We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend Break”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Huttoft
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“A Perfect Weekend Break”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel, and I can honestly say I was not disapointed with any aspect of my stay, the staff were very friendly and the food was superb. I have a very fond affection for the town of scarborough and the surrounding area built up over many year's my only regret is I somehow didn't discover this hotel until last year.A wonderful long weekend break.I look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbarrylovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Now you have discovered us and are obviously enjoying your visits , please tell all your friends so we can be not such a hidden treasure!
Thank you for your time in writing a review we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    239
    85
    41
    10
See reviews for
180
415
69
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
The friendly and efficient service are ever present.
Meals are of high quality and well presented.
A truly enjoyable and relaxing stay.
The Fawlty Towers Experience was quite an experience!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScholesHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments on Park Manor and taking the time to post them on trip advisor.

So glad you enjoyed Fawlty Towers ,we will be doing more theme events later in the year please check our website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

this was our fifth visit, and we are still impressed with everything about this hotel, rooms are clean, warm( in winter ), well furnished, the staff were first class, nothing was to much trouble for them ( even the cleaners), the food was of a very high standard,the spa facilities were good,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jud_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
We love hearing from our guests especially when we seem to be heading in the right direction.

Thank you so much for writing your review, we look forward to seeing you on your 6th visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. There was adequate hot water for both of us and I liked the separate toilet and bathroom, this worked well, not like some htels i have stayed in.
The food was really good with lots of choices and the vegatarian dishes were creative rather than being a bland choice like other hotels.
The service in the restaurant was excellent with the food qucikly being served we hardly had to wait between courses. It was a relalxed atmosphere andf the staff were most helpful. We could not have asked for anything more.
The front desk were again very helpful and accommodating and always willing to help.
I thoroughly reccommend this Hotel and will definately stay there again. Overall a wonderful experience.

Ken Findlay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Top Class .......

what else do i need to say except thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

It is always a great pleasure to stay at this hotel, for excellent service from friendly and helpful staff and food of the highest standard of quality and quantity. With the games room, swimming pool and sun lounge and bar available there is never a problem in passing the time whilst staying here.

The only issue in staying here is the expanding waistlne, but this is our doing as the food is irrististable!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike220454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Thank you for writing a review.

It is great to receive such wonderful comments

Come again soon ,we look forward to seeing you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights between Christmas & New Year on b & b basis.
First impression was very good with a nice welcome in what was obviously a well cared for reception area.
Took lift to 2nd floor, had booked a front facing twin room which did not disappoint in any way, plenty of room, a nice view across the town to the castle etc. and very very warm. Some reviewers have complained of being too hot which I must say suprises me. You can always turn a radiator off (as we did) but if the system is not on all you can do is shiver!
The en-suite was large and perfectly nice. Everything in our room etc. was very clean, maybe a little dated but this is not a criticism, more a matter of personal taste.
Breakfast was spot on in a very nice dining room served by very pleasant and professional, efficient staff.
All front of house/public areas which we used were impressive, very clean and well presented.
The hotel location is adjacent the park and is about 5 minutes walk down the hill to the seafront by the Sands apartment development (another place we can thoroughly recommend, must do a review)
We were away for some exercise so the location was ideal as a starting point for good walks along the coast.
Car parking was not a problem at this time of year but there appeared to be lots of unrestricted roadside parking by the hotel if the car park was full.
Due to our short stay we did not take advantage of the leisure facilities (pool etc) but they looked to be very nice.
Overall, as you have probably gathered, we were happy with our choice of hotel and would probably visit again.
So, any criticisms?
Well maybe a couple of minor points but bear in mind that the hotel is rated at 2 star only.
Comparing to other places we have used, from 5 star to unrated b & b's we think that a 2 star rating is underating it. We both felt that it deserved higher in many ways and that the hotel, maybe by choice, punches below it's weight.
We did not eat in the dining room in the evenings as the menu seems to be limited to a 3 course dinner (with choices) between 6pm & 7pm only. We prefer flexibility and less formality.
The bar area (conservatory - large!) was very nice but lacked atmosphere (again maybe personal taste) but at £4.80ish for a bottle of Magners we only visited once!
It is only a short taxi ride into town (£5.50) or we liked Blue Crush, part of the Sands development, nice food too.
Staff in general were very helpfull and pleassant with one exception, that was the chap on duty when we booked out. He barely spoke and it took a big effort for him to look up.
Maybe I am misjudging him and he was just very shy and lacked confidence? If so I apologise but he came across as rude.
Very good first impression, shame about the bad final impression.

G&S P

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnswy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Oh dear ,good and bad !!

My impression of your review is that Park Manor nearly delivered all your requirements, I am sorry that you didn't get the warmest of welcomes ,but its fair to say that everything else was spot on .

Thank you for posting your review ,please come again and I'm sure we will score higher with a more hospitable welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

excellent hotel , very clean with superb service from all staff.
food first class and plentyfull
use of leisure facilities untill late evening
had the marsden suite and even suplied extra heating incase we were cold
10/10

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you very much for posting a review.
It is gratifying to know when we please our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Property: Park Manor Hotel
Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing