We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evening - Try It For Yourself”
Review of The Leaping Hare

The Leaping Hare
Ranked #184 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: US$32 - US$65
Cuisines: French, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The supper club and pop-up revolution is gathering speed in the UK. For Those of you who have not heard about the concept, th and idea is really quite simple: rather than go to a chain restaurant or pub tired, passionate cooks across the country are opening the doors to Their homes and inviting people to try Their inventive and exciting cuisine. The Leaping Hare is located near Ganton, with stunning views over the Wolds. When the weather Permits, we will eat al fresco in the courtyard arches, with drinks served on the sloping lawn overlooking the valley. When its colder, we have large farmhouse kitchen, dining room, and reception rooms with wood burners and open fires to keep things toasty! We endeavor to create exciting and inventive dishes, with ingredients sourced locally and used in season. Our main focus will be contemporary Anglo-French cuisine, with a twist, anche Although we plan to offer themed evenings offering food from all over the world. We have some of the finest ingredients to choose from right here in North Yorkshire, and we think it's the perfect time to open our doors for a new and exciting dining experience. Our inaugural evening will be held on Saturday 8th February 2014 at 7.00Pm We look forward to welcoming you! Selma, Jay Roxy and the whole LH team!
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Evening - Try It For Yourself”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great food, lovely people and wonderful lively, friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended. Great value for money. 100% better than an ordinary restaurant.Wine tasting added bonus. G and R, York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining on the Wolds Edge”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful fine dining to be had at the a 'Leaping Hare', pop up resturant near to Ganton on the Yorkshire Wolds.
The welcome is very warm from Selma and her family.
The food is interesting,delicious and beautifully presented, with a French fusion accent, prepared by Jay, Selma,s son.
This style of dinning also gives the guests the opportunity to be introduced to and meet new people as all the guests have an aperitif together before being seated either within their own party or on a table with couples.
We have already recommended it to our friends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Lovely Leaping Hare”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Selma and her family's home is wonderfully welcoming - log fires and comfy sofas - and lots of new people to talk to before you're seated for dinner.

Dinner takes place over 3 rooms. The food is absolutely exquisite, with a strong French influence, and works of art in its presentation (Jay, Selma's son clearly has an amazing flair with food and its presentation). It is a very family affair with Chris, Selma and 3 of their adult offspring all playing key parts in making the evening so enjoyable.

If I was being really nit picky the only thing I'd change was to increase the portion size a bit - for my husband and I, who both have large appetites and had eaten little during the day, so that we could do justice to the evening, we would have liked larger servings of things like veg.

I know Selma's culinary magic from enjoying a few yoga retreats, at which she has done the most amazing food, so wasn't surprised by the quality of the food. But it is so lovely to come across such warmth and great, seasonal food and incredible value for money (£30 for a 5 course meal plus £3 per head for organic wine!) Doesn't get better/more enjoyable than this.

The only downside was the seemingly long drive back to York on a windy, winter night (which also affected our ability to imbibe in the organic wine on offer!). Others, more sensibly, had booked into local B and Bs if they had come a distance.

We hope the Leaping Hare is the roaring success it deserves to be and look forward to return visits. With all best wishes to the LH. Tracy and Martin Land

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selma K, Owner at The Leaping Hare, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Martin and Tracy,
Thank you so much for your glowing feedback. We are truly gratified by your response. We had a delightful time in the company of such a great bunch of guests, it was worth all the hard work and preparation. I am only sorry that you didn't feel you had quite big enough portions, and we shall certainly take this on board for our next event. We want people to go home feeling comfortably full if not stuffed!
With regards to the long drive from York, yes I agree that its nice to be able to drink and not worry about the a long journey home at the end of a evening. So we happily would like to suggest to you that you should stay at our place, we have been planning on having a Guest house for some time and with our seven lovely bedrooms we have more than enough room to accommodate at least 8 of our guests. Please do contact us if you are interested in this idea for next time. With warm regards and thanks. Selma, Jay and Chris (and all 'The Leaping Hare' team)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The hare has leapt - into life. Long may it live!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

By good fortune - we attended the inaugural night of this new venture for an experienced team. Selma Khan's business has found a home after years of being 'a moveable feast', and it's a home with flair, character, warmth, and style. We went with friends, and made more friends on the night. It's just that sort of place. I think that all twenty two diners had experienced Selma and Jay's wonderful mixed nation cuisine before, and therefore there was much anticipation of what was to come. We were not disappointed. We dined in the comfort of Selma's spacious family home - for this is no stuffy restaurant - but a dining club with both style AND content. I've been to other dining clubs - where style was present, but not content; where content was present but without passion. Here - we got all three together. Jay and the team produced a four course menu glowing with taste, texture, and flavour. Nicely timed and well served. We started with Pickled beetroot with goats cheese mousse and pine nuts; continued with Oeuf poche meurette; then a stunning roast lamb loin perfectly tender and pink served with artichoke mash; finishing with spiced apples and pears with chocolate granache, pistachio, and cinnamon. For £30 a head (excluding wine), this is a bargain. You can take your own wines (although some are available on the night), and Selma already has plans to strengthen the list of wines available. So what is there to say? - I'd say that it was ALL enjoyment, and an evening passed very agreeably. Oh yes - more dates available soon! Get booking!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Almandras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selma K, Owner at The Leaping Hare, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We had such a happy evening in the company of our appreciative and discerning guests. Can't wait for the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leaping Hare also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Leaping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing