hotel staff made sure everything ran smoothly. They were attentive, efficient and friendly. It really helped to make the event special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

WE did have a very busy weekend, but we hope that all our guests are made to feel welcome and that they will be looked after with professional and courteous staff.
Our chefs consistently deliver high standards, so we are delighted you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Ok so this is not a Michelin starred experience, but it is the friendliest hotel in Scarborough. The Park Manor is well situated for all people of all ages to have a great time in the area. Directly across the road from Peasholme Park and only minutes’ walk from the lovely North Bay beach or outdoor theatre. Alternatively you can use it as a great base for venturing out into the Yorkshire coast. Alison and the team work really hard to ensure that all guests are made to feel welcome and at home. The facilities are of a good standard and spotlessly clean. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast package which is great value. In the morning you can start with a hearty full English or a light continental and then return from a full day of fun to a four course meal followed by coffee in the lounge or on the terrace. The chef is also very accommodating for the more fussy eaters out there – the menu is displayed from early in the day so that you can speak to the team in plenty of time. Children’s options are also available. When not out and about taking in the scenery and local attractions, you can use the hotel spa facilities of a pool, sauna, Jacuzzi or steam room. If that doesn’t float your boat, there is a games room with pool table, football table and table tennis; or you can just sit and relax in the bar area with a book from the shelf or as a family there are a selection of board games available for you to use free of charge. The rooms are clean and comfortable and everything you need for your stay is there. If you are feeling a little peckish throughout your stay you can also buy a packet of the homemade ginger biscuits or shortbreads – delightfully wicked! My family have just returned home from our fourth visit to Park Manor and we are already planning our visit for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

What more can i say?
Thank you for your complimentary comments on Park Manor you totally understand and enjoy our genuine hospitality, great food, and of course our beautiful Scarborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing